We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Definitely worth a visit.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Davinci's

Davinci's
Reserve with OpenTable
Davinci's is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #11 of 533 Restaurants in Salem
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $17 - $30
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Ferry
White Rock, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
52 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Definitely worth a visit.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2012 via mobile

Atmosphere was great with the pianist playing show tunes in the background. Wine selection is very good, especially 'by the glass' with lots from the local area. The filet was cooked to perfection and a generous portion, however the rack of lamb was slightly overcooked and rather small. Deserts were outstanding as was the friendly informative service. Would return here if we are ever in town again.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ingramcg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    70
    35
    16
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Keizer, Oregon
Level Contributor
86 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Overpriced for mediocre food...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2012

Nothing here is innovative and nothing on the menu has ever knocked my socks off. Just mediocre selections at very high prices. I have also met friends here for happy hour but the only thing good was the Focaccia Bread. The venue is very nice and has potential but it just does not deliver. The bar does make a great martini.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Golflady2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McMinnville, Oregon
Level Contributor
140 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Overpriced”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2012

One would figure to get a better plate of food at those prices. OUCH! Very pretentious place to eat.

Helpful?
Thank rb44chinook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
638 reviews
445 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 261 helpful votes
“Italian plus”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2012

Enjoyed a nice evening in a lovely location in central Salem. Good sevice, reasonable pricing and we would return on our next visit to Bend.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ted M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prescott, Arizona
Level Contributor
127 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Fabulous. The only word that describes this place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2012

I was in Salem on business, and had taken my wife with me. I am somewhat of a "foodie", and would much rather spend a couple of more dollars for a fabulous meal than save a couple and eat at a mediocre place. Boy, did we hit the jackpot here!

A friend had recommended several places, and this happened to be one of them. In an area where there are several restaurants in a row, I was concerned that this was going to be another less than pleasant experience. However, upon entering we were walked through a very cozy and somewhat eclectic place upstairs to our seats overlooking the downstairs bar and wine-bar. This is an open restaurant, with a two story main bar area that is open tot he wooden rafters. There are two floors of tables on the entrance side, and another half of one story seating. Cherubs, statues and antiques are everywhere in this place, some seeming that they date back to the 19th century if not even earlier. But enough on the ambience -

Our server was Chris, who happened to be the manager. He was friendly and had lots of suggestions that he tailored to our tastes. When asked about local wines, he went through their list and made his suggestions to us which were absolutely spot-on. I also need to note that the choices were not the most expensive on the list, and in fact, the bottle which we settled on was a blend and came in at one of the lower priced on the list.

The food was fresh and flavorful, and obviously a lot of attention was paid to it. Pasta was fresh and made on the spot, and veggies were perfect in color and flavor. I was also impressed by the menu in that while I am a foodie, my wife is much more restrained (and doesn't favor fish or shellfish!) but still had plenty of great options.

We were early for dinner, and when walking by the next evening (and almost walking in again save for the fact that we wanted to experience as many local haunts as was possible in the short time we were there) we noticed that there were more tables and more patrons drinking wine and mixed drinks. I suspect that because of the beauty of this place and the available drinks, wine and apps, it has a decent after work crowd.

You will not regret having gone to DaVinci. Make certain to get Chris as your server if possible!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MRMED8R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Davinci's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing