We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Anniversary Dinner”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Bentley's Grill

Bentley's Grill
Reserve with OpenTable
Bentley's Grill is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #5 of 533 Restaurants in Salem
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Bar scene, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Trade St.
Description: Located in downtown Salem within the Salem Grand Hotel, Bentley's Grill Restaurant offers fine dining and a Northwest menu in an elegant yet casual atmosphere. Bentley's has a full bar and wine tasting in a comfortable lounge.
Redmond, Oregon
Level Contributor
86 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Anniversary Dinner”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2014

We had a lovely 36th anniversary dinner at Bentley's Grill. Our hotel (the Grand Hotel in Salem) provided a 10% discount card. It was nice to walk across the lobby to the restaurant.
Our server was Bailey. She was attentive and knowledgeable about the menu.
We started with Baked Goat Cheese & Romesco
With toasted garlic ciabatta. It was served in a small skillet and was quite tasty.
I had the daily special: Steelhead grilled and served over parmesan risotto with fresh vegetables. It was delicious.
Husband had OREGON ROCKFISH: Fresh fillet topped with parmesan-herbed bread crumbs,served with lemon beurre blanc, risotto and seasonal vegetables. He ate every bite.
We shared dessert: Currant Bread Pudding with spiced rum anglaise and coffee ice cream. The pudding was house made and yummy. The restaurant comped our dessert as it was our anniversary. Very classy.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lorri W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

350 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    142
    135
    54
    16
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Salem
Level Contributor
32 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2014

We want to thank Bentley's Grill for help making our 25th wedding anniversary celebrations wonderful. We reserved the Wine Nook for Happy Hour. Soraida Cross thought of every little detail. Our welcome drinks were ready for our guests when they walked in the door. Everyone loved the appetizers and martinis. The Crab Cakes and Coconut Shrimp were one of my favorites. We love happy hour at Bentley's Grill especially Tuesday Tinis!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cindy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
42 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A nice happy hour”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2014

WE didn't eat here but sat at the bar and enjoyed some wine and bar apps during the happy hour. The apps were nothing special and not such a deal for the quantity, but about what we expected. It's a nice place and friendly people, staff.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Stratch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
734 reviews
354 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 200 helpful votes
“Great happy hour”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2014

Stopped in for a drink and we ended up having dinner off the happy hour menu. Drinks were very good and the food equally as good.

Happy hour is four to six with drink and appetizer specials. Bar is very comfortable with good mixed drinks and nice selection of beers on tap.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank McWett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern Oregon
Level Contributor
53 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“10% Off coupon for The Grand Hotel patrons”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2014

After a busy day of travel my family arrived at Bentley's Grill for dinner around 7pm on a Wednesday. There was no one else waiting to be seated, and we were seated promptly by a pleasant hostess.

The large bar, high ceilings, and fire pit, all combine to give a warm and inviting, contemporary lodge feel. The booth where we were seated was comfortable and the partisans high enough that those seated on the other side couldn't be seen or heard.

Because there was a convention in the hotel there was a long table next to us which seated approximately 40 people. The server in our area was very busy with that table, so we thought our service might be delayed, but Bentley's had brought in other wait staff from catering to help. While the gal who helped us didn't seem to know how to take orders; she asked us several times to clarify what we wanted and didn't ask things like 'how would you like that steak prepared', she did arrive with the right food and drink so it was all good.

The prices are higher than average at Bentley's, but the 10% Off coupon from The Grand Hotel that we received at check in was helpful.

The menu isn't very big, but what we had was above average. I ordered the Bistro Steak which came with garlic mashed potatoes and grilled veggies. The steak wasn't tender, but it was flavorful and cooked just right. The potatoes were great as were the seasonal vegetables that were not overcooked. My drink from the bar (a Cosmopolitan) was excellent! We also had appetizers: Coconut Shrimp and Mac n' Cheese. Both were tasty.

The ambiance adds to your enjoyment of the meal at this place, and it can accommodate small or large parties. It's definitely nice to have it in The Grand Hotel, particularly after a long day of travel when you don't want to trek out to find a place to eat.

NOTE: Bentley's also provides room service to guests staying at The Grand Hotel.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tartallini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bentley's Grill also viewed

 

Been to Bentley's Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing