We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top Notch Service - New Property”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Salem
Ranked #1 of 24 Hotels in Salem
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed June 23, 2012

"Thanks for staying at the Hampton. We know you have choices and we appreciate your business."

That is how the desk manager at the Hampton Inn & Suites - Salem concluded our very friendly, very efficient check in for two couples this week. How often do you hear THAT at a chain hotel?

Which leads me to the first thing to like about this Hampton Inn & Suites. Service was top notch, from check in to check out and every encounter along the way.

All is not perfect here, but in sum there is more to like than not. Pros and Cons follow. Happily, the pros are a longer list. Because of the friendly and efficent service, this will be our first choice for lodging the next time we're in Salem.

PROs:

1. Warm and friendly service. I know I said that. It bears saying again.

2. Convenient location, minutes to downtown Salem and also a short hop to local wineries and farms.

3. NEW facility, only 60 days old this week, means little wear and tear on rooms and public spaces.

3. Quiet at night if you get the right room.

4. Comfy beds, pillows and furniture.

5. Bathrooms (at least ours) were spacious with grab bar in shower which we appreciate for safety.

6. Free wifi.

7. Nice salt water pool.

8 Spacious exercise room with six pieces of cardio equipment and free weights.

9. Large and bright gathering / breakfast room with standard height tables (hooray!) in addition to high perch seating.

10. Better breakfast than most in the class.

11. Accessibility from parking through door and all public spaces was very good.

12. Ample parking in large, well lit lot.

CONs:

1. It appears corners were cut on the quality of the construction materials. As example, carpet in our room was fraying at the seams in spite of this being less than 2 months old.

2. Bathtub had stains on the bottom (and other rooms do too) that was apparently the result of a construction error. The people traveling with us reported the handle nearly falling off their shower. Shower heads were not good quality.

3. Refrigerators are currently not offered as standard amenity in rooms, only in suites. However, fridges are available at no charge on request as supply allows. We requested one after check in and it was delivered within minutes (more of that great service.) The manager told us that they had received customer feedback that it is important to have refrigerators in rooms and they are in the process of purchasing them to have in all rooms eventually. In the meantime, good to know in advance that this is not yet a standard amenity if you need one.

ROOM TIPS:

1. Some rooms are quite spacious (our King room 417 was one of those examples.) Other rooms, as in the double queen 416 our companions had, are very narrow. Recommendation, choose wisely from the room floor plan when you check in to be sure you don't end up in one of the narrow rooms. Also, if the width of the double queen is standard for that room class, consider upgrading to a double queen suite for more space.

2. Rooms on back side (odd numbers) face a vacant field and seem quieter than on front (even numbers) that face parking lot.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank piacere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindsey S, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Salem, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2016

We truly appreciate you taking the time to review your stay with us! It encourages us to continue amazing service and to see where we can improve to make your visits amazing! Thank you for choosing Hampton Inn and Suites! :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (879)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

869 - 875 of 879 reviews

Reviewed June 17, 2012

I've stayed at all if the hotels in the general vicinity, and this is my favorite. The price is competitive with the others, yet it is newer and offers amenities that the others don't. Beds are very comfortable, rooms are large, great free breakfast in the morning. I will definitely stay there again inthe future.

Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
1  Thank jameyabrusa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindsey S, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Salem, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2016

We truly appreciate you taking the time to review your stay with us! It encourages us to continue amazing service and to see where we can improve to make your visits amazing! Thank you for choosing Hampton Inn and Suites! :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2012

Since our daughter goes to college in Salem, we come to town at least 4 times a year. We couldn't get an exact date as to when she will leave for the summer until the week before and unfortunately our usual downtown hotel was fully booked. We thought we'd try the Hampton Inn which was recently opened. It's just off of I-5, but far enough away so road noise was not an issue. The hotel was fairly empty on the Sunday night we stayed, on the fourth floor, and so very quiet. Everything is new, fresh, clean and comfortable. Our room did not have a tub, only a shower, but that's not important to us. I'd give the motel 4-stars (for the type of property it is), but the breakfast was definitely not a drawing point. Granted I don't expect a gourmet spread, but real, fresh food and decent coffee would be the minimum I'd expect. Rubbery muffins, frozen solid "fresh" fruit and eggs with a suspicious texture. Come on, you guys could easily do better.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank TravelingDawg78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindsey S, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Salem, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2016

We truly appreciate you taking the time to review your stay with us! It encourages us to continue amazing service and to see where we can improve to make your visits amazing! Thank you for choosing Hampton Inn and Suites! :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2012

Right off the freeway, this Hampton is brand new and makes an overnight stop perfect. Friendly and helpful staff that are clearly proud to work here. Same clean and comfortable rooms that you expect from these types of properties.

Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
2  Thank jstm58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindsey S, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Salem, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2016

We truly appreciate you taking the time to review your stay with us! It encourages us to continue amazing service and to see where we can improve to make your visits amazing! Thank you for choosing Hampton Inn and Suites! :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2012

This is an exceptional hotel.
It is new, but doesn't have the new hotel problems so common in new hotels.
The room was well appointed and comfortable.
The breakfast buffet was excellent!
The staff was friendly and professional.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank F G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindsey S, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Salem, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2016

We truly appreciate you taking the time to review your stay with us! It encourages us to continue amazing service and to see where we can improve to make your visits amazing! Thank you for choosing Hampton Inn and Suites! :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2012

Usual quiet clean comfortable accommodation in a brand new hotel We are rarely disappointed at Hampton Inns. I recommend this one highly.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank garymack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindsey S, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Salem, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2016

We truly appreciate you taking the time to review your stay with us! It encourages us to continue amazing service and to see where we can improve to make your visits amazing! Thank you for choosing Hampton Inn and Suites! :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2012

We stayed at the hotel while our daughter was looking at colleges in Salem. It was new, nice, and clean. The staff(Brian especially and the GM) were very friendly and accomodating. It was nice to be greeted every morning and the staff was ready to provide anything needed. We will definitely be back. Also nice location near town.

Room Tip: All rooms are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tanks55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindsey S, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Salem, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2016

We truly appreciate you taking the time to review your stay with us! It encourages us to continue amazing service and to see where we can improve to make your visits amazing! Thank you for choosing Hampton Inn and Suites! :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salem hotels
0.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Mill Creek Inn
2.5 mi away
The Grand Hotel in Salem
0.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel North Salem
3 mi away
Phoenix Inn Suites Salem
0.2 mi away
Residence Inn Salem
Residence Inn Salem
#8 of 24 in Salem
206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Salem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Salem

Address: 510 Hawthorne Ave SE, Salem, OR 97301-5085
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Salem
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Salem
#1 Business Hotel in Salem
#1 Romantic Hotel in Salem
#2 Green Hotel in Salem
Price Range: $126 - $282 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Salem 2.5*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Hampton Inn & Suites Salem, set just minutes from downtown Salem, the state capital of Oregon. Take the family for some thrills at Oregon State Fairgrounds, discover the state’s natural beauty at Silver Falls State Park and explore Oregon’s various wineries and restaurants during your stay. The hotel is also located near many local colleges and universities, including Willamette University, Corban University and Western Oregon University. This Salem hotel is great for visiting students and families, and packed full of amenities to make your stay as comfortable as possible. It is also convenient to many nearby businesses, including T-Mobile and Sanyo.Check in to this hotel in Salem, Oregon to enjoy a range of amenities and services to make each guest feel at home. Swim laps in the hotel’s swimming pool and maintain your fitness routine on the road in the fitness center with a range of cardiovascular machines. Start each day with Hampton’s free hot breakfast, or simply grab a free Hampton On the Run® Breakfast Bag to take away with you Monday through Friday. Our hotel in Salem, OR offers a light dinner on Tuesday and Wednesday nights. Stay on top of work in the business center equipped with fax, photocopying and printer access. Host your meetings in the hotel’s 851 sq. ft. meeting room which accommodates up to 96 guests in a range of seating styles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Salem reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites Salem Oregon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing