We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extremely pleased so far!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Phoenix Inn Suites Salem
Ranked #6 of 24 Hotels in Salem
Reviewed June 7, 2013

I have a few more days left of my stay but I want to thank Chris and Amanda for how kind and helpful they have been. They have accommodated our needs quickly and efficiently. I have not yet slept in my bed but my mom laid down as soon as we got in the room and she has been sawing logs ever since. Once our stay is over I will be able to write more later.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katmauch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (277)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

196 - 202 of 277 reviews

Reviewed June 3, 2013

Paper thin walls and, apparently, it's a party hotel. Oy. There were at least three parties in the hotel that night (room parties). A bachelorette party, an "over the hill" party (windows were open and there were 20-30 bottles of liquor inside), and a group of late-20's men partying (bachelor party maybe?) Made for a miserable experience with my family. Extremely hard to sleep with all the yelling, banging, running up and down the halls, etc. We were on the 2nd floor and the room above us ... geez, I don't know what they were doing. Maybe moving the furniture for three hours? To my knowledge staff didn't do anything about it nor isolate the parties to one area of the hotel. The continental breakfast was 99% bread/wheat-based, so if you're gluten intolerant, you're stuck with peaches or eggs. That's it. Front desk staff was pleasant, though.

Room Tip: Get on the top floor, for sure, to avoid noises above you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank darcysmile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2013

Given the reasonable price, can't complain too much. However, when the helpful desk clerk recommended the newly redecorated first floor we took it. Our room was basically a dark dungeon! The floor is below ground level and our window view was looking up to a concrete wall. Other floors may be better but avoid this one.

Room Tip: No first floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2013 via mobile

I chose this hotel because of its proximity to where I was scheduled to do some training. I was pleased from the start. The front desk staff was helpful and friendly throughout my stay. I booked a two queen bed room and it was quite spacious and comfortable. While there were little things like a small piece of wall paper peeling it was very clean. The bed was comfortable as were the pillows. I found this place to be an excellent value.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SunnyandBuster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2013

Last year our Project Management group held a 12 week series of evening training sessions at the South Salem Phoenix Inn. Our last year group had 8 participants and met in the smallest conference room. This room also doubled during the morning hours as the breakfast room. In spite of the room serving double duty, it was always clean and well kept for our students. Last year's training session was a success.

This year's 12 week series of evening training sessions totaled 15 students. Too large for the small conference/breakfast area, so we requested a larger room. The larger room was available but at a consideable cost increase. The management of the South Salem Phoenix Inn, offered to extend the discount to the larger room's cost and reduce the set up fees to minimum. A very much appreciated offer that helps keep our costs down and helps out of town students the opportunity to attend at a much lower cost. Our training sessions help students advance in their career fields with affordable and local training.

The simple act of helping reduce our training costs, allows "out of the area" students to attend, improve their job performance and advance in their careers..which has the positive effect on our economy.

South Salem Phoenix Inn is doing their best to help the economic recovery on a local scale.

Thanks to Ginger, Rebecca, Chris and Cathy...and their attentive staff.

..and yes, instead of driving home they provided at a great rate a room. Thanks..keep it up..

Room Tip: Renovated room have flat screen TVs. "Phoenix Room is spacious fro business meetings !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bydogsled
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Recently spent three nights here and had a good stay. The staff members are very friendly and the room was nice. They advertise a "continental" breakfast, but it was a fairly substantial breakfast. The room price was very reasonable.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Epaddler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bran H, Guest Relations Manager at Phoenix Inn Suites Salem, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2013

Thank you for your kind words about your recent stay with us. While we may not be the newest hotel in Salem, we pride ourselves in our customer service and cleanliness. One of our bright spots is our breakfast, that is much more than a continental breakfast. With items like biscuits and gravy, eggs and sausage as well as the standard fare like cereal, bagels and waffles, our breakfast stands out above the rest! We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2013

We stayed here on business, this is where the company likes to place us. It's a great location for us, and is near really good places to eat and easy to get back to I5.
The room is dated. The hotel does smell like smoke even though I see no smoking signs everywhere. I think once upon a time smoking was allowed and its left over. But we had no issues sleeping here, breakfast was pretty good and had a few options: waffles,biscuits and gravy, eggs, fruit, muffins, coffee, juice and all that jazz.
I can not remember his name, but there was a guy at the front desk (night shift) who was very nice and great personality. We happened to be staying when a dance team and a girls volleyball team was there...along with their parents. The kids were loud and crazy for like an hour around 830pm but we didn't care it was Friday night and not late. We left and came back around 1030pm and the kids weren't the issue...it was the parents who were drinking and being very loud and we were just walking in. As we were coming in and could hear them, their was a guest complaint about it as we were requesting an extra blanket and the guy got on it asap and asked the adults to keep it down as there were rooms next to them and he was getting complaints. I did hear one of the adults say " OH come on really!?". I left to get to my floor at that time but the front desk guy address the noise issue asap and he delivered an extra blanket to our room asap too. much appreciated overall.
The walls are a little thin, you can sometimes hear a tv or the bathroom fan from the room next to you. If you forget a toothbrush or a shaver they have them at the front desk for you free, that's cool. Cookies and a paper at the front desk for you. Plenty of parking, which is nice!
I'm sure we will stay here again for the business trips we need to make but we are fine with this as it's a great location for us.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank m_17kisses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bran H, Guest Relations Manager at Phoenix Inn Suites Salem, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2013

Thank you for giving us such positive feedback, as well as informing us of issues with the stay. It is often one or the other, but we don't usually get both. We do occasionally have those groups that like to think our hotel is their personal party zone, and it is unfair to the rest of our guests who just want to relax. We have addressed the issue though and should not have that occurrence repeat itself. It sounds like Chris (our front desk agent) handled it very professionally and I am glad you were happy with his service. At one time this hotel had a number of smoking rooms, and currently we have two, but their use is quite infrequent. It is, however, very difficult to remove years of smoke smell without having to complete redo the room. We do our best though! Thank you again and we look forward to having you back with us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salem hotels
2.8 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites
2.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Mill Creek Inn
3.3 mi away
The Grand Hotel in Salem
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Salem
4.6 mi away
Red Lion Hotel Salem
Red Lion Hotel Salem
#9 of 24 in Salem
960 reviews
4.6 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#11 of 24 in Salem
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Phoenix Inn Suites Salem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phoenix Inn Suites Salem

Address: 4370 Commercial St SE, Salem, OR 97302-3914
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Salem
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Salem
#8 Business Hotel in Salem
Price Range: $94 - $157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Phoenix Inn Suites Salem 2.5*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All-Suite Hotel Accommodations in Salem, Oregon. The Phoenix Inn Suites hotel in Salem, Oregon offers 87 spacious, comfortable and inviting suite accommodations. Each sleeping room offers amenities with both the corporate guest and the leisure guest in mind. Our staff is here to make your stay seamless. Ready to navigate you around Salem, we are experts at getting you around both Corban University and Willamette University. Headed to a game, or to a local winery? Please ask us for directions to wherever your destination may be. While at the hotel, take time to relax beside our indoor pool and spa. And remember, each morning our hotel features a delicious, Hot Breakfast Buffet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Phoenix Inn Suites Salem reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Phoenix Inn Suites South Salem Hotel Salem
Phoenix Hotel South Salem
Phoenix Inn Suites Salem Oregon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing