We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful but wines so-so”

Reustle Prayer Rock Vineyards
Ranked #5 of 39 things to do in Roseburg
Attraction details
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Beautiful but wines so-so”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2012

Lovely spot with a nice tasting room but the wines gives are immature and the wines are amateurish

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
4 Thank N J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    16
    4
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Medford, Oregon
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Too religous”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2012

Separation of church and vineyards would be nice. We like their wine, but feel uncomfortable with the push of religion. It is a beautiful property, so don't miss it if you are just concerned about the religious aspect. We thought the tasting experience, being placed in a private room and served appetizers paired with wines, to be uncomfortable, being it was just the two of us; prefer more casual tasting experience with the general population.

Visited May 2011
Helpful?
3 Thank KEITH B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medford, Oregon
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Love the cave!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2012

We really enjoyed the tasting, as they paired up their wines with appetizers, and the setting is beautiful!

Helpful?
Thank LHawk59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseburg, Oregon
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good wine, snippy service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 29, 2012

I was not surprised at the $10 fee to taste with some good pairings, but the employees have some customer service training to do. There are a number of wineries who offer free wine tastings and welcome people in. I would rather go there than Reustle and take my own food pairings.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank pickyeater06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Villa Park, California
Level Contributor
112 reviews
49 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Great Winery in a generally undiscovered wine area”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2011

This small winery succeeds in paying attention to the details. Each wine (white or red) tastes as the individual varietal should taste.

The whites range from Pinot Gris to Viognier to Sauvihnon blanc plus others.The Sauvignon Blanc is my favorite and has characteristics of New Zealand SB..

The reds include Pinot Noirs, Tempranillo, Syrah, Malbec and 2 others. Tempranillo and Pinot Noir are my favorites.I attended a barrel tasting on each.

Many of Resutles wines are award winners in higher level wine competitions.

Unlike Northern Willamette the Southern part of Oergon (inlcuding the Umpqua valley) has more varied terrain making the varietal choices better. The tasting room is in the wine caves and makes for a great experience. The winery is off the 101 by about 4-5 miles.

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
Thank MDR_27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Reustle Prayer Rock Vineyards also viewed

 

Been to Reustle Prayer Rock Vineyards? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing