We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel North Salem
Ranked #5 of 24 Hotels in Salem
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed April 24, 2013

Nice and clean. Rooms looks recently remodeled and smells fresh. free continental breakfast, friendly knowledgeable staff. Close to some of the site seing places, easy access to highway. definitely would stay on my next visit

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Ramana N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (420)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

408 - 414 of 420 reviews

Reviewed April 22, 2013

Everything was decent here, the wifi was a situation that was not handled- staff was little help and just when you think you had logged on it would kick you off. We had several devices to choose from and none of them worked.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Courtney B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2013

The hotel is beautiful and conveniently located in Salem. Having two queen beds and a sofa bed was a nice treat for three weary travelers. Our cookies were warm out of the oven. The beds were comfy and the room was very nice. The downside was breakfast - no proteins to be found. And the gravy for biscuits and gravy was more like warm yogurt. I would stay again, but would hope the breakfast could be improved.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shellih2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2013

We stayed one night here for a business meeting. We had a room with 2 queen beds. The room was quiet, very clean and comfortable. The staff was friendly and helpful on check-in. The warm cookie hit the spot! Breakfast in the morning was good with a choice of cold and hot cereals, bagels, waffles and biscuits and gravy. The coffee was very good, better than most hotel coffee. We attended a meeting in the conference room. The food was great, I am not sure if the hotel provided the food or if it was catered in from another source. Would stay here again if needing a hotel in Salem.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marcra57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2013

This used to be a Phoenix Inn and Suites. My husband and I have been regular customers of this particular property and used to always enjoy our stays. Unfortunately, this trip to Salem ended up costing us much more money than what we usually pay to stay in this building. I was completely dissatisfied with the remodel on the King Suites. They did not have the pool/spa area open and without any notice on-line nor was there any reduction in nightly rights to compensate for the fact that the amenities that we were paying for was currently unavailable. If this wasn’t bad enough, the new management changed their breakfast menu, which used to include eggs, sausage and other breakfast protein items. Now the only thing available is high calorie, high carbohydrates that people with certain medical conditions are not able to eat. Again, we were not compensated for the fact that we were unable to take advantage of their morning breakfast.
The front desk staff was very polite, but unable to make our experience any better and their only suggestion was to fill out a comment card to their manager.
I am very disappointed in my experience and I seriously doubt that I will spend $136.00 per night at that location again. I would much prefer to drive to Tigard and stay at the Embassy Suites!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lori B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2013

The hotel is a newly renovated property. It became a Hilton property in November. It is new and meets all the expectations of a Hilton location. The "kitchen"/bar is re-heated pre-prepared food that is brought in, but is actaully not too bad. They have Pannis and other sandwiches and salads and the like. It wasnt great, but it was fine for a late night sandwich. If you want a good dinner, you will need to go out though.

All in all, the choices in Salem are limited. I will stay at this property in future stays.

Good beds, good internet speed, clean and comfortable rooms with a very nice and helpful staff.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trollsdad43123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2013

I spent one night in Salem in February 2013 on a business trip. Since I am a Hilton Gold, and enjoy the benefits, I try to stay in a Hilton chain whenever possible. This property was apparently in a different chain before being aquired by Doubletree, and was being remodeled. I felt safe, and the bed was comfortable. The closet in my room was covered by a curtain - which is the only time I've ever seen that in a Hilton chain hotel, so I think they've got a ways to go. It was an average hotel, but still not up to the quality I expect from Doubletree... however they are working to get there. I decided to hit the McDonald's next door for breakfast on my way out in the morning, so that says something, too.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salem hotels
2.5 mi away
The Grand Hotel in Salem
1.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Salem
2 mi away
Best Western Plus Mill Creek Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites
1.9 mi away
Residence Inn Salem
Residence Inn Salem
#9 of 24 in Salem
203 reviews
0.2 mi away
Red Lion Hotel Salem
Red Lion Hotel Salem
#8 of 24 in Salem
945 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel North Salem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel North Salem

Address: 1590 Weston Ct NE, Salem, OR 97301-1846 (Formerly Phoenix Inn Suites North Salem)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Salem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Salem
#4 Business Hotel in Salem
Price Range: $140 - $255 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel North Salem 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At our DoubleTree by Hilton hotel in Salem, Oregon, we are conveniently situated just off of I-5 in the heart of the Willamette Valley. Our Salem hotel is just 60 miles south of Portland and only 15 minutes from Oregon's famous wine country. We also offer close proximity to Salem's major business districts and government offices. On your next stay, warm up to a freshly baked cookie and our welcoming staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline and Orbitz so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel North Salem reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Phoenix Inn Suites North Salem Hotel Salem
Phoenix Hotel North Salem
DoubleTree By Hilton Hotel North Salem Oregon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing