We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Styrofoam and disappointment”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
La Quinta Inn & Suites
Ranked #4 of 23 Hotels in Salem
La Grande, Oregon
Level Contributor
39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Styrofoam and disappointment”
Reviewed October 28, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at this "hotel" because it was highly rated on trip advisor and my granddaughter liked the pictures of the swimpool on the web page.

Not a place I'd go back to. First, they didn't honor the full reservation I made online. (Fortunately one adult couldn't go so they gave me the rate I expected to pay,)

The room was ok and the beds comfy. Breakfast was ok. Nothing special certainly. Styrofoam plates and cups with plastic utensils. Watery scrambled eggs with sausage.

The pool was aged and cracking; no hot tub. When we tried to take the stairs, there was no door handle into the first floor.

Lots of weird little things that make this more like a motel 6 than a decent place to stay. I'll go with the Phoenix or the double tree next time.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kath541
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LQ6486GM, Manager at La Quinta Inn & Suites, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
We truly appreciate your feedback; it is our goal to provide you with a positive, memorable experience each and every time you stay with us. We apologize that your experience was not what you expected from La Quinta.

Your continued satisfaction and trust in La Quinta are our top priorities. We hope you will be staying with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

586 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    251
    179
    86
    39
    31
See reviews for
234
135
26
134
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
belmont
Level Contributor
71 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2013

The staff is very accommodating, no complaints with staff.
The room was a polished Motel 6, the first thing we noticed walking into the room was the overwhelming smell of air fresher , we had to open the windows and leave the hotel for several hours.
Our night in the bed was horrible, the bed was so uncomfortable, both my husband and I woke up with back aches.
.
The breakfast was mostly bread items, which by my other reviews you know I am not a fan of. They did have hard boiled eggs and some fruit

If not for the smell and the horrible bed the place would have been tolerable

We moved across the street to the Best Western, much better stay!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suzeego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sparks, Nevada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2013 via mobile

We loved our room from the start. Great customer service and they take good care of their guest. We had a bathroom flood from guest upstairs at 4am, however they took good care of us by upgrading us and knocking the price on our last night. The food they provide is the BEST breakfast I've had at any hotel! I recommend staying here! Clean, comfortable, great service, and quiet.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Maegen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LQ6486GM, Manager at La Quinta Inn & Suites, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Thank you so much for your staying with us. I am glad that we were able to solve the problem. We look forward to seeing you in the future. We are here for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mukilteo, Washington
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2013

I love staying here on my way to visit family. ConvenIent access to the I 5 freeway in both directions, clean comfortable and very friendly staff. Breakfast bar has good variety, quality and staff keeps up with cleaning and restocking so that there is plenty of available choices even at the end of breakfast hours.
Beauriful parklike setting in back for a relaxing short walk or just to enjoy our your window.
Costco and other gas statiins right accross the parking lot and streets.
Confortable clean rooms and comfortable beds for a restful sleep.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Helpful?
Thank Pauladrake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LQ6486GM, Manager at La Quinta Inn & Suites, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful comment of our hotel and we look forward to seeing you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2013

We booked this room through Hotels.com for just $59.99 per night. For that price, we had a comfortable, clean room with two queen beds and a basic breakfast bar in the morning. Considering the fact that what we paid was less than many 'basic' hotels, this was a bargain! The level of comfort certainly exceeded the cost. Some of our family members paid $89.00 per night because they booked later than we did. Nonetheless, we all had a comfortable stay.

Setting aside the bargain, the room itself was comfortable and clean. The front desk and custodial staff were all very pleasant and accommodating. The amenities were a little basic: very small exercise room and very small indoor pool with no hot tub. Breakfast was a fairly typical hotel breakfast bar, but the number of options seemed greater than I have seen at other comparable chains.

We would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AmyKolbTucker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LQ6486GM, Manager at La Quinta Inn & Suites, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Thank you for staying at our hotel in Salem, OR. I'm happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel. Thank you for your compliments on our staff. We hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salem hotels
0.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Mill Creek Inn
2.5 mi away
The Grand Hotel in Salem
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Salem
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Phoenix Inn Suites South Salem
0.2 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#10 of 23 in Salem
124 reviews
2.0 mi away
Shilo Inn Suites - Salem
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Quinta Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn & Suites

Property: La Quinta Inn & Suites
Address: 890 Hawthorne Ave SE, I-5 at Exit 253, Salem, OR 97301-9683
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Salem
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Salem
#6 Family Hotel in Salem
#6 Business Hotel in Salem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Quinta Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
100% Non Smoking Hotel Welcome to the La Quinta Inn & Suites Salem OR. Our friendly hotel is located just off I-5 and minutes from Oregon's capitol building. Whether your stay is for business or pleasure, we are sure to have everything you'll need to make your stay in the Salem area a memora...See moreble one. We are 2 miles for Bush House Park, Historic Downtown Salem, the Oregon State Fairgrounds, Willamette University and the Oregon State Capital. Salem AASF - McNary Field, the Salem Armory, the Salem Conference Center and Corban University are around 3 miles from the hotel. Our hotel is conveniently located by many business areas and we have comfortable guest rooms to let you finish up the last few work item. Our complementary Wi-Fi in your room or around the hotel will make it easy to stay in touch with the rest of your team. We have a great Business Center and also have Meeting Space so you can bring your team here to finish up the project. In town to visit the Capital or go downtown? After a day of site seeing or visiting you can relax and unwind in our great guest rooms. You can take a dip in our Indoor Pool or work of the stress in our Fitness Center. Family coming together? We can host them here in our meeting room. After a long day you can relax in your room or grab a bite to eat in one of the nearby restaurants. Get a great night sleep and wake up on the Bright Side in our comfortable guest rooms with all the comforts of home. Relax on our Pillow Top Mattresses while you watch your favorite programs on our 32" Flat Screen HD TV's with Premium Cable Channels. Refrigerators and Microwaves are in all our guest rooms with all the amenities you expect from a La Quinta. Ask for details on our Whirlpool Tub Suites. Start off your day with our complementary Bright Side Breakfast with items like Hot and Cold Cereals, Fresh Fruit, Yogurt, Pastries and Bagels. We also have hot items like Scrambled Eggs, Bacon or Sausage with Biscuits and Gravy. Our almost famous La Quinta Waffles go great with all you can drink Coffee, and assorted Juices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, LaQuinta, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your La Quinta Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn Suites Salem Hotel Salem
Holiday Inn Salem
Salem Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Salem
La Quinta Inn & Suites Salem, Oregon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing