We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Plan ahead for a wait. But worth it!”
Review of Word of Mouth

Word of Mouth
Ranked #1 of 534 Restaurants in Salem
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Plan ahead for a wait. But worth it!”
Reviewed August 19, 2012 via mobile

Brielle was a fantastic personality that was only (slightly) surpassed by an amazing meal! Well worth the wait (of course we were a 7 top).

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank travisrosbach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

648 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    497
    100
    34
    8
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Owasso, Oklahoma, United States
Level Contributor
59 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great place for lunch”
Reviewed August 13, 2012

Using my tripadvisor firends' reviews, my friends and I decided to stop in on the way to Bandon Dunes from Portland. This place is a cozy (small) bistro that accomodates about 50 people. There was a wait from the moment we arrived (approx 12pm) until we left (12:45pm) The food was excellent. One friend had Chicken Cordon Bleu sandwich, another had the the Turkey Rachael, and I had a Patty Melt - All were very good. Solid place.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mitch M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Oswego, Oregon, United States
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great place for brunch when you're in Salem”
Reviewed August 11, 2012 via mobile

Great place for brunch when you're in Salem - the food was great, the service was spectacular - if you go - say hi to Stanly.

Hootie Hoo!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Angela S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murfreesboro, Tennessee
Level Contributor
32 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“OMG!!”
Reviewed August 10, 2012

A 45 minute wait! No way! We turned to leave when everyone waiting inside and outside said "it's worth the wait!" Being from out of town, we decided to wait and get the scoop from all the regulars...and we feasted on everything that was recommended! The men tried the different hash dishes, the women had the Eggs Benedict...simply MARVELOUS, DAAHLIN!! A "Must" to try is the Creme Brulee French Toast...OMG! just heavenly! Even the white sausage gravy is perfection! Portions are ample, but you will not want to share! Our server, Kelsi, was on the spot and so pleasant! Wish we had more time to return to this #1 hit!! Oh, and don't forget to have a Bloody Mary with pickled asparagus...the whole "foodie" experience was divine!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tallyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Oregon, United States
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Always a good choice!”
Reviewed July 30, 2012

My family loves coming here. The staff is always friendly, food is always hot and fresh. I do wish they would stay open a tad later. Just an extra hour or two!! :) Try the Incredible flying biscuit! YUMMMM!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Casey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Word of Mouth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing