We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“View is great - Price is right - Room, not so much...”
Review of Surfside Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Surfside Resort
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Rockaway Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 25, 2010

Loved the view, amazing sunset! Our room faced the water and it was so close to the beach you could almost touch it from the deck. Loved that part... :o)

Room not so much! Carpet around the bed had food crumbs and popcorn shells, not sure when it had last been vacuumed. Was not happy to see that the chairs supplied for the deck had not been cleaned recently as there were bird droppings on the seat and the chairs were stored in the room that way. Room needs a deep-cleaning. Window sills and sliding glass door frame had mold in places. Yuck! I was really willing to overlook all this because of the view, value, and great staff, but the final straw was while in the bathroom brushing my teeth, an earwig crawled out from between the sink and countertop! UGH!!

I would love to stay there again, my husband and I loved it otherwise. Just hope the cleaning level gets bumped up a bit.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tiggers1008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (851)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

814 - 820 of 851 reviews

Reviewed May 25, 2010

When I stay at the Surfside, I know my room will be clean and comfortable. They have internet access, and a clean, bright, cheerful pool. Easy beach access, and they are close to shopping (but not too close). The managers are so friendly and knowledgable. Ask them a question about where to eat, or what kind of things to do, and they will tell you what, where, why, and how many miles away it is.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TWendlandt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2010

My family and I stay here every time we go to the beach. It is great the rooms are beautiful and have a great view of the ocean. It is also right outside of town so it is nice and quiet but you are still in walking distance to all of the little shops. Also the staff is great they are very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jessielynnGresham_OR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2010

there was a 20% off coupon online. When we got there, I told the person at the desk if we could get the discount, and he said he needed the printed coupon. I don't see how that's very convenient to the traveler who probably does not have a printer handy to make this happen. We concluded that they obviously are not hurting for business if they were willing to basically turn us away for this silly reason.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank flyingtetas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2010

if you stay just you and your other get a corner room .such a nice view. the price was good and the emplo.was nice and upbeat.the pool was nice as well.had a great stay we will be back

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stacybutterfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2009

I have rented this room once a year for the last three years for my mom . This year my mother decided to take the children swimming. After getting out of the pool the manager told my mom very rudely that my 4 year old and 6 year old were not allowed to swim in the pool because they were not guests of the hotel they were "locals". I could not believe it. I see from the other reviews she is just a nasty woman. Otherwise the hotel is great. The owner should fire her and see his reviews go up.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tommy415
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
warnerportland, manager at Surfside Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2009

We are very sorry you could not enjoy in our pool.
Please be understand that our pool can be used for guest only who regested in motel due to security and safety.
If you told us that you just visited your mother and want to use pool with your children you could be allowed to enter pool,
But we did't know you are family with her.
Sorry again and we want to your mother will be back and you can enjoy with your mother.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2009

Went on a trip with the family. Price was good considering we got one of the ocean view rooms. Rooms were clean, and the kitchen had all the things we needed for cooking, and staff was friendly. Being right there on the beach was nice, and having a pool was a bonus as well for the kids. Definitely would recommend to others.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JHKTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rockaway Beach
17 mi away
Tolovana Inn
Tolovana Inn
#9 of 15 in Cannon Beach
2,303 reviews
17.1 mi away
Inn at Cannon Beach
Inn at Cannon Beach
#3 of 15 in Cannon Beach
1,712 reviews
4.9 mi away
Garibaldi House Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.4 mi away
The Ashley Inn of Tillamook
17.3 mi away
The Ocean Lodge
The Ocean Lodge
#2 of 15 in Cannon Beach
1,670 reviews
1.1 mi away
Silver Sands Oceanfront Motel
Silver Sands Oceanfront Motel
#3 of 8 in Rockaway Beach
303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Surfside Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surfside Resort

Address: 101 NW 11th Ave, Rockaway Beach, OR 97136-9525 (Formerly Surfside Motel)
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Rockaway Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Rockaway Beach
Price Range: $70 - $185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Surfside Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have a beautiful oceanfront view, heated pool, gas fireplace, and balcony as well as a a variety of accommodations to meet your needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Surfside Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Surfside Hotel Rockaway Beach
Surfside Motel Rockaway Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing