We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“AMAZING!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Enchanted Forest Theme Park

Enchanted Forest Theme Park
Ranked #2 of 78 things to do in Salem
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A theme park nestled in the beautiful lush forests of Oregon with lots of hands on see and do adventure. Stroll through Storybook Lane, the Western Town. and the English Village, home of the Fantasy Fountains water-light show. Rides include the Ice Mountain Bobsled Roller Coaster, the Big Timber Log Ride, indoor target shooting Challenge of Mondor, bumper cars plus several kiddy rides and a walk-through Haunted House. The outdoor comedy theatre presents farces on fairy tales during the summer months. Picnicking, gift shops, food and more.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“AMAZING!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2014

Our friends set this up for us, so we didn't know what to expect and we all loved it! The owner of the park has essentially built everything from hand and you can see the love and dedication he has put into it. Our 5 & 8 year old girls loved it here. The 8 yr old went on all the rides over and over, so the wrist band was perfect for her. The littler one just did tickets for the kiddie rides, but loved seeing all the displays. Wear comfortable shoes and clothes. There is a lot of walking and it is built on the side of a hill so is quite steep in parts. We spent 4 hours here and only left because it was closing. We also found all of the prices to be very reasonable from admission, to F&B to gift shop. The girls are already asking to go back! (even though we live 12 hours away!)

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

400 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    207
    155
    25
    11
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Salem, Oregon
Level Contributor
115 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Bring a Picnic and Allow Plenty of Time”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2014

Our grandchildren love this place. Bring a stroller and water bottles for them. Smallest ones like the nursery rhyme themed activities, like the "Hickory Dickory" clock complete with the mouse, going through the (a little scary) rabbit hole tunnel, seeing where Snow White lives, etc. A little older, and they love rides, the big slide on a burlap bag, exploring the western fort with its passageways and slide and looking in the windows of the old west town to see how things were way back when. They find all this by ambling along on trails in a shady forest. To rest little legs, the indoor water feature is mesmerizing, but the dramas don't seem very engaging, especially to adults. The bigger rides are fun for older children and adults who don't expect Disneyland. This is an older, low-key, homemade place which is a pleasant tradition here in Salem. Since the food is forgettable and expensive, we prefer to bring a picnic. Our stamped hands allow us to go to the car and and bring the cooler to one of the nice, cool shady picnic spots to eat.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Best option in a very hot day”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2014

Best child activity in the area, specially in a very hot day. Bracelets best option if plan to visit for more than 4 hours. Food is ok, but over price.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank drdjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level Contributor
122 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Why is this place so expensive???”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2014

I have been coming to Enchanted Forest since I was a little girl and have brought my kids several times over about 15 years time (Salem doesn't have a lot to do). But this poor place is so aged in many areas (I have a distinct memory of many parts of this park that haven't changed in the 38 years I have been coming here). But there is really only one fun thing for my older kids to do--the very fun log ride. And it is fun. But how many times can you ride one ride? We spent over $100 in admission and ride bracelets and the kids were pretty bored in just a couple of hours. Just not enough to charge the high prices!!! And why is admission so high for adults??? Give the bored adults a price break! The admission for the kids and those hated but necessary ride bracelets are expensive enough. The one plus I will give it: they allow picnics, which is appreciated. And the place is pretty, built into a hillside.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank CObeachgirl24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great day trip for younger kids!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2014

This place was better than expected. It was very clean, was almost entirely shaded by beautiful trees, and not crowded (we went on a Wednesday from 12-5:30). I had read previous reviews and choose to buy tickets instead of wrist bands, which worked out good for my 2 kids and me. Almost all the rides were perfect for my 5 and 7 year old kids. We also enjoyed the theater show, water show, slides, and all the neat little houses that are all included in the admission price. I was impressed by how much detail there was to fun decorations throughout the park. It seemes very well maintained and had friendly staff. Probably spent around $125. Which included addmission, 55 tickest, lunch, ice cream, pictures of the log ride, and and 2 gift shop toys. Super affordable and my kids had a blast.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank tmwitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Enchanted Forest Theme Park also viewed

 

Been to Enchanted Forest Theme Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing