We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place and staff. GM is a hardworker for company, staff and guest !”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Crossland Economy Studios - Salem - North
Ranked #19 of 23 Hotels in Salem
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great place and staff. GM is a hardworker for company, staff and guest !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2012

We will be back. Next time with our friends and family for our wedding in Woodburn. We feel we can refer this company for guest that are out of town and know they will have a great experience. The prices are very reasonable! The GM EVEN CLEANED OUR ROOM TO ALLOW A HOUSEKEEPER TO GO HOME AFTRR A 10 HR. SHIFT. WE CHECKED IN AT 9 PM . WE CHECKED OUT AT 11am AND HE WAS STILL WORKING WITH A SMILE !!!!!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle_lee75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristopherTM, Owner at Crossland Economy Studios - Salem - North, responded to this review, July 24, 2012
Thank you so very much for your glowing review of Crossland Salem - North. Whenever I read comments like yours it always gives me such great pleasure. My entire staff strives to make every guest's stay totally enjoyable, and our greatest reward is validation that we've done just that. I will be certain to personally thank Hans, the GM for taking such great care of you and his employees. Please know that we would be thrilled to have you again as our guest should your travel needs bring you back to our area. Once again, thanks for all of your very kind words.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    14
    17
    19
    26
See reviews for
15
26
24
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hope, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2012

i don't think photos online represent this hotel. The room i stayed in was dirty and run down.. maybe an older version of the photos you see online. No shampoo/conditioner. The tv wouldn't work properly. i would turn the volume down and it'd change the channel. Very old tv. Bed was hard as a rock and i wouldn't walk on the carpet without shoes. Doors open to the outside, and i could hear everyone coming and going. cranked the ac, so i could block it out.

However, having said all that. If you are just someone that needs a quick sleep and off you go.. no comfort or extras.. then it works. you get what you pay for. cheap. Don't bring kids to this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank shar s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristopherTM, Manager at Crossland Economy Studios - Salem - North, responded to this review, July 18, 2012
I recently received a copy of your review of the Crossland Salem - North. Our company prides itself on providing great service and great rooms at great rates, which is why I was so disappointed to read your post. Please accept my most sincere apologies.

We specialize in providing clean, comfortable rooms at an affordable price. That means we don't set out extra amenities like shampoo, lotions, shower caps, etc, in our rooms. However, our hotel does have a limited supply of sundries at the front desk, and we happily dispense them free of charge upon request. Operating in this way allows us to continue to provide you our great rooms at exceptional rates. I take seriously your concern, however, and assure you that we work very hard to explain exactly what we offer to our guests before they arrive. I am, of course, very sorry that we were unable to make our offerings more clear to you before you checked in, and hope that you will keep our hotel in mind when your future needs are for an accommodation like ours.

It's not common that we get the sort of feedback you provided, and although it is discouraging to read, it will help us make our hotel even better in the future. Let me apologize again that your stay was not completely satisfying, and assure you that we will continue to listen to our guests in forums like this one or directly (please visit our website and click the Contact Us link at the bottom of the page). I hope we have addressed your concern satisfactorily, and that you would give us the pleasure of having you as a guest again at this hotel or any other Extended Stay Hotels(sm) brand location in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Salem hotels

Bellingham, Washington
Level Contributor
429 reviews
151 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2012

I am generally a very generous reviewer, but this place is really not acceptable for most people. The bedding had burn holes in it (non-smoking room), the blanket was ripped to rags, (how the maid could think it was OK to put it on a guest bed is beyond me), there are dime-sized holes in the curtains, (cigarette or bullet holes?), the mattress cover doesn't fit the mattress, and so on. There is a security guard sitting in his car in the parking lot "trying to keep the place safe." Old, broken-down, sad. It was cheap, but even so, not worth the price. Try something else.

Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank josanpu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristopherTM, Manager at Crossland Economy Studios - Salem - North, responded to this review, July 18, 2012
I recently received a copy of your review of the Crossland Salem - North. Our company prides itself on providing great service and great rooms at great rates, which is why I was so disappointed to read your post. Please accept my most sincere apologies.

As this hotel’s manager, I challenge our staff to continually improve the experience of our guests, from the cleanliness of our rooms, to the courteous professionalism of our staff. Unfortunately, in your situation, it is clear that we were unsuccessful in achieving these goals. Given our belief that guests like you are our most valuable asset, this failure is particularly troubling.

Your review has caused us to take a serious look at the systems we have in place to handle our day to day operations and we will be making modifications as appropriate.

It's not common that we get the sort of feedback you provided, and although it is discouraging to read, it will help us make our hotel even better in the future. Let me apologize again that your stay was not completely satisfying, and assure you that we will continue to listen to our guests in forums like this one or directly (please visit our website and click the Contact Us link at the bottom of the page). I hope we have addressed your concern satisfactorily, and that you would give us the pleasure of having you as a guest again at this hotel or any other Extended Stay Hotels(sm) brand location in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseburg, Oregon
Level Contributor
177 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2012

I have stayed here many many times. There is nothing fancy about this particular Crossland and you need a GPS to find it. Staff is always great, the rooms are clean and the kitchenette is a blessing. Give it a try, if you are not looking for glitz, this is the place.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the back facing the highway, trust me on this.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Harleyca100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_11525, General Manager at Crossland Economy Studios - Salem - North, responded to this review, August 31, 2012
Thank you for taking time to write a review regarding your recent stay at our hotel. We appreciate your confirmation that we have succeeded in our efforts to provide you with a clean, comfortable place to stay.

We look forward to serving you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2012

Comfortable beds, adequately sized rooms. Location is beside highway. City itself isn't any great shakes and it was nice to be a bit away from the main drag.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RyanP85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristopherTM, Manager at Crossland Economy Studios - Salem - North, responded to this review, July 18, 2012
It was very kind of you to for take the time to publish such a positive review of your stay at the Crossland Salem - North. It's always satisfying to read positive feedback from our valued guests, like you. Although some companies run extravagant advertising campaigns for their hotels, we believe that the best kind of marketing is the public praise we get from our millions of happy customers. That's why the biggest investment we make is in our customers. Our company motto is "Excellence Every Day, Every Way", and my promise to you is that we will continue to operate according to this practice.
It would, of course, be our pleasure for you to repeat your experience with us in the future. Thank you once again, and feel free to reach out to us directly if we can assist you in any of your future travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2012

A handy location for all your needs. Rooms with table and chair for paper work. Stove top for cooking. Personable service for your needs.

Room Tip: Two room sizes. One family size and one for solo or couples
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristopherTM, Manager at Crossland Economy Studios - Salem - North, responded to this review, July 18, 2012
It was very kind of you to for take the time to publish such a positive review of your stay at the Crossland Salem - North. It's always satisfying to read positive feedback from our valued guests, like you. Although some companies run extravagant advertising campaigns for their hotels, we believe that the best kind of marketing is the public praise we get from our millions of happy customers. That's why the biggest investment we make is in our customers. As you know, our unique suites are designed with you in mind. Offering amenities like a full refrigerator, stovetop, in-room wifi access, personalized voicemail, and on-premise laundry in exceptionally priced rooms has led us to be the premier extended stay option in the industry. And with guests like you, we will continue to thrive.

It would, of course, be our pleasure for you to repeat your experience with us in the future. Thank you once again, and feel free to reach out to us directly if we can assist you in any of your future travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2012

We travel to do dog training and competition so having a room with a kitchen helps so that we do not have to leave our dog while we go somewhere to eat especially if it is hot and the dog cannot stay in the car.
Room was clean and everything worked - but my friend's refrigerator froze her milk so she could not have her breakfast in the morning. The dial was missing to adjust it.
Bed was firm but I like it that way. Very nice shower set-up. Clerk was friendly and helpful.
I wish hotels could also rate guests! I clean up after my dog but another person did not and her dog did his poop right in front of my unit. There is no excuse for bad dog owner behavior! It ruins things for everyone else. No wonder hotels charge extra.
Also there was a noisy altercation by some other people in the middle of the night that woke us up but again that is not the hotel's fault.
Nice and inexpensive accommodations.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CanineTraveler2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager-RDO, Manager at Crossland Economy Studios - Salem - North, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
I recently received a copy of your review of the Crossland Salem - North.  Our company prides itself on excellent guest service, so it was gratifying to read your feedback about our staff.  I would like to give you my most heartfelt apology regarding the part of your stay that was not satisfactory.
It is my pleasure to provide an explanation regarding the issue you described.  Every part of our hotel, from the in-room features, to the design of our guest corridors, to the personalized voicemail, is an integral part to creating a "home away from home" experience for our guests.  Since we recognize that a quiet, relaxing environment is critical to this goal, we have several systems to ensure that noise from within or outside the hotel doesn't interfere with your stay.   Although rare, there are instances where a guest may hear noises from the surrounding area.  Whenever we are informed of such disturbances, our standard operating procedure is to promptly identify the source of that disturbance and resolve it.  I take full responsibility that we were unable to resolve this situation to your satisfaction during your stay.  The refrigerator has also been replaced in this room.
It's not common that we get the sort of feedback you provided, and although it is discouraging to read, it will help us make our hotel even better in the future.  Let me apologize again that your stay was not completely satisfying, and assure you that we will continue to listen to our guests in forums like this one or directly (please visit our website and click the Contact Us link at the bottom of the page).  I hope we have addressed your concern satisfactorily, and that you would give us the pleasure of having you as a guest again at this hotel or any other Extended Stay Hotels(sm) brand location in the future.        
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salem hotels
3.5 mi away
Howard Johnson Inn Salem
1.5 mi away
Days Inn Black Bear
Days Inn Black Bear
#14 of 23 in Salem
3.5 of 5 bubbles 491 reviews
1.2 mi away
Best Western Pacific Highway Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Mill Creek Inn
1.5 mi away
Shilo Inn Suites - Salem
1.4 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#11 of 23 in Salem
3.5 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crossland Economy Studios - Salem - North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crossland Economy Studios - Salem - North

Property: Crossland Economy Studios - Salem - North
Address: 3535 Fisher Rd NE, Salem, OR 97305-1419 (Formerly Crossland - Salem)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Salem
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 23 Hotels in Salem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Crossland Economy Studios - Salem - North 2*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Crossland Studios - Salem - North. We are located just 6 miles from the Salem Municipal Airport and 4 miles from the Salem Convention Center. We are also 3 miles from Willamette University and just a mile away from Chemeketa Community College. Our hotel is designed especially for longer stays with studios featuring kitchens or kitchenettes and plenty of work space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crossland Economy Studios - Salem - North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Extended Stay America Salem
Crossland Economy Studios - Salem - North Oregon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing