We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth an overnight.”
Review of Dunes Motel

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Roseburg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Dunes Motel
Ranked #13 of 16 Hotels in Roseburg
Travelling Canuck/Yank
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Worth an overnight.”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Room was large. Comfortable bed. Spacious bathroom.Owner was on site, and very accommodating. Not a chain motel. These are all good things.

Hallways and overall building could use a spruce-up.

Good value overnight stay.

Room Tip: We appeared to be the only guests, so can't comment on the soundproofing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank svbreila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    5
    4
    2
    11
See reviews for
8
11
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chilliwack, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2012

Although their brochure does not promise to provide for special requests. I am unable to climb stairs and specificaly requested a ground floor room or an elevator be available. On arrival was told I had to climb stairs and that the desk clerk was not aware of any "special request". I could see my booking form on his desk and clearly see my special request. To be fair to the hotel we where not charged for our room, but did have to find another motel in town

Room Tip: always follow-up with a phone call to confirm special requests.
See more room tips
Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Dogtag3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Roseburg hotels

Auburn, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2012

Our family stopped at the Dunes motel on our way back from the end of a long road trip. We had been driving for 10+ hours and our girls were tired. I like to stay at non-chain hotels as they are typically less expensive and you get more personalized service. Yes, sometimes you get a real dump but usually not.

The Dunes is a little different in that all of the rooms are on the 2nd and 3rd floors and parking is on the ground level.

The owners checked us in and were incredibly nice and accommodating. The room was clean and comfortable. They are in need of some updating, especially to the AC unit as it was pretty noisy - but then I have had worse when staying in the chain hotels as well. One thing that made us worry right at first is that they still use actual keys - not the plastic cards.

The night was quiet and uneventful. The next morning we got coffee and a muffin which comprised their "breakfast". The owners were there and we talked to them about our trip, our family, etc.

Overall a great bargain for the $60 or so we paid for the night considering we just wanted to get to bed, get up and hit the road again. Oh - and Denny's is right next door.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ejee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corning
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2012

If you are looking for a clean and comfortable hotel room, then you found it here. If you are looking for bells and whistles, keep looking. We booked a double room that adjoined to another double room (2 rooms, 4 beds, 5 guests). The beds were extra comfortable, the air conditioner worked well, the bathroom was large, and the rooms were quiet. We ate at Dennys and they gave us a discount because we stayed at the Dunes. Breakfast in the morning was limited to coffee, juice and a muffin. Two things that I did not like: Parking is underneath so rooms are on the second and third floor (stair climbing, no elevator), and the hallways reek of smoke smell (rooms were okay). Friendly owners too. All n all a good place to stay and would stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CorningMary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tigard, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
230 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2012

I was so disappointed in this motel. I asked for a ground floor room for my handicapped Mother. The inquiry was not answered and when we got there we found out that all rooms are on the second floor as parking was underneath. The room had hairs both long and very short all over the bathroom floor. I asked for housekeeping and was given another room instead. This room was slightly better but not by much. The motel staff was very kind.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Madge464
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Roseburg
1.1 mi away
Windmill Inn of Roseburg
1.2 mi away
Best Western Garden Villa Inn
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Roseburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Roseburg
Comfort Inn Roseburg
#4 of 16 in Roseburg
106 reviews
6.7 mi away
Wildlife Inn
Wildlife Inn
#1 of 2 in Winston
61 reviews
0.9 mi away
Quality Inn Central
Quality Inn Central
#11 of 16 in Roseburg
130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dunes Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunes Motel

Property: Dunes Motel
Address: 610 W Madrone St, Roseburg, OR 97470-3062
Location: United States > Oregon > Roseburg
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 16 Hotels in Roseburg
Number of rooms: 43

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing