We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Italian Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Drunken Cook - CLOSED

The Drunken Cook
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Jefferson, OR
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good Italian Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2014

After reading about The Drunken Cook, we decided to give it a try. When you walk in you wonder if all the raves are correct. Paper napkins, regular silverware, mis-matched chairs, etc. The décor was very unusual. Not what you would expect. No menu. We were immediately made welcome and given the menu for the day. One price for everything and the price does not change from day to day. Pasta with special sauce, salad, glass of wine. We were blown away with the quality of the salad and the pasta dish. The 'drunken cook' visited with us and explained what the décor meant, how the food was prepared and then told us to try the special chocolate cake that his grandmother made. Now we know why everyone loves to have a relaxing evening with "The Drunken Cook".

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Kay H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    4
    9
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Salem, Oregon
Level Contributor
94 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“First Time...and Very GOOD!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

We had heard about The Drunken Cook but had never given it a try...so, on a whim we headed out. It is somewhat hidden from the main road as well as just how good the food is! We were amazed with the choices of the day and all that was included for $14.95...salad, main course and a glass of wine, soda, beer, apple cider and the like. Our meal was delicious and the creme sauce was light and very flavorful. And to top off our meal we shared a piece of the house made chocolate cake...yum, yum!!!
And the service was fantastic! Our waitress Tonya was always checking to make sure everything was okay and the owner/cook...Massimo...comes to your table and will talk with you about whatever. A super nice guy and really adds to your experience. He even emailed us the recipe for his grandmother's chocolate cake which we had for dessert. One thing for certain, we will return!!! Thanks for a wonderful dinner and great service.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank amfoxy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Surprisingly excellent food at very good price”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2014

This is a little out-of-the-way Italian family style place my wife and I decided to try. The menu changes regularly. We both had the rigatoni al salmone and thought it was excellent! Nice wine selection, and found one that we had not tried before and loved it. House salad was fresh and very good. Shared a good cannoli for dessert. The owner and chef came out to our and everyone else's table to ask how we liked the food, chit chat a bit. He appears to love his restaurant and job, which reflects in the food. With a bottle of wine, two entrees and a dessert, the bill was pretty low, so you get an excellent meal at a good value. We will be returning.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Oregon
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Italian food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2014

Just got back from trying the Drunken Cook for the first time and we thought it was great. The staff was friendly and quick to make us feel welcome. We started with the salad and normally I'm not a oil and vinegar fan, but this salad was a perfect balance of the two, not too bitter, not too oily and full of fresh veggies that the waitress told us was fresh from the farmer's market. She went on to explain that they like to buy locally for produce, meat, seafood and even their wine, which I really like to support. We both had the Rigattoni al Salmone that had smoked salmon in a really light vodka and dill sauce and the best part, they didn't drown the pasta with the sauce. For $14.00 we got a great salad, entrée and a glass of wine, which by the way was very, very good. We even had dessert that was amazing, I had a chocolate torte that was a recipe that had been passed down and my husband had the flan in a carmel sauce which was light and definitely not overly sweet. A perfect ending to a great meal.
We will definitely be going back. If you have kids, they have a section that has games and things for kids to do while waiting to eat their dinner.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank lcm51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Drunken Cook also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing