We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrific Fish”
Review of McGrath's Fish House - CLOSED

McGrath's Fish House
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Salem, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
234 reviews
174 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Terrific Fish”
Reviewed November 8, 2012

My wife and I ate at the McGrath's in downtown Salem tonight for a respite from a challenging week. She ordered the Basa and I selected the wood-fired Halibut. Our two meals were served in good time by a very kind server named Jolene. In addition to the quite tasty fish, the veggies were cooked to a succulent texture and the restaurant's ambiance soothed our frazzled emotions.

We recommend McGrath's throughout the year and at anytime of day.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

77 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    22
    19
    8
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Little Rock, Arkansas
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Good food at reasonable prices”
Reviewed November 1, 2012

I ate at McGraths for a business meeting with 3 others for lunch and found the food to be pretty good, the service average and the prices in line for the food. This is a casual dining restaurant on par with a Red Lobster type menu but not as broad. Perfectly acceptable lunch location serving a variety of lunch specials including soups and salads. It won't wow you, but I don't think you will be disappointed either.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Steve L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keizer, Oregon
Level 2 Contributor
1 review
“Excellent choices!”
Reviewed September 7, 2012

We frequent McGrath's because the food is excellent, the choices are many and the prices are reasonable. It is great for casual dining or for special occasions and the service is terrific! We often go there for a late lunch to enjoy the Fish House Favorite which consists of a large shrimp salad, a cup of Fisherman's Stew or Clam Chowder and sourdough bread for $7.99 per person. Great value! The Fisherman's Stew is amazing!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank seali0ness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keizer, Oregon
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“One of the better restaurants in Salem”
Reviewed August 27, 2012

This is usually my go to place in Salem as good restaurants are hard to find. McGrath's just has consistency issues. Sometimes my veggies arrive cold next to my salmon or halibut. Other times the presentation of the food is just sloppy and not very eye appealing. The wait staff is usually good.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Golflady2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Low Carb HEAVEN”
Reviewed July 25, 2012

For the Low carber : Get the Alder plank salmon, with the seared tuna appetizer. That tuna is amazing. Not on a diet? You luck so-and-so.. their sourdough bread is terrific, and they make better clam chowder than Mo's!

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank Ginastarke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed McGrath's Fish House also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing