We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“PERFECTION!”
Review of China Gourmet

China Gourmet
Ranked #75 of 537 Restaurants in Salem
Cuisines: Chinese
Restaurant details
West Coast, USA
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“PERFECTION!”
Reviewed November 9, 2013

Five stars is hard to get from me...but China Gourmet is deserving. This is THE BEST Chinese food I have ever had, and I'm not just being dramatic. I was caught a little off guard at how different the food is here from everywhere else I've ever eaten, because I guess I've never had truly good Chinese food, and therefore I didn't know what I was missing. Well now I know.

Fresh, fresh, fresh. And colorful. Perfectly done sauteed veggies (just the right crunch and tenderness), light and fluffy but very FLAVORFUL fried rice (I could see the egg, and lovely green peas), savory gravy. My cashew chicken had alot of whole cashews, and a generous amount of chicken which was moist and tasty. Add to all that a bright and friendly server and that makes for one very pleasant dining experience.

What struck me afterward is that, besides it being delicious, I left feeling like I'd just had a healthy and relatively nutritious meal. Don't think I've ever felt that way after going out for Chinese. China Gourmet is a winner, whoever is turning out such great food in that kitchen is a superstar, and I wish them much success...they deserve it!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank lulubell01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    11
    3
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Salem, Oregon
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“At Last!”
Reviewed November 2, 2013 via mobile

Finally quality meets affordability in Chinese cuisine in Salem. Very fresh and delicious and no MSG! We will be back to try more menu offerings for sure.

Helpful?
Thank anobjectofgrace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Oregon, Oregon
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“A Fresh New Taste Choice in town!”
Reviewed August 15, 2013

Stopped by here for take out on 8/14/13. Ordered Sweet & Sour Chicken, Happy Family Combination, Twice Cooked Pork and Crispy BBQ Noodles with Pork. What a nice change of taste from the usual American-ized Chinese food options around town. Everything seemed very fresh. The food was light, not heavy like other restaurants. The service was very fast. The lady that helped me was very friendly. The food was great. Why doesn't everyone eat here? We'll be back!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service”
Reviewed August 9, 2013 via mobile

We stopped for dinner and were quite pleased that the inside was much nicer than the outside and the food was excellent. Prices
We're extremely reasonable and the quality was outstanding

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jarten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Oregon
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Fresh amazing quality Chinese food!”
Reviewed June 29, 2013

My boyfriend and I go here frequently! The food is so fresh it's still boiling or Sizzling when it gets to the table. The waitresses and owners who are all very nice make sure our tea and other beverages are filled and the right temperature. The restaurant is tastefully designed and comfortable, great for a date night!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank alexandreaJG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to China Gourmet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing