We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Too close to the highway”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel North Salem
Ranked #4 of 24 Hotels in Salem
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed April 17, 2014

If staying at this hotel I would request a room away from the highway. The room and the staff are very good and the price is also good but noise level from I-5 is all night long. The breakfast was a plus and hot. I thought the staff was very friendly and had no complaints about them at all.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
1  Thank Tammy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeEstaD, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel North Salem, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2014

Thank you for your review on your recent stay! It always nice to hear good things about the service you received. I do understand that being close to freeway can make it difficult to sleep, so on your next stay please reach out to me personally and I will do what I can to make sure you're away from the freeway. Again, thank you for your feedback and we look forward to seeing you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (416)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

313 - 319 of 416 reviews

Reviewed April 16, 2014

Hot free chocolate chip cookies on check-in, what's not to like?

This Doubletree is older, but has been nicely upgraded and maintained and is run with a quiet efficiency. Our room was large and clean, with a truely delightful older bathtub (deep and plenty of hot water) and a non-flow restricting shower head. We arrived late to find that there had been a missed communication about our need for a feather-free room. The front desk clerk said that there was no housekeeper on the premises but that she would be up shortly. Within 10 minutes she changed out the down pillows and comforter. We had another engagement in the morning and were unable to take advantage of the breakfast, but it looked very good. There is also free wi-fi and free parking. The only downside we saw was the location right up against I-5.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Opera_lover054
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeEstaD, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel North Salem, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2014

Thank you for your kind feedback of our DoubleTree by Hilton hotel. We strive to make all of our guests feel at home and it looks like our front desk agent was able to do that. We value your feedback and hope to see you again the next time you are in town!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2014

This 'higher end' hotel did not meet up to other Double Trees hotels Ive stayed in, but it seemed better than other Hotels in the area. Try to stay on the south west corner, all other sides of the Hotel are on I-5 and a very busy noisy street.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank James W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeEstaD, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel North Salem, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2014

Thank you for sharing your thoughts on your recent stay. We value your feedback and strive to make every stay enjoyable. While it sounds like your stay was satisfactory, we would love the opportunity to make it great. If there is anything you would like to discuss further please contact me anytime. We look forward to gettting an opportunity to "wow" you on your next stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2014

You shoud be ashamed to call this property a DoubleTree. This property is nothing more than a done over Hampton Inn. Guest rooms are old and wore out. Very plain and unexciting. Bathrooms are small and hard to navaigate in. No full kitchen or staff in the hotel make this a very poor value for a Doubletree. Food was aweful, that of a Hampton Inn, plastic eggs, putty for breakfast gravy and microwaved biscuits hard enough to hurt eomeone with. Wait staff is very young, unprofessional, uncaring. Tattos and body pearcing exposed, untucked clothing, untiddy hair, and the overall apprearance of not caring and just their to collect a check.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Brian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeEstaD, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel North Salem, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2014

Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay at our hotel. I understand that your stay did not reach your expectations and for that I am truly sorry. Our PressNW cafe is different from a full service restaurant and I understand how that can be discouraging when you expected something else. We truly value your feedback and hope that you will give us another chance they next time you are in Salem.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2014

don't stay for business and have your employer pay for you because when you arrive they ask for a personal card to charge expenditures above and beyond the room but they ended up charging the whole room to my card. personal stay would be great

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Shawn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeEstaD, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel North Salem, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2014

Thank you for your Trip Advisor review. Your comments and concerns are invaluable. I have discussed the billing issues with the staff to make sure that there are no confusions in the future. We strive to make every guest happy before they leave the hotel and I apologize that that was not your experience. I hope we can have a future opportunity to change your mind and show you the quality service we provide here.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2014

Best looking hotel in the area...rooms were clean, lobby was nice. However, this is undoubtedly the most unprofessional staff (front desk, reservation) that I have ever dealt with. Very rude...If you are with a large group of children you may want to think twice before staying at this hotel. Staff yelled at the children in the pool area stating they were being to loud and guest were complaining of splashing. Now I would much rather have a bunch of children playing in the pool vice the the lobby and general areas. Again, beautiful hotel...clean and modern. However, the staff needs to be reprimanded for their unprofessional and rude behavior.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
1  Thank curt c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2014

We tried making reservations for this hotel and the staff was extremely rude on the phone. The first time I called, they hung up on me, the next time I called the lady was extremely rude stating she couldn't find the block of rooms that had been booked for us and didn't understand what I didn't get about that. I had to reserve online because she still would not help me. They put a card in our room for a cookie, my son went to get one and of course they were out. The front desk staff yelled at the kids when they were playing in the pool. One parent went to find out what the problem was and the staff backed off once the parent asked for the manager. Breakfast is 9.95 a person so we went across the street to mcdonalds and got breakfast. Our room was nice, but they really need to train their staff in customer service. It stinks!!!

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roadtrippen11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salem hotels
2.5 mi away
The Grand Hotel in Salem
1.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Salem
2 mi away
Best Western Plus Mill Creek Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites
4.5 mi away
Phoenix Inn Suites Salem
0.2 mi away
Red Lion Hotel Salem
Red Lion Hotel Salem
#8 of 24 in Salem
935 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel North Salem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel North Salem

Address: 1590 Weston Ct NE, Salem, OR 97301-1846 (Formerly Phoenix Inn Suites North Salem)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Salem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Salem
#4 Business Hotel in Salem
Price Range: $120 - $260 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel North Salem 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At our DoubleTree by Hilton hotel in Salem, Oregon, we are conveniently situated just off of I-5 in the heart of the Willamette Valley. Our Salem hotel is just 60 miles south of Portland and only 15 minutes from Oregon's famous wine country. We also offer close proximity to Salem's major business districts and government offices. On your next stay, warm up to a freshly baked cookie and our welcoming staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Kognitiv US Corp, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel North Salem reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Phoenix Inn Suites North Salem Hotel Salem
Phoenix Hotel North Salem
DoubleTree By Hilton Hotel North Salem Oregon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing