We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Rave wine!, "colorfull" tasting room” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Girardet Vineyards & Winery

Girardet Vineyards & Winery
Ranked #12 of 38 things to do in Roseburg
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: Visitors are invited to experience one of Oregon's oldest wine estates. Founders Philippe & Bonnie Girardet established this European-style estate on slopes outside of Roseburg, in 1971. Second generation Winemaker, Marc Girardet, was taught by his father, Philippe, and is carrying on the passion for handcrafting extraordinary wines with a touch of the Old World.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
52 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Rave wine!, "colorfull" tasting room”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

Very senic country setting, and of course excellent wines by grapes grown there. I am familiar with the wines, as I used to sell them when I owned a small sausage/wine shop in Leavenworth. New to me was their Baco Noir, which I had tried the previous night @ Pedotti's Italian in Sutherland. Even met the original ownerPhilippe Girardet, and was treated royally by Jade the sales/person. A great time and experience here, well worth the trip, which was fun!!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank William M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    4
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
los angeles
Level Contributor
92 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“helpful, informative, and tasty”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

We enjoyed all the tastes of wine that they offer at no charge, and we felt the bottles were priced fairly and the wine was all good. We bought a bottle of Pinot Gris at $15 and the very helpful daughter of the founder of the winery told us that they do not have a distributor in California so we considered joining their wine club. The tasting room is not fancy at all and a couple of family dogs have free range, but it really is family run and easy to find off highway 42.
We liked the handicapped accessibility of the entrance and the easy parking.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank hanlgt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Astoria Or
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Girardet Winery and Vineyards”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

The best afternoons my wife and I have ever had at a winery, we were treated like family. The staff was very informative and helpful with any questions we had not to mention making it possible for us to meet "Franky", thanks Cara
The special thanks to owner and wine maker Marc Girardet for taking time out of his busy day to come up to the the tasting area to meet with us and talk wines.
That said Girardet wines are fantastic and I can not say enough about their wines, you can not go wrong with any of them and their Baco Noir reserve is the best, trust me.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank DD-Dano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ukiah, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“pinot noir sideways”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

Check it out. Better than Booneville wines. Worth a side trip. Must be the soil. Great for taking to the beach

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank tom v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashland, Oregon
Level Contributor
368 reviews
102 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“Great wines”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

We used Girardet's wines for our son's wedding, and both the red and white were enjoyed by all. Good wines at a reasonable price!

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank LindaMG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Girardet Vineyards & Winery also viewed

 

Been to Girardet Vineyards & Winery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing