We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was OK.. I've stayed at better RI's.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Residence Inn Salem
Ranked #8 of 24 Hotels in Salem
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 16, 2013

I stayed here recently to extend a business trip and visit friends and family. The room was OK, but smelled too much like Febreeze (like they were trying to cover pet odors). The breakfast room was so overrun and messy that I opted to eat out all three mornings rather than deal with the poorly stocked breakfast (while the staff spent much of the time socializing in the food pantry). I thought the desk clerk was friendly and professional. I much prefer staying downtown at the convention center hotel and would recommend you stay there instead.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BR_MD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (200)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

127 - 133 of 200 reviews

Reviewed June 5, 2013

terrible experience. Air conditioner was broken, management said it would be fixed, we complained, but no one seemed to be able to fix it. Room was 81 degrees, they did nothing except to say they were sorry. The hotel was all booked up, so there wasn't even another room to be substituted. Furniture is very shabby, not up to Marriott's usual standard. Very disappointed.

Room Tip: Check to ensure everything is in good working order.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rita d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael S, General Manager at Residence Inn Salem, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2013

We regret that we couldn’t get the air conditioner repaired immediately due to scheduling challenges with our vendor, and that we failed to communicate effectively with you to relocate your family after the first night. We trust that the new suite continues to meet your needs. We hope that your family is enjoying the experience with the Track and Field events in Eugene, Oregon and the complimentary stay in your new suite for the remainder of your time here in Salem.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

We picked the Residence Inn because it was convenient to the freeway as we were making our way to the Oregon coast. Our first impression of the hotel was good as the front desk clerk was very friendly and helpful. The room was spacious and had a kitchenette, but wasn't anything special. Breakfast in the morning was very crowded and they kept running out of food. We had to ask several times to get them to bring more food out.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael S, General Manager at Residence Inn Salem, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to complete a survey of our hotel. We trust that you had a wonderful time visiting the Oregon coast. We are delighted that you were able to stay here on your way to the beach. We thank you for your patience as our staff was working steadily to keep up with the needs of our valued guests that busy morning. We appreciate your valuable feedback about your experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2013

So unclean we had to pack up and leave. The light fixtures were dusty. Both beds had sheets that were visibly not clean. As I walked out of the lobby I saw a pill on the floor of the lobby and figured it probably had been there for a while and nobody probably cared. The staff was very friendly, but it did not make up for the fact that the place was simply not kept up well.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tyndalljm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael S, General Manager at Residence Inn Salem, responded to this reviewResponded May 24, 2013

We appreciate your candid feedback about your visit with us. We have been able to address the details that you provided and were able to attend to the lobby area after the busy weekend that we had. We trust that you will give us another chance to “wow” you on your next visit through Salem. Thank you again for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2013

This hotel is a new favorite of ours. The suites are spacious, very clean and have all the comforts of home. We stayed in a one-bedroom suite with a full size refrigerator and freezer, cooktop, microwave, soft comfortable bed and very nice flat screen televisions, to name just a few of the things that make this room great. There's even a dishwasher and soap and full set of dishes and silverware! Housekeeping will even run the dishwasher for you while you're out according to the note in the room, although we washed our own with the provided palmolive dish soap. The value was incredible for the price we paid. Other competing hotels in the area charge more per night and have much less to offer. I also did a price comparison online on many different travel websites, and found the lowest price is actually on the hotel's website! The decorations are very nice and modern, and the hotel is quiet at night. I don't think we could have stayed somewhere better! The only thing I found somewhat difficult to deal with at first was a loud buzzing noise coming from the water heater closet in the bedroom next to the bed. I thought it would make it difficult to sleep, but I found that I was able to tune it out and go to sleep no problem. Might be more of a problem for people who are light sleepers. The complimentary breakfast is outstanding! Lots of hot food options that are quite tasty for hotel food. The front desk staff are very friendly, and make check in and check out so quick and easy. We will definitely be staying here again in the future.

Room Tip: Rooms on the side not facing the highway are quieter. No traffic noise at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CMM2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael S, General Manager at Residence Inn Salem, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2013

Thank you so much for your lovely comments about our hotel amenities that you mentioned. The full kitchens and larger rooms are what make us different from other hotels in town. I am sorry that the air conditioning unit was a little louder that it should have been, but I am delighted that you were still able to get a good night’s sleep. We look forward to serving you again should your travels bring you back to Salem.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2013

Overall great stay. Phone woke us up at 6:30 a.m. for a wake up we didn't order. Bed was old feeling. Manager came to check out a noise complaint st 10 pm and found my wife, 3 year old and myself in bed. Kind of strange. Very good breakfast, pool, and helpful check in. Would stay again most likely.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank orecowboy22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael S, General Manager at Residence Inn Salem, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2013

Dear valued guest,
Thank you for your recent feedback. We are sorry that your stay was less than you would have expected from us. We are delighted that you enjoyed the breakfast and the pool. Again we appreciate your feedback and trust that on a future stay we can deliver to you the level of comfort and service that you deserve.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2013

Friendly Staff from the moment we walked in. Room was spacious and clean and warm. Well located and value for money with easy access to the Hwy and Salem. Staff were great, the wife had picked up a nasty head cold on our travels and they helped look after her with herbal teas and honey. Great Job.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank juzmuz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael S, General Manager at Residence Inn Salem, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2013

We appreciate your kind feedback and are delighted that we were able to help your wife, who was not feeling well, with the use of our 24 hour coffee and tea station. If you ever find yourself in Salem again, we hope we can have the pleasure of accommodating you once more.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salem hotels
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Salem
0.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites
0.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Mill Creek Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
The Grand Hotel in Salem
1.9 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel North Salem
0.1 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#10 of 24 in Salem
130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Salem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Salem

Address: 640 Hawthorne Ave SE, Salem, OR 97301-5096
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Salem
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Salem
Price Range: $154 - $252 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Salem 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our extended stay Salem, Oregon hotel keeps you connected with free Wi-Fi and expanded cable Stay productive at your large, well-lit desk with convenient outlets and our business center Fully furnished kitchens with full-size appliances, cookware, dinnerware and utensils New bedding collection includes luxurious cotton linens, designer covers and fluffier pillows One of the only pet friendly hotels in Salem, Oregon; $100 non-refundable sanitation fee One and two-bedroom suites at the Residence Inn Hotel in Salem, OR are ideal for groups or families ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Residence Inn Salem reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Salem Hotel Salem
Salem Residence Inn
Residence Inn Salem Oregon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing