We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bring your own towels”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Phoenix Inn Suites South Salem
Ranked #6 of 23 Hotels in Salem
Certificate of Excellence
Wimberley, Texas
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Bring your own towels”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2011

This hotel has a lot of good points. The rooms are large, attractive, comfortable and reasonably priced. The staff is friendly and responsive.The breakfast is very good.The location is okay.

All in all, it could easily be 4 stars EXCEPT for one chicken _ _ _ _ point. They only provide one hand towel and one bath towel even for a king room (with two sinks) for two people. It seems that a baseball team stayed here once and used the towels to get the red clay off of their cleats so it only seemed fair - to Phoenix Inn - to punish all future guests.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mtsteinert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremiah703, General Manager at Phoenix Inn Suites South Salem, responded to this review, November 14, 2011
Thank you for posting a review about your stay it really does help understand where we can be better ourselves. I do want to apologize for not having enough towels in your room when you arrived. As it is true we have had some issues with clay stains on our terry and thought it best to remove those from the rooms so our guest can be assured to have nothing but clean white terry. Our front desk staff is the best in the business and I am sure they would have loved bringing you any amenities we have to offer. As a side note we have ordered new clothes and Towels; also in the rooms we will be offering cleaning towels that are a nice tan color so it does not mix with our splendid white terry.
Thanks,
Jeremiah Raymer
General Manager Phoenix Inn South Salem
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    98
    40
    23
    10
See reviews for
86
50
15
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
132 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 205 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2011

hotwire got us to Phoenix Inn & Suites, our first time in the chain, suite rooms, with room divider, I asked for renewed room and carpet was new, furnishings were aged a bit, but still ok, refrig in room and small microwave. morning breakfast ok. near trader joes and other stores, easy access off hwy 5 too.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank garymiller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2011

Most if not all rooms are non-smoking. However, my room reeked of cigarette smoke. I ventilated the room while out to dinner and it helped. It might have seeped through from the adjoining room, but annoying non-the-less. I was offered a room on the 1st floor, below the lobby, but passed because the rest of my family was on the 3rd floor. They have cookies in the evening and a nice breakfast in the morning. Conference meeting room and computer available too. Staff very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Rooms on the south side face the parking lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MRBILL69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremiah703, Guest Relations Manager at Phoenix Inn Suites South Salem, responded to this review, November 15, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to post a review about our property on TripAdvisor. We thrive on these reviews, both positive and negative, and use them as an opportunity to grow as a hotel. We do try and and take every avenue we can in eliminating the smoke smell from any room it may be in. I am glad to hear that a simple ventilating of the room helped and that you had a pleasant stay with us. We pride ourselves on the top notch customer service and it is excellent to hear you were at least offered the opportunity to move to a different room, which is not a luxury most hotels will afford you. We hope to see you and your family back here soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnaby, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2011

We had booked for three nights in early August. It seemed like a great price considering the photos of the rooms, the website stating it had been recently renovated and the many positive TripAdvisor reviews. To be fair, we checked in late, but that doesn't excuse the fact I was told it had all been renovated at the same time several years ago. Our ground floor room: Carpets filthy and stained. Toilet running. Broken towel hook in bathroom.The worst part was a hair and eyelash found on the sheets. Funny smell. Noisy air conditioner. A stick in the sliding window track -- I wasn't sure if I should be worried or comforted. It obviously hadn't been vacuumed in a while since we found an earring and pencil shavings (?!?!) on the carpet. The only thing that looked like the photos on their website was the bedding--and that was stained. The manager on duty did his best, but other rooms we were shown (before we found the hairs in the sheets) weren't much better. After reporting the hairs, we were offered a discount on the room and clean sheets we could change ourselves, with the promise they'd try to move us to another room the next day. We took the discount but couldn't bear the thought of staying two more nights and booked a room elsewhere. The friendly and apologetic staff were understanding and didn't charge us for the two additional nights. Breakfast was fine, lone staff person was friendly and helpful but the breakfast room is too small for the number of guests and again, the carpets were filthy. Our experience was certainly nothing like the ultra positive reviews I've read here.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carryon86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, Michigan
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2011

I compared this hotels rates with Expedia. The Expedia rate was cheaper so I called the hotel directly and they matched the lower rate. Our original reservation was for 3 nights. Our plans changed and we decided to extend our reservation for an additional 5 nights. There was no problem and the staff honored the original rates we had been quoted. But, that is only because we made the reservations directly with the hotel. We overheard another guest trying to extend their reservation, which had been booked through an on-line site and they could not get the same rate through the hotel. The guest wasn't sure what rate he was paying so the hotel couldn't match his lower rate. Just do your homework and call prepared with competitors rates.
Brian, at the front desk, was very friendly and accommodating.
The rooms are older but ours was clean and the bathrooms look like they have been renovated. The rooms are generous in size with a half-wall partition separating the sleeping and living area. The living area had a small sofa, desk, wi fi, coffee table and suitcase table. mini kitchen including a sink, under-counter fridge and a microwave. An armoir housed the television.
The complimentary self-serve breakfast included rubbery egg discs (due to being precooked and then reheated in a microwave), greasy sausage patties, waffles, biscuits and gravy, yogurt, canned peaches, apples and oranges, 3 varieties of juice, coffee and teas, milk, dry cereal, hot cereal, various breads and iced cinnamon rolls. Hey, the price was right!
On Saturday and Sunday there were no hot eggs or sausage offered. In their place, rubbery hard boiled eggs, sitting of top of ice cubes. The other items mentioned were still available.
There is an indoor pool and small hot tub. A very small room off of the pool area housed a few exercise machines. It would be difficult to workout there as the chlorine fumes from the pool are really strong and sting the eyes just checking out the space.
We stayed at this location as we were visiting family, who lived close by. This hotel is convenient to a variety of restaurants and shopping. Downtown Salem is about a 12 minute drive to the north. We spent most of our time visiting family and sight-seeing. A laundromat is just a short walk to the south of the hotel and on the same side of the street. It is easier to walk due to the heavy traffic on Commercial Street.
If you want to save money on your stay, this hotel was okay. Our 8 days in our room with a king bed came to a grand total of $519.20. That included all taxes and fees. With that kind of savings we were able to splurge in other areas.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kerrydnp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2011

The beds are super comfortable. Everything is clean and new. There are fresh cookies in the lobby when you arrive. Full breakfast, wi-fi and parking are included. Right next to the freeway but you can't hear it in the hotel. And every room comes with a couch, coffee table, fridge, and microwave. ITS LIKE an apartment. I've stayed here twice and the room was $100 both times. Doesn't get any better than this.

Room Tip: Use kayak.com
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 4whittygirls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremiah703, Guest Relations Manager at Phoenix Inn Suites South Salem, responded to this review, November 15, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback about our hotel and customer service. We strive to provide affordable accommodations, and the best customer service all in one place. We would like our guests to feel like the Phoenix Inn is a home away from home, rather than just another hotel room. We hope you will be coming back this way, and we will definitely have fresh hot cookies waiting for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacoma, Washington
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2011

Booked a 3 star through hotwire and ended up here. As you may know, using hotwire you have to trust the stars to show you the quality of the hotel, then when you pay you get to see the name of the hotel. This hotel is maybe a 2 star on a good day. Our room was very dated, dark 80s style furniture (most of it scuffed), stains on the carrpet, beat up refridgerater, a duvey cover with a hole in it, and the duvet didn't have a washable cover over it, I would hate to see what the CSI team would find if they inspected this room. Needles to say, I was dissapointed with Hotwire for advertising a 3 star hotel, that is not a 3 star at all. (all other travel sites show this as being a 2.5 star). I am staying here as I type this so I can't speak about the breakfast yet, but judging by other reviews it doesn't sound like it will be very good.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jmontante
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremiah703, General Manager at Phoenix Inn Suites South Salem, responded to this review, August 16, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Although it seems your stay with us wasn’t up to expectations or what we expect for each one of guest to experience. Your feedback will certainly help us on where we need to focus more attention so, that everyone can enjoy their stay with us. There is good news through, we are planning a great new renovation project for the hotel and once done I am sure that the hotel will far exceed your past experience. We do hope that in the future you will give the Phoenix Inn South Salem another try and thanks again for the feedback.
Jeremiah Raymer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salem hotels
2.8 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Salem
2.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Mill Creek Inn
3.3 mi away
The Grand Hotel in Salem
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Salem
4.6 mi away
Red Lion Hotel Salem
Red Lion Hotel Salem
#9 of 23 in Salem
3.5 of 5 bubbles 797 reviews
7.0 mi away
Best Western Pacific Highway Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Phoenix Inn Suites South Salem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phoenix Inn Suites South Salem

Property: Phoenix Inn Suites South Salem
Address: 4370 Commercial St SE, Salem, OR 97302
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Salem
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Salem
#8 Business Hotel in Salem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Phoenix Inn Suites South Salem 2.5*
Number of rooms: 89
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Phoenix Inn Suites South Salem reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Phoenix Inn Suites South Salem Hotel Salem
Phoenix Hotel South Salem
Phoenix Inn Suites South Salem Oregon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing