We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“BEST B&B experience EVER!”
Review of C. H. Bailey House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Roseburg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
C. H. Bailey House
Ranked #1 of 7 Roseburg B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersGold level
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“BEST B&B experience EVER!”
Reviewed June 22, 2014

This is one of the most beautiful homes you could ever visit. The grounds are amazing to walk and every room has charm and beauty. I had the privilege to stay on Friday night 6/20/14 for a pre wedding girls night. We each had a room to share with another girl and I had the best nights sleep in years. My bed was the most comfortable bed I have ever slept in, and did not make noises. So don't worry about squeaking :-). They have a small fridge in the hallway outside of the rooms with water, soda and complimentary wine for the guests. Even though it was quiet time at ten we were able to keep the giggling down. We all wore our fancy room robes down to the hot tub for a little soak, it was warm and fit all 7 of us girls. The next morning I woke to the smell of delicious coffee waiting in the hall. Breakfast was served at 9am. Started with fresh local berries and cream, a beautiful mint leave accompanied it. Our breakfast was roasted red potatoes and egg souffle with grilled peppers. Such a beautiful presentation of food and tasty to boot. Dessert was homemade banana bread and butter. Yummy. We felt so lucky to get to have time with the owners Jay and Sherry. Who by the way are warm and friendly, smart and educated, sophisticated and humorous- I can't say enough good things about those two. I was there to help coordinate the wedding on Saturday. The barn they have to hold weddings in is beautiful. If you are looking for a barn wedding, this is it. Willow in the barn, lights are placed about, the decorations my bride had were very minimal but it didn't matter, the barn was so beautiful, anything more would have been superfluous. I traveled from Portland, oregon to help with the wedding, so I did not have all my tools. The owners were happy to lend a hand or loan me a pair of scissors if needed. If you are looking for a hiatus this is the place, the home is set among valley mountains and the hills are covered in beautiful wheat and honey tones. Such a beautiful place. I can't wait for my next visit. Thank you Jay & Sherry for a wonderful weekend, you are truly B&B artist extraordinaires. :o)

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BBfromPtown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CH_Bailey_House, Owner at C. H. Bailey House, responded to this review, July 13, 2014
Wow-Wee! What an incredible review. Thank you so much for taking the time to write an awesome review. It was a pleasure to meet you and talk with you. I hope the wedding in August is a great success. Come back with your husband. We'd love to host you! Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    1
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
8
69
5
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon, USA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2014

Stayed for two nights in March while wine tasting in the Umpqua Valley. We were greeted with local red and chilled white wine, local craft beer on tap, and ice cream bars in the fridge near the rooms. The rooms and the common areas felt exceptionally welcoming and comfortable, and the views of the surrounding rolling hills were just lovely. Bed was comfortable and it was super quiet at night (except for the symphony of frogs), and there's star-gazing on a clear night. But the best part: the breakfast! It's been two months, but my mouth still waters at the thought of the roasted vegetable souffle and the polenta benedict. I liked the wine tasting trip, and loved the Bailey House B&B.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LadyOregon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CH_Bailey_House, Owner at C. H. Bailey House, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
Thank you for your review and kind words. Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashland, Oregon
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2014

Gracious hosts, spacious accommodations, delicious food beautifully prepared, clean, nicely appointed guestrooms and common areas, sprawling garden & porches with relaxing, socializing, and activity areas. Will definitely be back!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diane K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CH_Bailey_House, Owner at C. H. Bailey House, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
Diane, thank you for your review. We appreciate it even more since you have been in the business and know the ins and outs. Thank you. We look forward to seeing you all again. Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PORT SETON, SCOTLAND
Level Contributor
53 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2014

A beautiful B & B in the country a few miles from Roseburg. Lovely setting with a variety of places to sit and enjoy watching the world go by, with a nice glass of wine or home brew from the barn. The breakfast deserves a special mention. Sherry serves a home-cooked breakfast it would be difficult to better. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PORTSETONMAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CH_Bailey_House, Owner at C. H. Bailey House, responded to this review, April 12, 2014
Thank you for your kind review. We really appreciate you taking the time to write one. We know it is time consuming, especially when you have traveled for a while. It is much appreciated. Thank you. Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blaine, MN
Level Contributor
89 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2014

It's been a while... but this place deserves a nice review and I just hadn't had the time to write one. On a 10 day West Coast road trip, we stayed at the C. H. Bailey House for one night on our way to Crater lake. The only bad thing was that we couldn't stay longer. It was an unforgettable experience!

After a disappointing stay at an old dusty B & B in Olympia, WA, whose owner claimed our bad experience was based on his home being old and our expectations were "too high," Sherry proved him wrong by having every detail covered in this beautiful, historic, and very clean B & B.

We felt special by the hospitality and 'attention to detail' on Sherry's part. Although we arrived a little early, Sherry was very gracious getting us in and settled. Throughout our brief stay, she went out of her way to make sure everything was fine... I mean perfect. Nobody does that.

Though it's an old place, the room had air-conditioning and in our comfortable king-size bed, we slept very well, which is not easy on vacations in strange beds! Nice free-standing tub in the bathroom, good water pressure, top quality towels and robes to use. Did I say she thinks of everything?

There's a hot tub that I am sad to say we did not try out, instead we relaxed, soaking in the sun, in the back yard garden with the setting sun on the green hills, quiet except for the occasional sound of a bird or a bee buzzing by. So mellow and relaxing... aaaaaah.

You sign up for breakfast on a little chalkboard for what hour you'd like to eat at, and coffee or tea is set outside your door an hour before your requested time. Because things were slow, Sherry offered to serve us our breakfast on the porch. Top 5 breakfast of my whole life... I will never forget it! She served us broiled grapefruit with ginger (all on cute little china plates), then poached eggs on rosemary toasts with prosciutto, arugula, and a mustard vinaigrette. Finished with a warm, freshly baked banana chocolate chip muffin. Perfect. Did I say she thinks of everything?

5 stars means something to me and the C. H. Bailey House (& Sherry) earned them... and more!

DON'T MISS THIS EXPERIENCE!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bigdaddy73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CH_Bailey_House, Owner at C. H. Bailey House, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
Thank you, thank you. What an amazing review. I'm sure people think we paid you for it. It is wonderful and we can't thank you enough for taking the time to write such an extensive review. Come back! Cheers to you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Seattle, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 6, 2014

Located in rural farmland just outside of Roseburg in a pastoral setting of green rolling hills with sheep and cattle nearby, this beautiful house provided a perfect place for us to night over on our drive from Seattle to California. Shari (sp?) and Jay were perfect hosts. The house beautiful and spotless. We ordered a vegetarian greek pizza from Abby's Pizza which we ate with complimentary wine and beer from Shari and Jay. The breakfast was perfect. Can't recommend this place enough.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 569DavidW569
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Oregon
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2014

We just stayed at this B&B on a Friday and Saturday night and the home is spotless and shows a pride of ownership by the couple that own it. When we arrived, we were about an hour before the check-in time and expected to ask if this was okay. We walked onto the lovely porch and into the front door where on the banister of the stairs we saw a personal note & room keys with our name on it welcoming us into the home. The note said that they would be be back shortly and catch up with us. We brought our bags in and headed up the stairs to the Bailey room where we found the room to be very cozy with comfortable king bed, fireplace, a lovely bathroom, large walk in closet and everything we needed to settle in. We had just drove down from Salem which normally is a 2.5 hour drive and it took us 5 hours due to snow and ice between Salem and south of Eugene. Needless to say, we were exhausted so an hour nap was wonderful on the plush king bed. After awakening, Sherry must have heard us stirring and noticed our door open and came up to greet us. Sherry was delightful in our first meeting with her and was just the same during our whole stay and we were made to feel very welcome. The breakfast's that Sherry made for us were really nice and easily held us until dinner. This B&B and Sherry are delightful. If I were asked if there was one thing that I would like to see different, it would be in the gravel parking area where we stepped in dog poo on two occasions walking from our vehicle to the front door. Sherry keeps her home immaculate and there is a sign on the front door to please remove shoes upon entering. We made sure that we didn't track the dog poo into the entry way, but other guests might not be so careful. A small nit to bring up on such a lovely B&B and hostess, but feel that Sherry needs to know this.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GarryL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CH_Bailey_House, Owner at C. H. Bailey House, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Thank you so much for detailed and lovely response. We are so sorry about the dog poop. When we started the B&B 7 years ago, our dogs were young and ran way out into the field to do their duties. Unfortunately, now they are old (almost 14) and neither has energy to go far. They have started to just go on the driveway. Jay and I are constantly trying to keep up and I so do apologize for your troubles. You would think between to two of us, we could manage it, but for some reason the dogs are "frequent". Sigh. Thank you for the heads-up. We'll try to be more diligent. Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Roseburg hotels
7.5 mi away
Best Western Garden Villa Inn
7.3 mi away
Windmill Inn of Roseburg
7.3 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#4 of 15 in Roseburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Roseburg
6.3 mi away
Travelodge Roseburg
Travelodge Roseburg
#8 of 15 in Roseburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 334 reviews
8.1 mi away
Motel 6 Roseburg
Motel 6 Roseburg
#9 of 15 in Roseburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to C. H. Bailey House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about C. H. Bailey House

Property: C. H. Bailey House
Address: 121 Melton Rd, Roseburg, OR 97470-8443
Location: United States > Oregon > Roseburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Roseburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a "green" B&B. We get a majority of our electricity from the sun, we recycle, compost, use earth-friendly cleaning products, use shampoo/condition dispensers in the showers, use local and organic products when possible and garden sustainably. We have twin bocce courts, an 8-hole disc golf course, horseshoe pits and a hot tub to finish off the day. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing