We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another great stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Shilo Inn Suites - Salem
Ranked #12 of 24 Hotels in Salem
Reviewed August 13, 2013

Once again life took us to Salem Oregon. We chose to stay here because we had stayed here before. 3 relaxing nights and we are headed back in a week for another night. When in Salem we always stay here when we want a quiet value based placed to stay.

Room Tip: Tell your children this is a Hotel and have them be quiet. Their running and yelling in the halls i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 314Fred314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shilo I, General Manager at Shilo Inn Suites - Salem, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2013

Dear 314Fred314,

Thank you for the kind words . Our staff enjoys hearing reviews like this one .
They work hard to take care of our guests, and when it shows we all are happy.

Sincerely,

Pam Urben-General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (227)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

139 - 145 of 227 reviews

Reviewed August 11, 2013

We had to make an emergency 8-hour trip to Salem at last minute, arriving at 10:30 p.m. August 8. The lady at the night desk went beyond expectation, got us checked in, and made our registration quick and painless. Room was up-scale with sitting room separate from king bed. Staff helped plan our route to our destination and found it without a hitch. Had no time for breakfast, but from looks as we passed by, was plenty adequate. Would come back if we had to repeat the trip again.

Room Tip: Our room in back and on the 4th floor was quiet, very little city lights at night, very roomy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ErnieIvy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shilo I, General Manager at Shilo Inn Suites - Salem, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2013

Dear Ernielvy N,

Thank you for taking a moment to leave your comments. We take alot of pride in our staff and hotel, and are always pleased to hear that we can make a stressful time a little less stressful.

We look forward to having you stay with us the next time you are in Salem.

Sincerely,

Pam Urben-General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2013

We recently stayed at the Shilo Inn "Suites" in Salem, OR for a business trip for him & leisure trip for my daughter & me. This is a very, very dated property. We were very disappointed in the overall cleanliness of the room, elevators and especially the pool area. There were people lurking around the covered parking area, smoking, every time we went to our car. Additionally, there was a medical marijuana clinic directly in front of the hotel.
If you are looking for family accommodations in Salem, I would suggest the renovated Doubletree or the new Hampton Inn.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Autumn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shilo I, General Manager at Shilo Inn Suites - Salem, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2013

Dear Autumn W,

Thank you for taking the time to share your concerns regarding your recent visit to the Shilo Inn Suites Hotel in Salem. It is disturbing when we learn a guest has a poor experience, so we sincerely appreciate guest feedback that allows us the opportunity to take appropriate action when necessary and maintain the high service levels you expect from Shilo Inn’s

We are currently in the process of updating rooms and I have also spoken with the housekeeping department regarding attention to detail in both the rooms and common areas.

I hope that given another chance in the future your experience with Shilo Inns would be a much better one.

Sincerely,

Pam Urben
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2013

Comfortable, clean, and with a friendly staff to boot. Our family of four slept well in our quiet, spacious room. Nice touch: real glass cups and ceramic mugs. Breakfast was okay, but coffee was good. This chain is now on our A list.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Louise W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shilo I, General Manager at Shilo Inn Suites - Salem, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2013

Dear Louise W,

Thank you for your gracious review of our property. We are delighted to hear that your family was able to enjoy the spacious accommodations and the extra touches that feel more like home. We look forward to your staying with us again in the future.

Sincerely,

Pam Urben
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

Close to the Oregon State Fairgrounds, this three floor hotel also has easy access to I-5. The rooms are large and clean but becoming dated. Our junior suite had two TVs but one was an old tube TV. The bathroom sink (with pull/push faucet) is outside the bathroom.The king bed was very comfortable and lots of pillows.
You notice the chlorine smell of the indoor pool as you enter the lobby. The breakfast area is small with about 4 small tables. The hot items include waffles and oatmeal.
As others had mentioned the housekeeping door on the lobby level should be kept closed by the (slow) elevator instead of a sign saying "Do not enter, staff only".
Overall it worked for us.

Room Tip: Even numbered rooms face north and the front parking lot and odd numbered rooms face the back trees...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PDX-Traveler-Guy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shilo I, General Manager at Shilo Inn Suites - Salem, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2013

Dear PDX-Traveler-Guy,

Thank you for your gracious review of our hotel during your recent stay in Salem . We are happy that overall you had a good experience and enjoyed the large and clean rooms with lots of amenities.

We also thank you for making us aware of the issues regarding the smell of chlorine, noise from the laundry room etc which the staff are attending to.

Sincerely,

Pam Urben
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2013

The price was good and the room was very clean. Hotel is in desperate need of updating. The guy that checked us in was very nice but the girl at the front desk in the morning was very unprofessional. Way under dressed and on her cell phone at the counter. Breakfast was good however, the door between the breakfast room and housekeeping should remain closed. Very unprofessional to listen to their personal conversations and smell the cigarette smoke while making breakfast. All in all it was a nice stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a room up front so you don't have to look down at the neighbors junky yards.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank culpepperbaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shilo I, General Manager at Shilo Inn Suites - Salem, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2013

Dear culpepperbaker,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments about your recent experience at the Salem Shilo Inn, and for calling your concerns to my attention. The best way to measure our performance is through the comments of our Guests, so your feedback is important and very much appreciated.

I have spoken with my staff and given another opportunity to serve you, I feel confident that your next visit to this Shilo will be both pleasant and satisfying.

Sincerely,

Pam Urben
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2013

I stayed here with my daughter and her children and although the hotel décor is dated, the room was large and clean. The indoor pool and hot tub were very handy although they don't have places available to set your things. The breakfast was ok; seating is limited, the gravy for biscuits and gravy was cold, but we used the microwave to take care of it. The staff was very friendly. I felt that we paid more for the hotel than we should have, but there were several events happening in Salem and all hotels were booked.

Room Tip: You may want a room near the stairs as the elevator is very slow. (The stairs are accessed from outs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lori S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salem hotels
2 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites
2.4 mi away
The Grand Hotel in Salem
0.1 mi away
Red Lion Hotel Salem
Red Lion Hotel Salem
#9 of 24 in Salem
945 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Phoenix Inn Suites Salem
2 mi away
Best Western Plus Mill Creek Inn
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#11 of 24 in Salem
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shilo Inn Suites - Salem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shilo Inn Suites - Salem

Address: 3304 Market St NE, Salem, OR 97301-1818
Location: United States > Oregon > Salem
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 24 Hotels in Salem
Price Range: $92 - $141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Shilo Inn Suites - Salem 2.5*
Number of rooms: 89
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Otel, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Shilo Inn Suites - Salem reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shilo Inn Salem Hotel Salem
Salem Shilo Inn
Shilo Inn Suites - Salem Oregon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing