We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 11:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Review Highlights
One of the two best wineries in the Umpqua valley and beyond.

We are still trying to get into all the Umpqua Valley vineyards and are almost there as we happened... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
Ralph B
Umpqua Wine Tasting

A variety of excellent wines from the Umpqua Valley and beyond. The atmosphere is relaxed and... read more

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
FunTripper007
via mobile
Read all 112 reviews
  
Reviews (112)
Filter reviews
112 results
Traveler rating
92
16
1
2
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
92
16
1
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pinot noir great wine the owner umpqua valley wine making wine tasting wine industry down to earth making great his wife tasting experience tasting fee beautiful setting dyson susan winemaker grapes
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
88 - 93 of 112 reviews
Reviewed November 19, 2012

And I mean that in a good way. Hillcrest is small and claims its the oldest estate winery in Oregon. Nice owners that pour and educate you on their wines. It is partly "dry farmed" meaning most of the moisture to grow the gapes comes from mother nature. It can "stress" the grapes and yields some very flavorful, if not limited quantity wines.

The whites we tasted tend towards dryer versions of the varietals...all good. The reds were also nicely bodied and flavorful. Human selection can lead to selective pickings and not all varietals' are available each year.

I've stopped here 3 times now and the visit here is always a standout among Southern Oregon tastings. Some of my favorites are Viognier "Dry Farmed", Chardonnay "Cuvee Francaise", Riesling "Bone Dry" and Bordeaux blends. Their wines are not sold outside the tasting room except through the website or wine club. Well worth visisting.

Date of experience: September 2012
1  Thank MDR_27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2012

Good Pinot Noir Blanc and Pinot Noir. Nice drive through pretty countryside. Interesting artwork, pleasant proprietor

Date of experience: July 2012
Thank Shavings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2012

I liked the wines and the people. A good place to visit on you Umqua Valley wine tour.

1  Thank Hank M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2012

We learned so much about grapes and wine while we were there! The tasting room is in a wonderful old building, and the winemaker was so friendly. This place made us feel like we were home with family.

Date of experience: June 2012
4  Thank Wilma P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2012

This was the last of the 5 wineries we toured over a 2-day trip and found the wines at HillCrest to be the best of all. This non-nonsense winery speaks for itself. The dry farming and long aging process create very smooth wines from first sip to finish. Diane was very knowledgeable and treated us as if we were guests in her own home. We WILL be back!!!

Date of experience: June 2012
4  Thank MynBill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews