We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food, high price” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Amadeus Cafe

Amadeus Cafe
Reserve with OpenTable
Amadeus Cafe is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #19 of 533 Restaurants in Salem
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great food, high price”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2014 via mobile

My fiancé and I took my mother here for her birthday. The food was amazing and the staff checked on us frequently and were very accommodating. The price was really high but totally worth it. It was a very modern laid back atmosphere. I would definitely recommend this place!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kristilee92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    33
    11
    10
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Salem, Oregon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Decent food and atmosphere, a bit pricey”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2014

The atmosphere is nice, the food is fine, and it's a pretty good choice for a downtown lunch where you aren't in a hurry. I have had the soup and spinach salad, both good. Also, the flourless chocolate cake was quite good. The service is slow even when not that busy. There are few restaurants downtown to choose from, and it's worth trying this one if you're looking to try something new and not trying to save money.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Suzanne O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Logan, Utah
Level Contributor
306 reviews
213 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“New Experience, Nice Experience!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2013

My sister-in-law suggested Amadeus Cafe when the restaurant we had planned to use for lunch had a long wait. It was a good choice. The restaurant has very plesant ambiance and it is pleasingly quiet. The staff were all very nice, though the service was definitely on the slow side. There were four of us and we each had a different lunch. We all thought that our food was very nicely prepared. I'd not go there if I was in a hurry, but for a very good, relaxing lunch, it was just ideal.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank cachevalley1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Oregon
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Amadeus has moved”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2013 via mobile

Please note that Amadeus is downtown at 135 Liberty and is no longer off Skyline as shown on the tripadvisor map.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Hammerhead97302
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Left Coast
Level Contributor
214 reviews
143 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
“Maybe the best bartender in Salem, lets hope the food catches up.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2013

The good news – Amadeus recently acquired a top level bartender in Rob. This man is an alchemist converting mere alcohol into experiences. He is a master of his craft. The ok news – The physical plant needs some help. For a new restaurant the chairs are tired, I would guess much of it was purchased used, and without style. The bar area is largely finished in salvaged lumber and looks awesome, but the rest if the place seems largely devoid of thought. The bad news – The food, while head and shoulders above an Applebee’s or other chain, seems to be like an American Car of the 1970’s. Designed and planed well enough, but assembled and taken through production with a disregard for quality. Plates are cold and chilled the food. Sauces jellied. French bread was chewy. The flan was curdled. Finish is lacking across the board and as a result flavors fall flat. You can see where they are going, they just don’t get there. We had a table with several appetizers and entrees and the best thing on the table was a decent, but not exceptional César Salad.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank inog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Amadeus Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Amadeus Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing