We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value and Excellent Facilities for Families with Young Kids”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Residence Inn Salem
Ranked #8 of 23 Hotels in Salem
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Great Value and Excellent Facilities for Families with Young Kids”
Reviewed August 18, 2012

I drove from Vancouver Canada to Anaheim (Disneyland) with my son, daughter in law and their two toddlers. We stayed at Residence Inns throughout our trip and were pleasantly surprised at all of the family friendly facilities. We stayed in two bathroom, two bedroom or two bedroom loft (well worth the extra few dollars if available) suites. Each suite was spacious and had a fully equipped kitchen, three flat screen TV's, free WiFi, in-room safe, individually controlled heating/air con, sofabed in the living area. Each Inn also had coin operated laundry facilities, swimming pool, free on-site parking, and included a full buffet breakfast.

Specifically with respect to Salem, we stayed two nights in July 2012. The staff were very friendly and helpful. At check-in we were provided with a list of restaurants, shops and banks located in the immediate area which was very helpful. The suite was clean and comfortable.

The buffet breakfast had an excellent selection. Various takeaway containers, including plastic plates and cutlery, were provided so that you could take your breakfast back to your suite (and also avoid using the in-suite dishes if you wanted). An excellent alternative when travelling with young children.

We enjoyed our stay in Salem and would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pyctravellingman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    64
    41
    8
    3
See reviews for
65
37
16
54
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Surrey, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2012

Very comfortable, spacious, clean suite, including well-equipped kitchenette. Bed soft, good for me but not so much for wife who prefers firmer. Goodamenities, facilities & hot breakfast. Got excellent last-minute deal thru Priceline, $120 instead of $179 (plus taxes). Not well signposted, set back and partially hidden from street, older GPS couldn't find it, dark when we arrived.......but very pleasant & helpful staff once we got in.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deer Park, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2012 via mobile

I've enjoyed staying here several times now & have no complaints. I travel a lot and stay in similar hotels (Courtyards, Hampton Inns, Residence Inns, etc) 20+ weeks a year, so I know them pretty well.

This place is clean, quiet, and the staff is helpful & friendly. You can't ask for much more at these prices. Yes, the breakfast is pretty basic, but it's also free and has decent selection of rolls, bread, fruit, juice, cereals, oatmeal, and waffles. I'm not sure how people can people expect much more when your only paying $120 for the room to begin with.

As a business traveler the internet connection is important to me & that was very good as well. I'll be back!

Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank MBruck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael S, General Manager at Residence Inn Salem, responded to this review, August 3, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback on your stay. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us while conducting business here in Salem. We look forward to serving you again in the future. Best regards, Michael Spoerhase, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

We booked one night on the 4th thru priceline so the value was well worth it. The rooms were clean well laid out. they had a very good breakfast in the morning but it is over by 9am so you really can't sleep in very long or you will miss out. Staff was friendly and accomodating too. The location can be confusing because the hotel sits off the street by at least a block and can't be seen from the road the address says it's on. You have to pay close attention to the road signs with the hotel logo on it to find it.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bekula38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Oregon
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2012

First, I need to lead off by stating the staff was very friendly and professional. However, the actual hotel is feeling a little "long in the tooth" and needing a refresh. The hallways were dim and looked to have had lots of use. Our mattress seemed to be an old foam type and was a little "spongy" for our taste.

The biggest issue was the breakfast area. It is very small for the volume of people that were present. We went back to our room the first time with the hope that a table would open up - it never improved. The staff seemed totally overwhelmed and it looked like a herd of cattle had moved thru before we got there. The staff was constantly trying to play catch-up to get things re-stocked and the tables were not getting the most basic wipe down.

The most frustrating observation was not completely the hotel's problem - it is people lingering at the few tables like they paid for an expensive brunch. I saw multiple groups who had pushed tables together and were just chatting. Take a hint - when there is a family with kids standing with plates in their hands it is time to move on if you are done. To compound the frustration was a family that allowed their kids to treat the place like their own kitchen by "customizing" their waffles by putting various ingredients into the wafflemaker like fruit and chocolate....the parents did nothing to hurry the kids along and it created a burned mess for the rest of the line. My kids waffles came out with burned black residue on them which really bummed them out after standing in line. Simple manners and common sense would have gone a long way toward compensating for the cramped space and the amount of people wanting to eat before getting on the road.

The last issues were minor but an inconvenience. For some reason, the pool was closed for a period of time in the middle of the morning when our kids wanted to swim. The other was they were resurfacing their parking lot and it resulted in a lengthy load out due to having to park at an adjacent hotel and no real plan other than telling guests they couldn't park in the Marriot lot after 8:00 am.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FenwickPeriwinkle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Bay, CA
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2012

We often travel from CA to WA to visit family. Salem makes a nice stopping point, and we always choose this hotel. The staff is great, & we have never been disappointed.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BLZs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunny Isles Beach, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2012

We recently stayed here for 4 nights while visiting family. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful and really made us feel welcome! We enjoyed the hot breakfast each morning, as well as the dinner offered on M-T-W nights only. So nice not to have to eat at a restaurant! The hotel is conveniently located. Staff helped me find the movie theatres at a nearby mall. Used the pool and basketball court every day. The lobby area had a nice big fireplace, plus all sorts of books and games available for use. One computer in lobby, free wifi in rooms. Our room was very close to the freeway and you could hear the traffic, but we got used to it. My biggest complaint is the price. We stayed in downtown Seattle (Springhill Suites), Lynnwood WA (Residence Inn), Seaside OR (Best Western), and Kent WA (Townplace Suites) during our trip, and this was by far the most expensive hotel on our trip! I have stayed at Residence Inns in other cities as well that were cheaper. For that reason I cannot give it 5 stars.

Room Tip: Ask for a room as far away from the freeway as you can get!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PurdueGirl84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salem hotels
2.6 mi away
The Grand Hotel in Salem
0.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Mill Creek Inn
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Salem
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites
1.9 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel North Salem
0.1 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#10 of 23 in Salem
127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Salem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Salem

Property: Residence Inn Salem
Address: 640 Hawthorne Ave SE, Salem, OR 97301-5096
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Salem
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Salem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Salem 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our extended stay Salem, Oregon hotel keeps you connected with free Wi-Fi and expanded cable Stay productive at your large, well-lit desk with convenient outlets and our business center Fully furnished kitchens with full-size appliances, cookware, dinnerware and utensils New bedding collection includes luxurious cotton linens, designer covers and fluffier pillows One of the only pet friendly hotels in Salem, Oregon; $100 non-refundable sanitation fee One and two-bedroom suites at the Residence Inn Hotel in Salem, OR are ideal for groups or families ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Marriott, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Residence Inn Salem reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Salem Hotel Salem
Salem Residence Inn
Residence Inn Salem Oregon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing