We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Walls were paper thin”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
La Quinta Inn & Suites
Ranked #4 of 24 Hotels in Salem
Reviewed July 17, 2011

I loved the breakfast and the staff was professional and kind. The areas are all clean and there is a lot of parking. The location is ideal for downtown Salem. On the bad side, one of the towels was obviously blood stained in the bathroom and the walls were so thin that it gave me nightmares. I also was on the first floor, in the middle and the foot traffic in the hallway was long into the night and early in the morning. They allowed dogs too which I did not like as the room next to me had an arguing couple and a yappie dog.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank iamannie44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (707)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

685 - 691 of 707 reviews

Reviewed May 30, 2011

My family and I stayed at this hotel for just one night but we wished we could have stayed longer. I could not have asked for better accommodations. The staff was super friendly and accommodating, the rooms were very clean and nice looking. The beds...AMAZING!! super comfortable!! The breakfast was excellent! And they were really good about keeping things stocked up so if something ran out, they were replacing it immediately. Hotel was super easy to find. And its a pet friendly hotel so our puppy could come with us. The ONLY reason I gave my overall score a 4 was because the indoor pool was a little on the chilly side. It is heated but the temp could have been bumped up a notch. My children didn't seem to mind the temp one bit though. So it wasn't too bad. Other than that little detail, I was very happy with our stay and we will be going back any time we stay in the Salem area!! Thank you to all you hard workers at La Quinta in Salem Oregon for making our stay so wonderful!

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cristamcd3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2011

We were at this La Quinta for only one night, but it was a really nice visit. The staff was gracious, helpful, and genuine. It felt very much like they cared about providing a good experience. Our double room was adequate and comfortable, with nothing too crazy-special, nor amiss. We found none of the negative issues mentioned in previous reviews. We didn't have any special requests, but honestly feel that if we had had any issues, they would have been resolved immediately. Although we didn't expect much from the free breakfast, it turned out to be more than we thought it would. We spent Easter morning here, and had all the breakfast requirements of a larger, more impressive restaurant. It was self-serve, but more than sufficient to get us back on the road. We would definitely visit this La Quinta again.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aerojeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2011

Muddy parking lot. Inside of building looked rundown. Elevator needed to be painted do to graffiti. Room was dirty, very dusty and lots of cobwebs. Floors needed to be vacuumed all throughout. Key card did not work properly. Night shift staff was very unprofessional.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 13richie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2011

I have stayed at La Quinta in many places because I usually have a great stay. This time however I stopped in at 10:30 pm the room was freezing I called the night auditor at 12 :35pm to check the heater, he said it was fine, I finally fell asleep very cold around 2:15am and woke up at 7am roasting. I was miserable, great hotel just dont stay on the 4th floor in the middle of the night.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank strouptt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2010

We stayed several nights at this motel while in Salem. It is located close to the freeway and is next to a Cosco. There is a Dennys close by within walking distance. We were in a room with 2 double beds, a refrigerator, and microwave. The hotel provided newspapers if one got to the lobby early enough to get one before they were all gone. The continental breakfast consisted of bagles, yoghurt, cereal, sweet rolls, waffles, eggs & bacon or sausage, juice and coffee. The room was clean and the staff was pleasant.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank globeseeker007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2010

good value, clean, helpful staff and a good breakfast. Right beside Costco so there was some truck noise but we would stay there again. Other comparable hotels were $50 more!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank merle55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salem hotels
0.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Mill Creek Inn
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Salem
2.5 mi away
The Grand Hotel in Salem
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Phoenix Inn Suites Salem
2.1 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#11 of 24 in Salem
188 reviews
4.7 mi away
Best Western Pacific Highway Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Quinta Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn & Suites

Address: 890 Hawthorne Ave SE, I-5 at Exit 253, Salem, OR 97301-9683
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Salem
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Salem
#4 Romantic Hotel in Salem
#6 Business Hotel in Salem
#6 Family Hotel in Salem
Price Range: $83 - $153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Quinta Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
100% Non Smoking Hotel Welcome to the La Quinta Inn & Suites Salem OR. Our friendly hotel is located just off I-5 and minutes from Oregon's capitol building. Whether your stay is for business or pleasure, we are sure to have everything you'll need to make your stay in the Salem area a memora...See moreble one. We are 2 miles for Bush House Park, Historic Downtown Salem, the Oregon State Fairgrounds, Willamette University and the Oregon State Capital. Salem AASF - McNary Field, the Salem Armory, the Salem Conference Center and Corban University are around 3 miles from the hotel. Our hotel is conveniently located by many business areas and we have comfortable guest rooms to let you finish up the last few work item. Our complementary Wi-Fi in your room or around the hotel will make it easy to stay in touch with the rest of your team. We have a great Business Center and also have Meeting Space so you can bring your team here to finish up the project. In town to visit the Capital or go downtown? After a day of site seeing or visiting you can relax and unwind in our great guest rooms. You can take a dip in our Indoor Pool or work of the stress in our Fitness Center. Family coming together? We can host them here in our meeting room. After a long day you can relax in your room or grab a bite to eat in one of the nearby restaurants. Get a great night sleep and wake up on the Bright Side in our comfortable guest rooms with all the comforts of home. Relax on our Pillow Top Mattresses while you watch your favorite programs on our 32" Flat Screen HD TV's with Premium Cable Channels. Refrigerators and Microwaves are in all our guest rooms with all the amenities you expect from a La Quinta. Ask for details on our Whirlpool Tub Suites. Start off your day with our complementary Bright Side Breakfast with items like Hot and Cold Cereals, Fresh Fruit, Yogurt, Pastries and Bagels. We also have hot items like Scrambled Eggs, Bacon or Sausage with Biscuits and Gravy. Our almost famous La Quinta Waffles go great with all you can drink Coffee, and assorted Juices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, LaQuinta, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz and getaroom.com so you can book your La Quinta Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn Suites Salem Hotel Salem
Holiday Inn Salem
Salem Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Salem
La Quinta Inn & Suites Salem, Oregon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing