We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Back again!”
Review of Surfside Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Surfside Resort
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Rockaway Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Oregon City, Oregon
1 review
“Back again!”
Reviewed April 14, 2014

This has become our favorite place to stay at the beach. For people who have difficulty climbing stairs, having a ramp to first level rooms in Bldg. E is a plus, as is the handicapped accessible bathroom with roll in shower and raised stool. We appreciate having a kitchen which is more than adequately furnished. Staff is friendly and helpful. The pool is very nice.We love the quiet community of Rockaway and the clean beach.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank judy o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

763 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    291
    320
    91
    29
    32
See reviews for
307
276
54
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (294)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2014 via mobile

This hotel is perfectly situated on the beach! There is a nice beach access point to take you out to the beach. I've read some of the other reviews and it seems they've replaced the couches which are great! The new pillows are nice but the bed is hard. It is nice to have a kitchen in the room. The hotel is a little outdated but it doesn't really matter. Everything worked! The shower head is a little low, but we made it work. :) The staff are incredibly friendly and we had an amazing time!

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Shanell C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gladstone, Oregon
1 review
Reviewed April 9, 2014

we had an wonderful time and enjoyed ourselves greatly. bed could have been king size but slept good, nice and quiet, restful.
we will definate;y return as they also gave me a discount as i am a 100% disabled veteran. EVEN WITH EXTRA CHARGE FOR OUR DOGS WE WERE VERY HAPPY WITH ALL ABOUT RESORT

Room Tip: corner rooms for view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise ID
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 2, 2014

After considering several places on the Coast we chose Surfside. The reasons why were the amazing value, view and pool for the little fish in our crew. We certainly were not dissapointed. It was quite and at times it made me wonder if were the only family there. Very comfortable beds and nice ocean views. The Staff was very helpful and accomadating. Rockaway Beach is our new favorite spot. We surely will be back. Recommended!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jennmof2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Battle Ground, Washington
Level Contributor
39 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2014

We are here, March 29, 2014..quite a blustery morning, with lightening, thunder and lots of wind! The beach view, and access is wonderful, and the resident squirrels were quite amusing! The room is dated, the couch horrendous. It's an old wicker with loose cushions that has seen better days. Very uncomfortable! There were a few hairs in the bathroom, which is gross, but the fireplace is great. The full kitchen is handy, even though, again the appliances are quite dated, except for the dishwasher. Overall, we are enjoying our visit, and getting more familiar with Rockaway, and surrounding areas.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gynenel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasco, Washington
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 20, 2014

I have stayed at several places in Rockaway Beach. This is by far the best and we will be back. Cannot ask for a better staff. The room and kitchen area were clean and well stocked. The balcony gave us unlimited views of the beautiful waves and beach. The gas fireplace made for a pleasant evening. Being able to bring our dogs for their fun also, was an added bonus.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, WA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2014

The room was immaculate (strong febreze smell). The view and beach access can't be beat. An easy, small staircase takes you to the sand.

The front desk was pleasant and efficient. The room was very dated. Great fireplace though. The bed was very hard and neither my husband nor myself slept well. The shower is for small people - my husband (6 foot 1) could not get the water to hit his head, even when he crunched down. I am 5'6" and it hit me at the back of the head. I found the tub comfortable, it was too small for hubby. The wicker couch and the kitchen chairs were also uncomfortable. We were on the bottom floor and heard every little noise from upstairs. It's a shame because you can tell they take pride in the hotel, it just desperately needs updating in terms of comfort.

Room Tip: Upper floor corner unit is what you want for quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarafina77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rockaway Beach
4.9 mi away
Garibaldi House Inn & Suites
16.9 mi away
Tolovana Inn
Tolovana Inn
#9 of 14 in Cannon Beach
1,860 reviews
17.3 mi away
The Ocean Lodge
The Ocean Lodge
#2 of 14 in Cannon Beach
1,513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Silver Sands Oceanfront Motel
Silver Sands Oceanfront Motel
#3 of 8 in Rockaway Beach
274 reviews
0.6 mi away
Tradewinds Motel
Tradewinds Motel
#4 of 8 in Rockaway Beach
109 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sea Haven Motel
Sea Haven Motel
#2 of 8 in Rockaway Beach
189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Surfside Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surfside Resort

Property: Surfside Resort
Address: 101 NW 11th Ave, Rockaway Beach, OR 97136-9525 (Formerly Surfside Motel)
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Rockaway Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Rockaway Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Surfside Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have a beautiful oceanfront view, heated pool, gas fireplace, and balcony as well as a a variety of accommodations to meet your needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com and HRS so you can book your Surfside Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Surfside Hotel Rockaway Beach
Surfside Motel Rockaway Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing