We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (371)
Filter reviews
371 results
Traveler rating
117
157
68
19
10
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
117
157
68
19
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsriver viewumpqua riverhot tubfirst flooreach room has a balconycoffee standcinnamon rollstop floorrooms facesmall indoor poolnice lobbyfree breakfast isbusiness centerfitness centernice propertywildlife safarifront desk clerk
Filter
Updating list...
283 - 288 of 371 reviews
Reviewed December 13, 2011

My husband and I had stayed at two other Holiday Inn Express hotels on this trip. We felt that the company's hotels in Merced, CA and Grants Pass. OR were good value for the money and provided nicely furnished, comfortable rooms. This Holiday Inn Express in Roseburg, OR was a disappointment. The room was too small for it's two queen beds. When you added a small square dining table and two chairs and a small chest of drawers with the TV, there was barely room to store your luggage. In addition, although the outside temperature was in the 20's, the room heat had been turned completely off for some time. The room was freezing. We went out for an early dinner after turning on the heat rather than sit around in our coats waiting for the room to become habitable. The bathroom never did warm up sufficiently to allow us to take showers. The hallways are outdoors (unlike the other hotels we stayed in) which meant going down to breakfast prepared for winter weather. Breakfast was also a disappointment. The other hotels served scrambled eggs. This one served instead heavy cream sausage gravy over biscuits. Yoghurt, pancakes, and cereal were also available.

Room Tip: The housekeeper told me to stay in a room on the 1st or 2nd floor as they are warmer in winter.
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aspiring1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2011

We were a family of 3 adults and 2 kids 9 and 12. We booked the family suite which had a small kitchenette, 2 beds and a roll away bed. It was a clean large well appointed room for the money. The pool and hot tub were right outside our door which was a huge hit with the kids. The front desk staff was consistently friendly and helpful. We hadn't packed a few amenities but they didn't hesitate to help us out. The hot breakfast was great and had different items to choose from both mornings we stayed. In the lobby the fireplace was a toasty place to enjoy a hot cup of fresh coffee which was always available. There was always plenty of parking and access to the freeway was easy with a drive thru coffee shop just outside the parking lot. This hotel was great value for the money. It's not the cheapest in Roseburg but we were very happy with the hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jansago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2011

This hotel is in great shape. It was built 13 years ago and shows no ware at all.
After a long drive I stepped into the lobby. Across the room was a 30 foot river rock fireplace that filled the lobby with the warmth I was looking for.
I was early and requested an early check-in which was done with no problem. In fact, the front desk clerks were extreamly kind throughout the stay.
Hotel has an indoor heated pool and a beautiful outdoor covered hot tub that overlooks the North Umpqua river from a large grassy area. The area is easily accessable from all first floor rooms, which have small patios with a couple of chairs and a small table. All other floors (4) have small decks with the same chairs and tables. The higher the floor, the better the view.
We got a room on the first floor as we were rather tired and just wanted to rest as soon as possible. The hotel did not disapoint as the room was very nice and clean. The bathroom was large and the shower had one of the best shower heads I've ever seen.
A 26 inch HD TV, two great queen beds, a wonderful view of the river, a pleasent staff and well kept hotel, refrig and mirowave, plus a great free breakfast makes this Holiday Inn Express one we will return to again if I'm in the area.

Room Tip: All rooms face the river. The higher up you go the better the view. The hotel has a total of 5 floors.
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FishinOregon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2011

My wife & I (over 55) were very impressed with this HIE. We stayed one night on a trip down the Oregon & California coasts. The rate was very reasonable. The room was very nicely decorated and very comfortable. The breakfast was as good as any hotel we have stayed in.Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tyler82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2011

First, I think the price was outlandish for this hotel. It wasn't like it was oceanfront! It did have a balcony overlooking the river, but though that was kind of nice, it didn't warrant the expense. The room was small for all the furniture that was in there. Once we had our suitcases in there, there almost wasn't room for US! It WAS clean though, but it did have a "cleaning products" smell. Breakfast was great......but we got there very early. Not sure how it may have been later on. Overall, it was a good enough place to stay--with a friendly helpful staff, but I still think the price was out of line.

Room Tip: The balconies are nice and you can open the door to let in fresh air.
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MissouriBlondie_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews