We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Motel Right on the Bedach”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Silver Sands Oceanfront Motel
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Rockaway Beach
Gig Harbor, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
398 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Nice Motel Right on the Bedach”
Reviewed November 1, 2013

Nice to wake up in the morning with the Pacific Ocean right outside your window and door. The beach is 50 ft. away. Awesome view! In a nice little beach community that is mighty sleepy this time of the year. Very little tourist traffic at the end of October. Nice room with refrigerator/freezer and microwave oven. Even has Real Cups for use with the coffeemaker. Comfortable beds and clean rooms. Friendly staff. Has indoor pool and spa.

Room Tip: Ask for oceanfront.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JackfromGigHarbor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

281 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    93
    50
    20
    14
See reviews for
112
109
14
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2013

Beautiful oceanfront view and it was clean. Beyond that, this motel was a disappointment. ADA room had a bathtub with poorly positioned grab bars and no hand-held shower -- very difficult if you have to assist someone. Decor is firmly stuck in the early 1980s -- a downer. We won't be staying here again.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MetheDuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympia, Washington
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

We just came back from our 3rd annual trip to the Silver Sands Motel on Rockaway Beach, OR (the motel is literally on the beach). This is the only place that LIKES pets, and accommodates their needs (poop bags and container, hose to wash off the dog and our feet), and all the dogs here feel welcome. Needless to say, the motel is simple, not fancy. It has free wi-fi, a great jacuzzi and sauna, so some resort amenities. Lots of kids in the pool, so we don't use it. We love coming here with our pet and immediately open the windows which look out to the beautiful beach and ocean, all just steps away. The grocery, a few restaurants, everything you need is just steps away. We park our car, and generally leave it in the lot until it's time to go. Our windows are open to the sound of the ocean 24/7 -- we love it. The staff is friendly, and the place is kept up pretty well. We enjoy staying in higher end hotels, but there's something great about the no hassle, casual atmosphere at the Silver Sands that is very relaxing and keeps us coming back. We already made our reservations for next year, same time, same room.

Room Tip: All rooms have ocean view -- we like the 2nd floor which is more private. If you're on the bott...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Denise D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2013 via mobile

We've stayed here many times in the last 25 years, but sorry to say this is probably our last stay. First, this is a great location on a wonderful uncrowded beach, Unfortunately it is just too run down for the money. It is in serious need of upgrades and maintenance and is more like an run down inner city motel than a beach hotel. They had a nice pool and spa, but when we went to use the spa it was so filthy no one would use it. If you do stay there get a bottom floor room, the upper floors don't have balconies plus they allow people to party outside their doors and, and your window, that it has become so noisy with loud beer drinkers that it ruins your stay. We love Rockaway and will continue to stay there, but at a different hotel.

Stayed August 2013
Helpful?
6 Thank tlhPortland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Nice speedy check in and given an ocean view room (that we had requested). Room was quite spacious with good shower (if you have read any of our other reviews, you know we like a good shower)! Best thing was opening the back door of the hotel room and stepping out onto the beach - you only get this with the ground floor rooms though, so request them if you can. You also get a semi-private patio area with chairs and we sat there watching the sun set - really really nice thing to do. No breakfast but there are a couple of places in town but as we were heading out, we went to Pig 'n' Pancakes in Cannon Beach - great choice and great value. For the "non-Americans" - a "light" breakfast is served.

Room Tip: Request a ground floor room with the patio and ocean view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GordonandMichael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2013

This hotel could be one of those gems, but it really needs help. Our 25-year old son booked a suite/2 room unit when we were visiting him and wanted to scope out the coast. The location is great: right on the beach in a quiet town. Here's what it could be: a comfortable, clean, unpretentious hotel where a couple or family can enjoy the beach away from the Cannon Beach crowds, but close enough (about 20 minutes) to get there on a whim. Here's what it is: a hotel that needs serious exterior maintenance and interior updating. The room was clean, but the furnishings were so old that the upholstery and bedspread simply can't really be clean. The bed had a visible sag, the pillows were flat and not enough, and the bedding was so old that I didn't want it touching my face.

I didn't give it one star because the bathroom and kitchenette were clean and the management obviously made a good attempt in housekeeping. However, at what they were charging, it shouldn't look like the basic furnishings of s frat house. I don't mind funky and I've stayed in enough hostels around the world to enjoy traveling simply, but this is shabby, not "funky" and at what they're charging, it should show more care and updating.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank WorldloverSantaFe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2013

We’ve stayed there a few times now. The first two times were great. The service was good. The rooms were clean. The maid staff was very friendly. No complaints.

However our last visit leads me to believe (as others have stated) that this hotel had gone downhill.

First off we reserved a ground level room. I even called to confirm it and was told yes it was a ground level room. We originally wanted just a regular two queens basic room, but I was told there were none on the ground floor available, so we paid and extra $20 for the kitchenette unit….just so we could have a ground floor room. We arrive at the hotel only to find out there are NO ground level rooms available and we are in fact in an upstairs unit. The lady who checked us in asked if we still wanted to stay there. Knowing there were no other available room in town, we took the room but cut our stay short from two nights to one. She did refund my 2nd night although I had to call the next day when I got home because she didn’t refund the pet fee.

Strike one.

We check into the room and it appeared to be clean but very dated. It’s not fancy nor do I expect it to be at the beach. BUT the room needs some TLC. Our bedspread had a hole in it. The walls need to be wiped down. What I thought was tiny holes in the wall was actually dirt. The floor boards were dirty and there was a good pile up of sand all along the side of the floor where it meets the wall. Now I get at the beach you can’t ever get rid of all the sand in a room, but a vacuum cleaner with a hose attachment run along the floor where it meet the wall would go a long way to help this issue. The furniture is old and needs to be replaced. Our tall dresser which doubled as our TV stand, was worn and chipped in places. The nightstand and kitchen table were chipped as well. Our queen beds were uncomfortable. The bathroom was very clean.

Strike Two.

The indoor pool is great. It’s warmer than most hotel pools. Very comfortable for longs swims with the kids. It’s a salt water pool which is better for the environment and people since it uses less chlorine to keep it clean. On the first day we swam, it was a little overly salty. I told the front desk about it and they must have fixed it. The next day it wasn’t as salty. The hot tub is HOT! Very hot. Not sure what the temp was but it was way hotter than other hotels we’ve stayed out. I didn’t see it get used much when we were there…most likely due to temperature. They also have a nice sized sauna.

The view from our room was breath taking. Love being right on the beach, watching the sunset. They allow pets, up to two dogs per room. All that is required is that they be on a leash on the property and never be left alone unattended on the property. $10 per dog, per night. The walls are pretty thin so we did hear the people next to us and even below us which I found strange. We heard showers running, doors slamming.

Silver Sands is right in town, within close walking distance to shops and restaurants.

For the price they charge for room, and in the summer time are pretty full, I would expect better rooms and friendlier service. They are more expensive than many other hotels in Rockaway Beach. You are paying for being right on the beach and having an awesome view.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nennyz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rockaway Beach
3.9 mi away
Garibaldi House Inn & Suites
18.0 mi away
Tolovana Inn
Tolovana Inn
#9 of 14 in Cannon Beach
1,931 reviews
1.1 mi away
Surfside Resort
Surfside Resort
#1 of 8 in Rockaway Beach
783 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Tradewinds Motel
Tradewinds Motel
#4 of 8 in Rockaway Beach
110 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sea Haven Motel
Sea Haven Motel
#2 of 8 in Rockaway Beach
190 reviews
7.5 mi away
Sunset Surf Motel
Sunset Surf Motel
#1 of 4 in Manzanita
664 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silver Sands Oceanfront Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver Sands Oceanfront Motel

Property: Silver Sands Oceanfront Motel
Address: 215 S Pacific St, Rockaway Beach, OR 97136-9596
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Rockaway Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Rockaway Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Silver Sands Oceanfront Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located Oceanfront on the Oregon coast. Everyroom has a beathtaking view of the beach and spectacular sunsets. The city center location makes it a wonderful choice to all that Rockaway Beach has to offer. Indoor year round salt water pool and kitchen units too. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your Silver Sands Oceanfront Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silver Sands Oceanfront Hotel Rockaway Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing