We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best place to stay on the Oregon Coast!”
Review of Tradewinds Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Tradewinds Motel
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Rockaway Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Boise, Idaho
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The best place to stay on the Oregon Coast!”
Reviewed June 6, 2012

This motel offers an opportunity to stay in a quiet environment where you can enjoy the view of the Pacific Ocean from your sun deck, walk miles of beach, play, fly kites and be presented with the most beautiful sunsets I have ever seen. The rooms are clean and cozy, the beds are comfortable, and the staff are extremely accommodating. I have the opportunity to stay here frequently and it has become my home away from home. I highly recommend this motel

Room Tip: Ocean view rooms are awesome
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jhall254
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    32
    8
    5
    4
See reviews for
30
57
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Florence, Oregon
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2012

My husband and I read about the Tradewinds on Trip Advisor and decided to take advantage of their Winter Rates (which end mid-May) to check it out. We loved it, and plan on returning every year!

We booked a second-story, oceanfront room overlooking the beach, with queen bed, fireplace and kitchen. Our rate was around$100 per night, a bargain compared to adjacent properties costing $159 to $289. We took advantage of the early check-in at 3:00 in order to enjoy more hours watching the mesmerizing waves rolling in right under our Private! Balcony, and walking the beach.

Our room was surprisingly large, and very clean (except for the wall heater and it's filters). We had a sitting area with a sofa that folds out into another queen bed. The bed was firm and comfy with extra blankets, which we needed since there is no central heating in the units. The corner fireplace was delightful, and takes the chill off while adding a nice ambience. The friendly folks in the office provide the first formed log, and you can purchase others from them for $4 each.

The weather was cold and windy, but there were sun breaks. What a pleasure to be able to see and hear the beach and waves rolling in right from our bed, from the chairs on our private balcony, or from comfy chairs at our little table located by the large sliding doors. Also, there are several eateries located an easy walking distance away. Our favorite was Dos Rocas, a Mexican food place with strong margaritas and a specialty of fish tacos.

Our kitchen was amazing: half-fridge, microwave, coffeemaker, four burner stove and oven, and enough dishes for up to 6 people. It's fully equipped with pots and pans and gadgets galore. The only thing missing was a corkscrew: bring your own if you need one. Be forewarned, though: the only little mini-market's prices are quite high. Lay in provisions at the Freddy's in Tillamook or drive about ten miles up the road to a market in Bay City.

Room Tip: It's worth it to splurge for a fireplace, and an oceanfront room is a MUST! If you're whale...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KeyOnTheCoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2012

We loved staying here. We had a first floor room facing the beach. You can walk down to the beach from the balcony. The room had a wood-burning fireplace, comfortable bed, full kitchen and awesome shower head! Totally dated room, but it was clean, the view was breathtaking... our stay was totally awesome.

Room Tip: Face the ocean!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SerenaM234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tigard, OR
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2012

We had not been to Rockaway Beach since I was a child and were looking for a nice affordable motel right on the beach. This was just the ticket! The motel is older but very clean. Our room had a gorgeous view. You stepped right out the door and were on the beach. It was very stormy the weekend we were there -amazing surf to watch! We enjoyed the fireplace. Great stretch of beach to walk and beachcomb. Found several great restaurants nearby. Good motel for the money. Would definitely recommend!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brixley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2012

No way to beat the location and price. Stayed a night with the kidos and really enjoyed the easy access to the beach. Close to the fun family activities of the charming downtown area.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cutlerallstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2012

Recommended by friends, this is a really nice little inexpensive hotel. Very spacious and clean. Neil and his family are attentive and yet unobtrusive. Great on the beach location. Bed was comfy and the kitchenette well stocked. Minor quibbles, no microwave, intermittent wifi , a couple of the AC plugs were worn out and the heater was a bit noisy but in the scheme of things amazing experience and value. We are from Canada and have similar experiences available on Vancouver Island but Rockaway and this hotel will be a repeat visit!!

Room Tip: Top floor ocean worth the extra $
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank briguy1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Idaho
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
Reviewed February 17, 2012

Rockaway Beach Oregon is a great town. This motel is tucked away from the highway and right on the beach. Our room was very large for the price we paid. There was a well stocked kitchen so we decided to cook dinner. Everything I needed was right there. The room was very clean. We were provided with a fire log to burn in the fireplace. It was very nice. Then the main attraction is that the ocean is right outside the sliding patio doors. There is a small grassy area with picnic tables which leads out onto the beach. Everyone was very friendly. I loved this motel and the town of Rockaway Beach.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JulieV42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rockaway Beach
4.3 mi away
Garibaldi House Inn & Suites
17.5 mi away
Tolovana Inn
Tolovana Inn
#9 of 14 in Cannon Beach
2,027 reviews
4.4 mi away
Econo Lodge Garibaldi
Econo Lodge Garibaldi
#3 of 3 in Garibaldi
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.1 mi away
Shilo Inn Suites Hotel - Tillamook
10.9 mi away
The Ashley Inn of Tillamook
0.6 mi away
Surfside Resort
Surfside Resort
#1 of 8 in Rockaway Beach
806 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tradewinds Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tradewinds Motel

Property: Tradewinds Motel
Address: 523 N Pacific St, Rockaway Beach, OR 97136-9923
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Rockaway Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Rockaway Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Tradewinds Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Tradewinds Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tradewinds Hotel Rockaway Beach
Tradewinds Motel Rockaway Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing