We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient stop on the way to the coast”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Residence Inn Salem
Ranked #8 of 23 Hotels in Salem
Certificate of Excellence
Bellevue, Washington
Level Contributor
91 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Convenient stop on the way to the coast”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

We picked the Residence Inn because it was convenient to the freeway as we were making our way to the Oregon coast. Our first impression of the hotel was good as the front desk clerk was very friendly and helpful. The room was spacious and had a kitchenette, but wasn't anything special. Breakfast in the morning was very crowded and they kept running out of food. We had to ask several times to get them to bring more food out.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael S, General Manager at Residence Inn Salem, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to complete a survey of our hotel. We trust that you had a wonderful time visiting the Oregon coast. We are delighted that you were able to stay here on your way to the beach. We thank you for your patience as our staff was working steadily to keep up with the needs of our valued guests that busy morning. We appreciate your valuable feedback about your experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    62
    40
    8
    2
See reviews for
64
35
16
51
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Everett, Washington
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2013

So unclean we had to pack up and leave. The light fixtures were dusty. Both beds had sheets that were visibly not clean. As I walked out of the lobby I saw a pill on the floor of the lobby and figured it probably had been there for a while and nobody probably cared. The staff was very friendly, but it did not make up for the fact that the place was simply not kept up well.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tyndalljm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael S, General Manager at Residence Inn Salem, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
We appreciate your candid feedback about your visit with us. We have been able to address the details that you provided and were able to attend to the lobby area after the busy weekend that we had. We trust that you will give us another chance to “wow” you on your next visit through Salem. Thank you again for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McMinnville, Oregon
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2013

This hotel is a new favorite of ours. The suites are spacious, very clean and have all the comforts of home. We stayed in a one-bedroom suite with a full size refrigerator and freezer, cooktop, microwave, soft comfortable bed and very nice flat screen televisions, to name just a few of the things that make this room great. There's even a dishwasher and soap and full set of dishes and silverware! Housekeeping will even run the dishwasher for you while you're out according to the note in the room, although we washed our own with the provided palmolive dish soap. The value was incredible for the price we paid. Other competing hotels in the area charge more per night and have much less to offer. I also did a price comparison online on many different travel websites, and found the lowest price is actually on the hotel's website! The decorations are very nice and modern, and the hotel is quiet at night. I don't think we could have stayed somewhere better! The only thing I found somewhat difficult to deal with at first was a loud buzzing noise coming from the water heater closet in the bedroom next to the bed. I thought it would make it difficult to sleep, but I found that I was able to tune it out and go to sleep no problem. Might be more of a problem for people who are light sleepers. The complimentary breakfast is outstanding! Lots of hot food options that are quite tasty for hotel food. The front desk staff are very friendly, and make check in and check out so quick and easy. We will definitely be staying here again in the future.

Room Tip: Rooms on the side not facing the highway are quieter. No traffic noise at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CMM2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael S, General Manager at Residence Inn Salem, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Thank you so much for your lovely comments about our hotel amenities that you mentioned. The full kitchens and larger rooms are what make us different from other hotels in town. I am sorry that the air conditioning unit was a little louder that it should have been, but I am delighted that you were still able to get a good night’s sleep. We look forward to serving you again should your travels bring you back to Salem.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed April 20, 2013

Overall great stay. Phone woke us up at 6:30 a.m. for a wake up we didn't order. Bed was old feeling. Manager came to check out a noise complaint st 10 pm and found my wife, 3 year old and myself in bed. Kind of strange. Very good breakfast, pool, and helpful check in. Would stay again most likely.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank orecowboy22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael S, General Manager at Residence Inn Salem, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Dear valued guest,
Thank you for your recent feedback. We are sorry that your stay was less than you would have expected from us. We are delighted that you enjoyed the breakfast and the pool. Again we appreciate your feedback and trust that on a future stay we can deliver to you the level of comfort and service that you deserve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bundaberg, Australia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2013

Friendly Staff from the moment we walked in. Room was spacious and clean and warm. Well located and value for money with easy access to the Hwy and Salem. Staff were great, the wife had picked up a nasty head cold on our travels and they helped look after her with herbal teas and honey. Great Job.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank juzmuz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael S, General Manager at Residence Inn Salem, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
We appreciate your kind feedback and are delighted that we were able to help your wife, who was not feeling well, with the use of our 24 hour coffee and tea station. If you ever find yourself in Salem again, we hope we can have the pleasure of accommodating you once more.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridge, Connecticut
Level Contributor
75 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2013

The hotel is nice and clean, and the staff is very friendly and helpful. There's a market by the front desk to pick up snacks or a meal (frozen foods or soup). I was upgraded to a 2-bedroom suite which was nicely decorated and modern. The breakfast was better than average - cereal, oatmeal, yogurt, muffins and breads, scrambled eggs, potato pancakes, turkey bacon, coffee, and juices. The location is very convenient, close to the highway, but I didn't hear any road noise at night.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tyrajama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael S, General Manager at Residence Inn Salem, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
We appreciate your delightful summary of our breakfast and appreciate your response about our nice and clean hotel, and friendly and helpful staff. If your travels ever bring you back to Salem, Oregon we hope that we can have the pleasure of accommodating you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corvallis, Oregon
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Nice place, a friend & I had a 2 bedroom suite at a very reasonable cost. The room was very comfortable, the wifi was fast & easy, and the breakfast was good. My only complaint was that the hot tub was about 2 degrees too hot but I know that's a personal preference. Yes, the freeway is close but you can ask for a room on the other side and it's not that noisy.

Room Tip: Ask for one away from the freeway
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KrisEgan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael S, General Manager at Residence Inn Salem, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
Thank you for the great review and feedback of your stay while here in Salem. We are delighted that you were able to enjoy the spaciousness of our large two bedroom suite and the breakfast with all the wonderful choices that we offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salem hotels
2.6 mi away
The Grand Hotel in Salem
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Salem
0.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Mill Creek Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites
1.9 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel North Salem
0.1 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#10 of 23 in Salem
124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Salem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Salem

Property: Residence Inn Salem
Address: 640 Hawthorne Ave SE, Salem, OR 97301-5096
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Salem
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Salem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Salem 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our extended stay Salem, Oregon hotel keeps you connected with free Wi-Fi and expanded cable Stay productive at your large, well-lit desk with convenient outlets and our business center Fully furnished kitchens with full-size appliances, cookware, dinnerware and utensils New bedding collection includes luxurious cotton linens, designer covers and fluffier pillows One of the only pet friendly hotels in Salem, Oregon; $100 non-refundable sanitation fee One and two-bedroom suites at the Residence Inn Hotel in Salem, OR are ideal for groups or families ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Marriott, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Residence Inn Salem reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Salem Hotel Salem
Salem Residence Inn
Residence Inn Salem Oregon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing