We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A tad noisy when facing east (freeway), but overall a very pleasant stay.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel North Salem
Ranked #5 of 23 Hotels in Salem
GreenLeadersBronze level
Central Point, Oregon
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A tad noisy when facing east (freeway), but overall a very pleasant stay.”
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Scored a great rate on Hotwire and stayed two nights. Clean property. Requested two beds instead of one at check-in and was accommodated with a smile. Took my three warm chocolate chip / walnut cookies back to the car with the key and unloaded. Room was bright and I noticed that the A/C was very quiet. Enjoyed having the microwave and fridge. LG TV was a little funky, as it would constantly brighten / dim. It was usually too dark. the only other negative I noticed was how dirty our socks got in just a few minutes. The carpets could use shampooing more often.

We used the pool and hot tub for a couple hours one day and it was great. It was a nice smallish pool with 3 ft. on one end and 5 on the other. My 4 year-old could stand in the shallow end and walk around. It was maintained well and seemed to be well chlorinated, clear and warm. the hot tub was just the right temperature and also clean. Towels were large and plentiful in the pool area. their exercise room was very nice too. I appreciated the filtered water dispenser in there too.

Would stay there again.

Room Tip: Try not to face the freeway. It is quite busy and loud throughout the night. A/C drowned out most of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chrisgrand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

371 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    148
    121
    67
    27
    8
See reviews for
116
72
22
142
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
112 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2013

Nice foyer includes a couple of chess tables. The 2-queen bedroom was clean, spacious. Microwave and fridge were great. I was relieved that the sofa unfolded into a bed, since we were traveling with 2 teenaged boys. Good internet access, friendly staff. We have a kid with a nut allergy so we had to decline the cookies, but were cheerfully offered apples in their place. The pool and exercise room looked great, well-maintained. Very friendly staff.

The layout is best for the business traveler. Noticeable shortage of towel hangers in the bath room, impractical for more than one person, had to leave damp towels around the room for lack of anywhere to hang them in the bathroom. Lack of sink in the bathroom (only one sink available, in the main room) makes logistics complicated with 2 kids in tow. Self-serve $5 breakfast was fine but not outstanding, particularly in comparison with other Hilton properties.

Overall a good value.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JSWKingsfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, TX
Level Contributor
27 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2013

Friendly, helpful staff. Clean, comfortable rooms. Breakfast has a $5 surcharge, but the quality of the items is higher than at other hotels where breakfast is free. The cookie upon check-in is a nice touch. Salem is a very nice town. I really enjoyed my time there. Lots to explore. If I return to Salem, I will be staying at this hotel again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lch86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redmond, United States
1 review
Reviewed August 20, 2013

My experience at the Double Tree in Salem Oregon, was perfect. Gorgeous rooms and great staff and the bed was very comfortable...I had left my temperpedic pillow at home, and realized the next morning how comfortable I slept without my special pillos. I love thier cookies! I plan on trying other Double Tree hotels to compare in the near future.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Daina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Klamath Falls, United States
1 review
Reviewed August 19, 2013

I have stayed at this particular Hotel several times. It is a wonderful place, neat, quiet and the staff are terrific. I was a bit disappointed this time however because they now charge for breakfast. When I travel and stay at a hotel it is always nice to have a complimentary breakfast before leaving, especially when you pay good money. Over all, I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Michele R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Bend, United States
1 review
Reviewed August 19, 2013

This hotel room was literally as big as a studio apartment. Super pet friendly! The room was as glamorous as the lobby and all of the staff were so very kind. We felt welcome, comfortable and sad when it was time to leave. We could have lived in that room! It was beautiful and pleasant and the bed was oh so comfy!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Jocelyn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2013

this hotel is good for those who wants to have quality rooms and service despite the distance from Portland. it's good choose with some local coffee shops around the area. the location is away from the city crowed and you will have a good rest and sleep

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shehriahop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salem hotels
2.5 mi away
The Grand Hotel in Salem
1.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Salem
2.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Mill Creek Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites
1.9 mi away
Residence Inn Salem
Residence Inn Salem
#8 of 23 in Salem
190 reviews
0.2 mi away
Red Lion Hotel Salem
Red Lion Hotel Salem
#9 of 23 in Salem
833 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel North Salem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel North Salem

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel North Salem
Address: 1590 Weston Court NE, Salem, OR 97301-1846 (Formerly Phoenix Inn Suites North Salem)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Salem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Salem
#4 Business Hotel in Salem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel North Salem 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At our DoubleTree by Hilton hotel in Salem, Oregon, we are conveniently situated just off of I-5 in the heart of the Willamette Valley. Our Salem hotel is just 60 miles south of Portland and only 15 minutes from Oregon's famous wine country. We also offer close proximity to Salem's major business districts and government offices. On your next stay, warm up to a freshly baked cookie and our welcoming staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel North Salem reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Phoenix Inn Suites North Salem Hotel Salem
Phoenix Hotel North Salem
DoubleTree By Hilton Hotel North Salem Oregon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing