We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Poor service” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of McGrath's Fish House - CLOSED

McGrath's Fish House
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Poor service”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2014 via mobile

I haven't been there for a year, had mediocre service then and again this time. That's it for me. Server was rude and like we were a bother. I had the mgr get us a new waiter, so at least he did something about it, but I remember years ago I used to come here with my dad and we never had issues. Looking around, I also remember the restaurant being a lot busier...if they don't get friendlier, they will continue to lose business. Too bad, this restaurant's been here for awhile. I probably won't be back.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

78 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    22
    19
    8
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Portland Oregon
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“I was hesitant...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

The first time I went to McGraths, the food was good, but for a time it did not seem to have the same freshness and I wasn't very happy with it, I hadn't been back in a couple of years but had to attend a luncheon there recently and was pleasantly surprised. They have turned around and the food was as I remembered it the first time I went. I even bought some bread to take home! I am happy to say I can recommend it again!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank zoelika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgetown, Texas
Level Contributor
85 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“good food, excellent value, highly recommended”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2013

Good seafood menu, good value, reasonable prices. Highly recommended. Two locations in Salem, with identical menus and prices.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank DWoerner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keizer, Oregon
Level Contributor
582 reviews
272 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 347 helpful votes
“Father's Day with the kids at McGraths”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

Willamette River downtown on Chemeketa St. We like this location because it’s fun to sit outside and watch the downtown shoppers, then after the meal walk through the historic downtown area and enjoy a little more people watching. I typically get a combination of seafood such as scallops, clams, Prawns, etc. and I really enjoy that the breading on the clams as it is very light almost like you would find in a sushi restaurant. Even though it is a Fish House there is a full menu complete with burgers/sandwiches, Steaks, salads and of course lots of different desserts. The portions are quite ample so I rarely have room for dessert. If you have a hearty appetite it’s hard to beat a nice steak with a lobster tail. I find the prices to be very competitive and reasonable for the quality and quantity of food and the service is quick and friendly!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank VictoryVisionTim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redmond, Oregon
Level Contributor
109 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“What happened?”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013 via mobile

After eatting here over the years, we have generally enjoyed each experience. This latest was not the case, and worse was the attitude of our server and management. Service was very slow. Two of our party ordered a Dijon crusted halibut. Both had a mushy coating and the fish was soft with no flavor. I ate 1/2 piece and the other eat one piece. Our server never came back to check on us and see how the meal was. My wife's fish was, at best, okay. The fourth person's fries were semi heated. When our server finally came by to clear our plates, she saw that very little had been eaten, but said nothing. I told her that our meals were unsatisfactory, but nothing else was said. No manager ever came by. We got our bills, but she never came back to take our cards. So, we took our cards to the front and met with a manager. Since our meals were poor and service lacking, I told him about our experience. He took our cards and bills and we thought maybe he would comp the two bad meals, but NO! He came back and said to me, "I assume your soup and bread were okay". He discounted my meal, and charged me over $5 for a cup of soup and bread !!!! The other party received nothing. His attitude was smug and we felt as if he thought we were trying to get free meals.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MikeNancy_in_Redmond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed McGrath's Fish House also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing