We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great martinis and tapas”
Review of The Mark 5 - CLOSED

The Mark 5
Price range: $20 - $25
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
North Bend, Oregon
Level Contributor
66 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Great martinis and tapas”
Reviewed March 3, 2013

We really enjoyed our meal here. Service is top notch. Great deal on martinis at happy hour. Menu could be bigger, but the food is excellent.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank kantor1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

75 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    22
    9
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Roseburg, Oregon
Level Contributor
137 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Too Much Hype”
Reviewed February 6, 2013

Had lunch here with a friend Tuesday, February 5, 2013. It was around noon. We both ordered their daily special, which was:a Steak Sandwich with our choice of a side dish; salad, french fries, sweet potato fries or cottage cheese. Price was $10.00.
Our sandwiches arrived looking good. The meat was a ilttle overcooked in spots tho and a little tough to eat. It came with horseradish which was great. The sandwich also included grilled mushrooms, onion, red and green peppers. I would say our lunch was "good" but nothing spectacular - just adequate. Most menu items are on the pricey side. I have eaten here for dinner once, the menu had very few choices, prices very high and food quality - meh. Coming here for lunch was giving this restaurant another try.
Best part of our meal was the service. We had a very knowledgeable and attentive waitress. My friend's seat was a little hard, so she offered extra cushions, which was very accommodating. In short, Mark 5 has a lot of hype in Roseburg and I don't see why...

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank OregonProud7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“What a Surprise!”
Reviewed February 4, 2013

Stopped here for a late dinner after a long day - recommended by the locals, it didn't disappoint! The exterior was nothing special, and we likely would have passed by without the recommendation. Interior finishes were dated, but the staff was very friendly (but not over bearing) and helpful! Turns out we were dealing with one of the Owners. The food was exceptional, well presented, and well flavoured. (Even the interior designer in our group agreed!) A hidden gem!!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
72 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Business Hours Not As Advertised”
Reviewed January 6, 2013

Arrived at the restaurant at 8:30 pm on an admittedly quiet evening. The restaurant's advertised hours of operation were to 9 pm. Was told that the chef had already started to clean up in the kitchen so we could not be served. Completely unacceptable! If you advertise your hours then you need to comply. I for one will never darken their door again, and recommend that no one else does either.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A must have!!”
Reviewed December 26, 2012

I love The Mark V! It is the best! Prime rib to die for!!! I really haven't had a bad dinner, lunch, drink, or anything there! That is saying a lot!!
The staff is super friendly and helpfull. Even when it is busy! You will find the boy's or Heather pouring a TASTY treat!
We like to sit in the bar and watch people, TV, eat, drink and chat. Then eat some more!.
If you are new to Roseburg or going threw, stop in! Visit old town Roseburg and The Mark! You will be happy you did.
After a stop at the Mark you will want to come back!!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lslaraut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing