We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hike and awesome waterfall”
Review of Watson Falls

Watson Falls
Ranked #2 of 40 things to do in Roseburg
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
tucson
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“Wonderful hike and awesome waterfall”
Reviewed September 5, 2013

Even for youngsters! We use to live at Toketee and always took visitors there as easy access and a do-able hike for even two yr olds!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank suse333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    18
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bend, Oregon
Level Contributor
41 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Don't miss!”
Reviewed September 1, 2013

It's beautiful along with Clearwater Falls and /Whitehorse /falls in Hwy 138 between Diamond Lake and
Roseburg.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank David K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookings, Oregon
Level Contributor
124 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“A short hike, straight up”
Reviewed August 23, 2013

There are many beautiful falls off the North Umpqua highway. We stopped at the trail for Watson Falls because we thought it would be a quick hike at only a half-mile. We could hear the falls from the parking lot, so we figured it couldn't be far. We missed the sign telling us about the 370 foot climb. If we hadn't, we could have looked just above the sign and seen the falls, way above us. You don't actually need to take the last series of switchbacks that end at a viewpoint about halfway up the falls. There is a point about two-thirds of the way that actually gives you the best view of the entire falls. At 272 feet, the falls are spectacular even in August. They must be unbelievable in the spring. Overall, as good as Multnomah Falls in the Columbia Gorge, but make sure you're up for a steep and rocky trail.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank William L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseburg, Oregon
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Gorgeous Falls”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

The drive up highway 38 is one of the most scenic drives in Douglas County. You follow the North Umpqua River which is beautiful drive. If you're hot and want to stop to get wet you can. Just remember this is a cold and beautiful river

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Patti W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A must see”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

This is the third tallest falls in Oregon, I believe. It is a little hike among the flora and fauna. Not strenuous and the trees make it coler on a warm day. Close to main road.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mimijane10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Watson Falls also viewed

 

Been to Watson Falls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing