We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Horrendous Service” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Blackbird Bistro - CLOSED

Blackbird Bistro
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: The Blackbird Bistro is located in Roseburg, Oregon . Featuring fresh and bold flavors, Chef Jay Ervin focuses on quality and unique creations for a distinct dining experience. Housemade desserts finish any meal or evening with a focus on seasonal and fresh ingredients.
Roseburg, Oregon
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Horrendous Service”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012

We had heard this place had good food, but never got to try it. The service was the worst we had ever seen. We came on a Thursday night. The restaurant was not very busy. We had our minor daughter with us, and it was a little confusing which side of the restaurant to enter. The side that was signed minors allowed, had the bar right up front. We entered and were greeted right away. Although, we thought we were being greeted by a bar patron, since he was seated at the bar drinking. He took us to a table and gave us menus. He was very nice. Unfortunately, it went downhill from there. We sat there for forty minutes. No one came to take our order, offer us water, or do anything. Wait staff walked by our table over and over. We finally had it and left to go to another restaurant that wanted our hundred dollars. We will NEVER go back!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
6 Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

65 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    11
    7
    7
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
SWOregon
Level Contributor
109 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“This Was Hard to Rate”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2012

The ambiance here was excellent. The wait service was really good. We were the only two people in the entire restaurant during the whole lunch hour. We ordered the special, a cornish game hen with salad. It was only $12. The salad was incredible, the game hen was raw. We sent it back and they agreed that it wasn't cooked near enough. While we waited for the hens to finish, they brought bread and fresh salad. When they brought them back it was very good. The balsamic sauce was very good. I wanted to rate it higher but a manager didn't even come out and apologize. There wasn't any "comp" besides free bread.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelJem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corvallis, Oregon
Level Contributor
108 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Excellent service and food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2012

Got a recommendation for this restaurant - and we liked it a lot. Nice atmosphere, excellent and attentive service, good choice of variety of dishes on menu, great local wine choices. Enjoyed duck cooked to perfection and pork special.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bettina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseburg
Level Contributor
34 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Continously excellent !!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2012

Last night, we had dinner with a classmate from Arizona. I had the steak, the guest had Salmon, and spouse had Curried Pork & Peach salad. Our visitor found the salmon an "outstanding tasting experience". Again I rate this restaurant after having a great eating experience because it fullfills all of our & our guests requirements. for a super experience in fine dining. Thank you again, Chef Steve. When we first arrived, we entered the new lounge area, choosing to sit in the front casual room. Wingback chairs. Corner leather sectional, & a few comfort chairs. There was no live music in this room last night. But was informed that will be this Friday. There are so many people who have not ventured here. And they are missing a wonderful evening experience.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank filoRoseburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Mirage, California
Level Contributor
149 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“So-So Food With Fine Dining Prices”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012 via mobile

This restaurant was the recommendation of a "local" as the best "fine dining" establishment in town and we actually passed on another for this one. I was very disappointed with the service and the food for the prices they charge.
The price of the meal was equal to that of a gourmet meal in most any major city but the quality of the food was "small town, over priced, over cooked, and undeniably bland.
The "cook" obviously isn't a high line chef and does little to accentuate flavors or presentation of his "signature" dishes. The wine list by the glass is predominately California wines and this place is centrally located in the heart of southern Oregon wine country. The bottle selection is fairly priced because most of the wines on the list can be found at your local big box grocery establishment.
All in all, this isn't a restaurant I would ever recommend or return to in the future.

Helpful?
2 Thank Ed W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing