We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This could be so much more....”

Broadway Coffeehouse
Ranked #4 of 25 Coffee & Tea in Salem
Description: Great coffee is not bitter, it is not sour, it is not something to be covered up with heat, cream, and sweetener. Great coffee is an experience - it is complex and nuanced, sweet and bright, intense and graceful. Great coffee is riddled with subtle notes that hint of the most beautiful flavors in cuisine - chocolate and caramel, lemon and cherry, jasmine and rose. Great coffee is a lesson in history, economics, science, and anthropology. Great coffee is meticulously crafted with passion, skill, determination and an eye for the smallest detail.We are in the pursuit of great coffee.
Restaurant details
Description: Great coffee is not bitter, it is not sour, it is not something to be covered up with heat, cream, and sweetener. Great coffee is an experience - it is complex and nuanced, sweet and bright, intense and graceful. Great coffee is riddled with subtle notes that hint of the most beautiful flavors in cuisine - chocolate and caramel, lemon and cherry, jasmine and rose. Great coffee is a lesson in history, economics, science, and anthropology. Great coffee is meticulously crafted with passion, skill, determination and an eye for the smallest detail.We are in the pursuit of great coffee.
Reviewed December 22, 2015

This coffee shop has great tasting coffee, but a very poor selection of snacks or pastries. Whether I arrive in the morning, mid afternoon or evening, there are no cookies or treats to go with your coffee. Because of the lack of nearby food, they could use a sandwich cart in the main lobby to offer a variety of pastries and sandwiches. Or even a salad bar. Also, the seating is very uncomfortable - stiff wooden chairs and tables. Need more sofas and soft seating. This shop has a great location and good coffee, but just not on my list anymore of places to go for an afternoon cup of coffee.

Date of visit: November 2015
Thank Judy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broadway C, Manager at Broadway Coffeehouse, responded to this reviewResponded December 24, 2015

Hi Judy!

Thanks for your feedback. I'm sorry that we didn't have any pastries when you came to visit. It's so unpredictable when we will sell out of pastries on any given day, but we do order a full selection on the days when Great Harvest is open. You're welcome to try again! We're bound to have some.

I also want to let you know that we have an excellent restaurant just down the hall from us in the building called Better Than Mama's. They offer soups, salads, sandwiches, etc. You're more than welcome to bring their food into our shop.

Let us know if there's anything else we can do to help!

Thanks!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (32)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

11 - 15 of 32 reviews

Reviewed December 15, 2015

On busy days (most) patience is rewarded with fussy and artistic barista fashioning of delicious coffee and tea drinks. Large open area inside with plenty seating. When the weather permits, wall doors are opened for outside seating that is not sheltered from the traffic out front of the building. Reasonable pricing, comfort and great beverages!

Date of visit: November 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Carl V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2015

Not far north of Salem's downtown area, the Broadway Coffeehouse is easily reached by car and there is plenty of free street parking in the area. The service here is friendly and efficient, and the coffee is first rate, as are the various cookies, scones, muffins, etc. which are also available. The establishment is very spacious, and there are many comfortable areas to read or have a quiet conversation spread out over two levels. A number of small conference rooms may be booked free of charge for meetings. Salem actually has a rather large number of pleasant alternatives to the robotic Starbucks experience, and this is clearly one of the best ones.

Date of visit: November 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank markers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2015 via mobile

Somehow, amidst a consumer world dominated by Starbucks, this place keeps a full house and constant flow of loyal locals. The Aeropress and a few other creative coffee ideas keep it unique but inviting.

Date of visit: November 2015
Thank Tony B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2015

We went here for a cup of coffee (and to rest a little) as other coffee places were closed in Salem and because this was ranked high on TripAdvisor. We didn't go upstairs but this place is pretty big for a coffee place. Their menu is simple, plenty of seats here and great service and wifi.

Date of visit: July 2015
Thank j3ssicay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Broadway Coffeehouse also viewed

 

Been to Broadway Coffeehouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing