We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great view, great wine, felt like we weren't in Roseburg!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Abacela

Abacela
Ranked #3 of 39 things to do in Roseburg
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Abacela is a world-class, multi-award winning winery and viticulture success story. 21 years ago when founders Earl and Hilda Jones planted its first vines they had no way of knowing what the outcome would be. They were scientists with zero winemaking experience who left secure careers and trekked 2700 miles west, kids in tow, to test a hypothesis. Abacela was an experiment they hoped would answer a question that had puzzled them for years: Why doesn't America produce any fine varietal Tempranillo wine? Earl and Hilda probably weren't the first enophiles to wonder why the great grape of Spain's famous Rioja wines was mysteriously absent from American fine wine. However they were the first to approach the question with scientific rigor, form a hypothesis and then devote their lives to testing it. Abacela is the result of one ordinary family's curiosity and determination that transformed their lives, built one of Oregon's best-loved wineries and influenced winegrowing not only in Oregon and the Pacific Northwest, but across America.
Winchester, Oregon
Level Contributor
82 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Great view, great wine, felt like we weren't in Roseburg!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2014

My wife and I enjoy visiting the local vineyards and wineries and for some crazy reason had never been to Abacela until just last week (May 2014). Its one of the nicer places locally we've been too. The grounds are well kept, parking is plentiful, view of the surrounding hills is spectacular. They do "brick oven" pizza on Friday's I'm told and we plan to go experience that some night. They also have various events throughout the year. Great advice in the tasting room, for mother's day, they gave us a free tasting, and were very knowledgeable about the wines. There is a banquet room that looks like they use for special events or renting out. There is also an upstairs area with a few tables and chairs to sit & sip while you enjoy the view and the late spring or summer weather. We were somewhat shocked that we'd never visited and lived here all these years. We will be going back to try pizza night, and I will update this review at that time.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    26
    7
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
The Woodlands, Texas
Level Contributor
748 reviews
225 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 663 helpful votes
“Very Impressive Setting”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2014

Someone sunk some bucks into this place and well worth the trip just for the view. The wine was impressive as well. We came away with a 2009 Shiraz, nice easy drinking, didn't break the bank and very knowledgeable staff filled us in on all the wines they offered. The tasting room is understated elegance, comfy, makes you want to hang around. We will be back and probably have some friends join us.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Rebekajean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseburg
Level Contributor
206 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
“Piazza and wine”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2014

I just tried their Friday piazza and wine night. The piazza was excellent. Gourmet touched without being stuffy.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank dietcoke22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eagle, Idaho
Level Contributor
441 reviews
170 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 229 helpful votes
“Very good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2014

We stopped in on a friends. Advice , so glad we did.
Wonderful view , great tasting room , nice people pouring your tasting!
The wine is OK, but you know everyone's got a different taste buds , you might love it!
Go, it's a nice time.
Mike

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseburg, Oregon, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great wine, great property”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2013

Great plae to visit while in the Roseburg area. Spendy tasting fee, but great wine. Fee refundable with purchase of wine.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Abacela also viewed

 

Been to Abacela? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing