We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (370)
Filter reviews
370 results
Traveler rating
117
156
68
19
10
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
117
156
68
19
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsriver viewumpqua riverhot tubfirst flooreach room has a balconycoffee standcinnamon rollstop floorrooms facesmall indoor poolnice lobbyfree breakfast isbusiness centerfitness centernice propertywildlife safarifront desk clerk
Filter
Updating list...
285 - 290 of 370 reviews
Reviewed September 22, 2011

My wife & I (over 55) were very impressed with this HIE. We stayed one night on a trip down the Oregon & California coasts. The rate was very reasonable. The room was very nicely decorated and very comfortable. The breakfast was as good as any hotel we have stayed in.Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tyler82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2011

First, I think the price was outlandish for this hotel. It wasn't like it was oceanfront! It did have a balcony overlooking the river, but though that was kind of nice, it didn't warrant the expense. The room was small for all the furniture that was in there. Once we had our suitcases in there, there almost wasn't room for US! It WAS clean though, but it did have a "cleaning products" smell. Breakfast was great......but we got there very early. Not sure how it may have been later on. Overall, it was a good enough place to stay--with a friendly helpful staff, but I still think the price was out of line.

Room Tip: The balconies are nice and you can open the door to let in fresh air.
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MissouriBlondie_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2011

First, the good: front desk was efficient and courteous, bed was comfortable and room clean. The not-so-good: bathrooms need updating, rooms are on the small side, especially the balcony. There is a strange smell......perhaps the cleaning products they use? It's not particularly pleasant. Breakfast is extremely crowded, not enough tables were provided for guests and there was a constant line of people to get food. The location of the breakfast area is basically the front lobby, which made it seem all the more congested.

Room Tip: Our room was on the 4th floor corner, had a nice view and was fairly quiet.
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank smalltowngalReno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2011

This hotel is everything you'd expect in a Holiday Inn which is why we picked it - what we didn't expect was the inconsiderate noise made by people who were clearly on their way to work from 3.30am on! The door to the outside banged at least 6 times in a 5 minute period around 3.30am which woke us up. Then at 4.15am the unit above us was moving around - soundproofing between floors quite poor as your hear every footstep followed by the showers going around 4.30am and from then on, it was pretty much the noise of one shower after another in units above and around us til 7 am at which time we got up. If a hotel is going to rent to workers on these early shifts(probably at corporate rates) they shouldn't subject the guests paying full rates to this disruption of sleep. Put the workers at one end of the hotel. When I checked out I brought up the noise and it was interpretted that I should have phoned the front desk about it - but is wasn't the kind of noise people shouldn't make - its the fact that we were disturbed so early with it all. Bad last day for our vacation and the 2nd most expensive place we'd stayed in our 12 days. The gentleman checking out beside me was given a credit for having to change rooms when his TV wouldn't work - we were given no such credit for a very disturbed sleep. The receptionist did allude to the fact they "may" have had firefighters staying. Would avoid stopping here in future.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank LateTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2011

After a week on the OR coast we wanted to visit the Wildlife Safari Park near Roseburg and were delighted to find a Holiday Inn Express by the river awaiting us. My back was in serious need of good support due to a much too soft mattress on the coast, and I was sorely sleep deprived upon arrival. I climbed right into bed and feel asleep even though it was only late afternoon, resting comfortably for the first time in days! Thank you, Holiday Inn Express!

We loved our room overlooking the river and found the scenic view serene and restful. A nice pagoda covering what appeared to be a hot tub was positioned along a walkway near the river with a surrounding seating area for relaxation. Our "king bed" room had the routine amenities we find at all HI Express locations. HI Express is always a good choice for the money in our travel experiences. Per usual, the room was clean and well appointed, and the bath was furnished with extra towels as well as all the little items one might have forgotten to pack. A/C, cable and data service worked properly. We chose to eat our breakfast in the room so we could enjoy the water view and watch the birds on the river while catching up on the news, so hubby fetched 2 plates for us. The food was typical HI Express. Though not spectacular it is a nice convenience.

We will definitely return to this hotel when we are in the area.

Room Tip: Riverside rooms seem to be the best choice. We found our room quiet and private.
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Skylar_B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews