We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent seafood”

Newport Seafood Grill
Ranked #8 of 536 Restaurants in Salem
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $26 - $35
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Market St. & Hawthorne St.
San Antonio, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Excellent seafood”
Reviewed August 13, 2013

We wanted seafood for dinner and this restaurant was a short walk from our hotel. Turned out to be a great choice. Excellent seafood reasonably priced and great service.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank DianaSATX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    76
    66
    35
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
S
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Terrific fish, hot side dishes, and great service”
Reviewed August 6, 2013

We have eaten at this restaurant several times over the past few years, and have never been disappointed. We have not tried anything deep fried, so I can't comment on those items. However, the fresh fish is excellent, as are the various side dishes. Their vegetables are usually crisp and hot, and fresh. Potatoes come nice and hot, as does a rice side dish. We have tried the grilled oysters (good), as well as halibut and salmon prepared in a variety of ways - all excellent. The wait staff is always attentive, friendly and helpful.

My favorite dish is the hazelnut halibut - fantastic! Just had it a couple of weeks ago, and want to go back fro more.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank K M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EVERETT
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Good seafood at a fair price”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Newport Seafood Grill has really good chowder and seafood. I had the garlic pesto halibut with linguine which was excellent. The service there is also top notch with a nice atmosphere.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank ConcreteEric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penryn
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Best smoked salmon ever!”
Reviewed June 28, 2013

On our way to WA we happened upon this restaurant. The inside was nice, a little upscale and the food was excellent. My husband had salmon stuffed with crab. It was perfectly done and came with the best green beans. I had a seafood salad with shrimp, crab and the BEST smoked salmon I have ever had. In fact, this food was so good we planned our return trip around it. For the second time I had that wonderful salad and my husband had bronzed mahi mahi with a pineapple relish. This was a really great find.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank horsewomanPenryn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martinsville, Indiana
Level 6 Contributor
180 reviews
126 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Not what was expected, but acceptable cuisine.”
Reviewed May 31, 2013

One would hope that a restaurant that bills itself as a seafood place would have better seafood.
This reviewer ordered the "sampler" which included halibut, haddock, salmon, and shrimp ($14.99.)
The two shrimp were in a tempura batter, similar to what one might find, well, anywhere from a Chinese restaurant to a Red Lobster.
The haddock was good, fried correctly and still moist. Ditto with the halibut.
The salmon was breaded and fried. And this, fellow travelers, was truly "odd." Odd to the taste, odd to look at (it looked burned). It was a little dry.
Service was o.k.- the bartender was the only one working the entire front of the house, and it took a while to wait at the entrance before she arrive to escort the guests to their respective tables.
Would this reviewer go again to this restaurant?
Probably not.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Thomas S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Newport Seafood Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing