We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Yummy Pulled Pork Sandwich and Sweet Potato Fries - Worth 2 Visits!”
Review of Bentley's Grill

Bentley's Grill
Reserve with OpenTable
Bentley's Grill is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #5 of 534 Restaurants in Salem
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Bar scene, Business meetings, Romantic, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Drinks, Late Night, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Trade St.
Description: Located in downtown Salem within the Salem Grand Hotel, Bentley's Grill Restaurant offers fine dining and a Northwest menu in an elegant yet casual atmosphere. Bentley's has a full bar and wine tasting in a comfortable lounge.
Oakland, California, United States
Level Contributor
98 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Yummy Pulled Pork Sandwich and Sweet Potato Fries - Worth 2 Visits!”
Reviewed July 31, 2014

Stopped at Bentley's for lunch. The place was pretty empty and so there was no wait. I had the pulled pork sandwich, which was very yummy. The sweet potato fries were very good - not soggy like they often are. My lunch companion had the Reuben and liked it so much that he insisted that we return the next day so that he could have another one! Bentley's is located in the Grand Hotel, which in turn is located in downtown Salem. All in all, a very good experience.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jean Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

360 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    147
    138
    55
    17
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
199 reviews
123 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Atmosphere nice food dry”
Reviewed July 22, 2014 via mobile

I had a dinner meeting here during a week night. The service was quick & pleasant. We were served bread & butter with our drinks. The food was nothing special for the price. The free range chicken was very dry & tasteless. The vegetables were bland. It was very difficult to eat because there was no moisture to the meal. We opted out of dessert. This place might be good for meeting folks for drinks or dessert, but main meal could use a new chef.

Helpful?
2 Thank aquaH2Omama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
84 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Pleasant meal, but high priced”
Reviewed July 16, 2014

As with many of the patrons at the restaurant, we were staying at the Grand Hotel. The grill has a traditional look - dark woods, highly polished, large bar, etc. We initially went in for drinks, not intending to stay for dinner. A martini for me, a bourbon for him - big city prices for small pours and modest skills. However, our waitstaff was charming and delightful, which always makes the experience pleasant. She encouraged us to stay for dinner. We enjoyed the seared ahi - tender and nicely grilled - and a burger - following the current trend of ridiculously big, but flavorful. Again, our waitstaff was personable and attentive. We finished the meal sharing a chocolate flourless torte, at the waitstaff recommendation. It was rather pedestrian, not outstanding and not worth the added expense. The bill came and was expectedly large, reflecting prices common in high-end large cities - seemed a bit far-reaching for a convention center in Salem. A pleasant experience for everyone except the wallet!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pippin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“server”
Reviewed July 2, 2014

server brought me the wrong food twice and my hamburger was not cooked well I asked for well done and it was still pink do not belive I will be going there again

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Charles H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
118 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Nice atmosphere”
Reviewed June 27, 2014 via mobile

See separate review of the Grand hotel, which is where the restaurant is located. It has a very nice atmosphere, with fire pit and dark wood. The food was okay not great. The shrimp contrail has too much horseradish, could not eat it. The cheese quesadilla was very good though. For the price I think I will try some other places in Salem for fine dining.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Gmickers11661
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bentley's Grill also viewed

 

Been to Bentley's Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing