We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“oceanfront relaxation”
Review of Tradewinds Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Tradewinds Motel
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Rockaway Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 10, 2009

My wife and I spent a weekend at the Tradewinds Motel near the end of August and really enjoyed it. Rockaway is on a comparitively quiet part of the north Oregon coast and has a lovely expanse of beach. The room had a nice, comfortable king bed, a kitchenette,table, chairs,a small balcony, with a couple of chairs and a perfect view of the ocean.
When we weren't exploring Rockaway and other parts of the north coast, we sat on the balcony or walked along the beach; I love the roar of the ocean so it was perfect. Needless to say, the fact there was no A/C wasn''t a problem as, although the weather was perfect, it wasn't hot enough to require it.
As a travel agent, I have booked with Neil many times and it was nice to finally meet him and stay there. If you're looking for an alternative oceanfront motel, this is it.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelguy51_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (116)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

102 - 108 of 116 reviews

Reviewed August 9, 2009

The queen size mattress was so lumpy that everytime you rolled over you almost rolled out on to the floor. The shower value took a mechanical degree to figure out how to turn the water off and on.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hamara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2008

It poured the entire two days we were at Rockaway Beach but we still enjoyed it. The fireplace was a wonderful treat on the damp chilly evenings and the view from the balcony of breakers and wind blown sand was amazing. The decor is a bit tatty but everything worked and it was clean. Large rooms with kitchen areas with the possibility of opening up two connecting rooms.
Staff were helpful and friendly.

Just a suggestion...take food with you. The store is very limited.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Locheriboll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2008

Came to this website before planning trip & it was worth it. We stayed over Memorial weekend & still only paid $139. Off season, it's probably one of the best deals around. Front of hotel was under construction but we were in back on 2nd floor. You open your back sliding door & the ocean is literally right there! Has great fireplace and kitchen area and a very generous sized room. Not the Ritz (rooms could use some updating) but still worth every penny. Owner was very nice and accomodating.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sactocandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2008

We got to Tradewinds and were greeted warmly by the staff. On first entrance to the room, we were thrilled. Absolutely what we wanted but were surprised with more. We knew the room would have an ocean view, and it did. An 8' by 10' wide sliding door with the waves crashing on the beach just below our balcony (ask for the second floor!). What we didn't know was that we would have a fireplace and small kitchen area in the room (perfect for storing the pizza from Upper Crust just across the street.) This is the PERFECT place for a relaxing and beautiful getaway or vacation. Definitely spring for the ocean view. This is a much better value than others in the area and up north in Seaside.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank evan4tpt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2008

What's not to like? Ok, if you are looking for 5 star luxury, you might want to spend a lot more money.

But for less than $100, the Tradewinds gives you unobstructed oceanfront views, (although there are non-oceanfront rooms, the vast majority face the ocean), a balcony on the second floor (and patio area from the first floor), a fireplace, a kitchen with mid-sized compact fridge, microwave, range and oven, and a nice tv with more channels than you wanna watch, all in a clean and spacious room.

Carpets are new, the couch was new (a sleeper sofa) and comfortable enough to sit in for a decent length of time, the bed was firm and comfortable. A Duraflame firelog comes with the room; if you wish to burn more than one per day, they charge $4.00 for an extra log. The owner, Neil, was accomodating in all ways, helpful with requests for a corkscrew, restaurant advice, and road conditions for the trip home.

The "negatives": If you are a light sleeper, and it is very windy, there is a whistle against the sliding glass door. It did not keep either my wife or me awake. If you need a super-firm bed, don't spend the night curled next to your parnter (the bed is very comfortable, but combined, we weigh about 300 lbs, and it sags a tiny bit then). If you require absolute silence, go elsewhere. Here you may hear neighbors open their sliding glass door or a kid running down the outside stairs: we did NOT hear conversations or the tv from our neighbors. If a scratch on the baseboards or a curled piece of wallpaper bothers you, be forewarned: this place is not the Hyatt! The outside probably deserves a new paint job in the next year or two. If you can live with those, you'll have a wonderful time here. If not, good luck in Rockaway!

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cdth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2007

Rockaway Beach was only an overnight stop for my wife and I on our two-week exploration of the Pacific Northwest. Our intent was to stay in only non-chain motels. We picked the Tradewinds based on Tripadvisor reviews and were completely pleased with our experience. Our room was not on the ocean side but access to the marvelous beach was simple. The lower price more than compensated for the limited view.
At check-in, the staff was more than helpful. We talked for a considerable time and were given information on local dining options, best places to view the Redwoods in Northern California, and “Don’t Miss” sights in San Francisco. I would heartily recommend the Tradewinds to any traveler.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Perni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rockaway Beach
17.6 mi away
Tolovana Inn
Tolovana Inn
#9 of 15 in Cannon Beach
2,328 reviews
4.3 mi away
Garibaldi House Inn & Suites
7 mi away
The Inn at Manzanita
The Inn at Manzanita
#4 of 4 in Manzanita
108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Econo Lodge Garibaldi
Econo Lodge Garibaldi
#3 of 3 in Garibaldi
90 reviews
0.6 mi away
Surfside Resort
Surfside Resort
#1 of 8 in Rockaway Beach
853 reviews
0.5 mi away
Silver Sands Oceanfront Motel
Silver Sands Oceanfront Motel
#3 of 8 in Rockaway Beach
303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tradewinds Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tradewinds Motel

Address: 523 N Pacific St, Rockaway Beach, OR 97136-9923
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Rockaway Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Rockaway Beach
Price Range: $83 - $152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Tradewinds Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Tradewinds Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tradewinds Hotel Rockaway Beach
Tradewinds Motel Rockaway Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing