We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Finally, good food in Salem!”
Review of Word of Mouth

Word of Mouth
Ranked #1 of 535 Restaurants in Salem
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner
Eugene, Oregon
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Finally, good food in Salem!”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

In my travels up and down I-5 I've always lamented the lack of good places to eat between Portland and Eugene. Word of Mouth is definitely worth a stop for breakfast or lunch. Unfortunately they close at 3, so no dinner service. Service is friendly and efficient; really good coffee; excellent food. The only drawback is the popularity of this restaurant. We arrived at 1:30 on a Friday, and waited 20 to 30 minutes for a table. But, as other reviewers commented, it was definitely worth the wait. I can't wait for my next trip to Portland!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank EugeneGypsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

657 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    503
    103
    34
    8
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Davis, California
Level Contributor
299 reviews
174 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
“Fantastic Food!”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

We were visiting our grandson in Salem and stopped by here for lunch on Saturday afternoon. There were several groups ahead of us, but we'd heard such good things about the food that we decided to wait. We waited about 45 minutes for lunch, but it was well worth it! The food was absolutely wonderful. My husband and grandson had the Yacht Club sandwich and both raved about it - fresh ingredients and tasty bread. I had the clam chowder, and it was the best I've ever eaten. The service was prompt and friendly. They checked on us several times during our meal to see if we needed anything else, drinks refreshed, etc. We were so impressed with lunch that we went back the next morning for breakfast, and had the same great experience all over again. The wait wasn't quite as long, and they serve coffee to keep you happy while you wait. I had the accidental omelet which was chock full of fresh ingredients. My husband and grandson had the Creme Brulee French Toast and said it was delicious. Again, we had prompt and friendly service. They do not take reservations, so be prepared for a wait; there is comfortable seating in the waiting area and the food is worth it!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DavisSunflower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Oregon
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best breakfast in Salem”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

Love eating here when I have the time. The restaurant is very small and there is usually a long wait on the weekends. I have never been on a week day. The wait is definitely worth it, though!! Love the cream brûlée French toast.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank rondics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Oregon
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Worth the wait.”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

Aptly named, Word Of Mouth has flourished and is THE place to experience breakfast or lunch that is from unique and varied menu. Bring your patience with you as waits are frequently 30-60 mins and seating in the quaint old house is tight. When you tuck in to your meal, it is so worth it! Prices moderate and staff is pleasant and professional.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Carl V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Oregon
Level Contributor
41 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Breakfast or lunch - go there!”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

If you're visiting Salem and you want a local spot to have a great experience, this is your place. It's small, and the seating is tight, but the food and service is well worth it. Be there early or expect to have a manageable wait.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Nancy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Word of Mouth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing