We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT PRICE oceanfront with fireplace , kitchen and flatscreen!”
Review of Surfside Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Surfside Resort
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Rockaway Beach
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“GREAT PRICE oceanfront with fireplace , kitchen and flatscreen!”
Reviewed January 2, 2013

This motel has an indoor pool, and couldn't get any closer to the ocean. The view is great, the rooms are clean, flatscreen tv and dvd, full kitchen. I love the fireplace. You are getting everything you would get somewhere else and more, but the prices are much better here. The only thing that reflects the affordable rates is the bedding. Only two pillows, and those motel comforters that are thin, scratchy, and unattractive. I brought some extra bedding, though, and I figure I saved at least 70 dollars staying here compared to my other usual coast spots. We had a perfect stay and plan to come back soon!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bazinga80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

782 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    295
    329
    93
    31
    34
See reviews for
316
285
55
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (299)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2012

Nice clean resort right on the beach. The Kitchen was fully stocked it had eveything we needed from the stockpot to cook our crab, wire whip to make gravy, coffee filters they even had ice cube trays in the freezer. The beds were comfortable also. The staff at the front office was really nice. They had movies and games at the front office.

Room Tip: Get an ocean front. I would definately stay here again!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pfoxmn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taylorsville, Kentucky
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2012

Stayed for two nights during a business trip. This place is fabulous for a secluded beach get-away, but not so much for business or luxury-minded guests. Overall, it was fine -- I would definitely stay here again.

First, the good.... The location is great! It's right on the beach, with a stunning coastline jutting out to the right, and the twin rocks just down the coast to your left. The room I had (209, I think) was a corner room with an ocean-front balcony, very large, with a full kitchen - including a dishwasher. Beach access was very easy, just down a short flight of stairs. The older couple staffing the front desk are friendly and hospitable -- like visiting favorite grandparents. The rate was quite reasonable: about $101 per night (with a 15% internet coupon), which was slightly lower than all other beach-front properties in Rockaway Beach at the time of my stay.

But there are some downsides. There are no elevators, which I've learned is actually common for such properties, and not a big deal for me (but might be for others). The balconies have floor-to-roof privacy walls only for a foot or two out on each side -- which is great for an unobstructed view up and down the coast, but not so great for privacy or feeling secure, as guests could theoretically easily hop from one balcony to another over the railings. (It was not an issue when I was there, as my building seemed to be mostly empty, but may be an issue during high-occupancy times.) There is no on-site restaurant. The closest restaurants/bars are about a 20-minute walk or 5-minute drive into the main strip of Rockaway Beach.

For business guests, don't count on the free wifi. It worked fine my first day, but went out my second day. When I called to inquire, the front desk lady politely replied, "Oh yes, someone else called to report a problem." Period. No offer to fix it. When I pressed, she graciously explained that, "only the owner could fix it," and he was never there. I asked if she could contact the owner; there was silence on the line, then an offer to call maintenance to come in and turn it off and back on. (This was a weekday, early afternoon -- not a weekend or evening -- they had to CALL maintenance to come in?) I agreed that might help, because there were no other options offered. I don't know if maintenance tried or not; the wifi didn't work during the rest of my stay, and I didn't try to get help again. To be fair, I was too relaxed, enjoying my book on the deck.

There are other minor good and bad things, which may seem picky, but some readers may appreciate knowing. (I admit that I travel frequently on business, and am accustomed to business hotels, but I also travel with my kids/family, often in less-expensive accommodations, so I think my perspective is grounded.) The 1980's wicker sofa with old, worn-out cushions was not welcoming; I did not sit on it during my stay. Not a problem for me, as I enjoyed reading on the plastic chair on the balcony, but a family should not expect plush couch/chairs. The dishwasher worked fine, and dishwasher soap was provided -- bonus. A sink rag and towel were also provided, fresh and clean, but the sponge "scrubbie" was obviously well-used and nasty. A pack of sponges costs so little -- why is it not replaced with each new guest? The coffee maker was completely disgusting: a 1990's or earlier model, with coffee stains from at least a decade of use. It would cost maybe $10 - $20 to replace the coffee maker, so I don't understand why such a small thing (with such a big impact) is not upgraded every year or so, in a room that's $100+ in the off-season. Finally, the fireplace is gas, with a switch, and looked lovely when I first lit it. But within minutes, the flame went out, and I was left wondering if the gas was still running into my room? I just turned it off - as it was quite warm during my stay - and did not remember to mention this to the front desk staff.

Still, overall, this is a nice beach-front property -- big rooms, full kitchens, ocean-front balconies, easy beach access -- perfect for a beach get-away! And the staff is extremely pleasant and hospitable. I would definitely stay here again, and would recommend this property to others for a beach get-away.

Room Tip: Ocean-front rooms with decks have fabulous views! (But no elevators)
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Christi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon, United States
Level 6 Contributor
424 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2012

we returned here again, and the stay was fabulous as usual. the staff are always so friendly, the place is clean and relaxing, and the pool refreshing. we will always come annually for our coast vacation.

Room Tip: ocean front to view the sea from your balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Teresa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2012

The Oceanfront Views from the hotel is what makes this place so great and the rates are usually 1/2 the price as everyone else around. The actual resort itself is kind of old and the beds aren't the most comfortable. But it's clean and the resort also has an indoor pool, so if it's too cold to swim in the ocean, we just enjoy the time on the beach and still take the kids swimming at the pool. The staff are always friendly and the private beach entrance makes this place a win-win to get away together as family with little kids. We have stayed here 2 or 3 times and always come back here anytime we want to get away to the coast - especially when out-of-state family come to visit.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Susan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2012

I usually over plan family trips to the Oregon coast but decided to wing it the third week of August. No reservations and no real plan on where to stay. Landed in Rockaway and the first hotel heading South was Surfside. By no means a resort. A two BR ocean front room was available so we looked at the room before committing to stay. First impression was underwhelming. Very dated and not on the high end of clean. One of those places where the less I touch the better. Was getting late and the room view was great so we stayed. Nothing eventful except the ants that swarmed our food in the kitchen area and the grumpy woman at the front desk (actually, she was amusing). Easy walk to the beach, wonderful ocean view but can't recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pdxvtxer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2012

We were only here for two days, but I would have stayed here a week. It was a good size for two people and had a wonderful view of the ocean. The beach was delightful to walk.

This isn't a luxury place by any means, but the bed, living room area, and kitchette were clean and comfortable. The hotel is in a great place not more than 10 minutes to delicious restaurants.

Room Tip: Ask for a direct view of the beach. We stayed on the first floor, but it was really like being on th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelExperiences1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rockaway Beach
4.9 mi away
Garibaldi House Inn & Suites
16.9 mi away
Tolovana Inn
Tolovana Inn
#9 of 14 in Cannon Beach
1,928 reviews
17.3 mi away
The Ocean Lodge
The Ocean Lodge
#2 of 14 in Cannon Beach
1,540 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Silver Sands Oceanfront Motel
Silver Sands Oceanfront Motel
#3 of 8 in Rockaway Beach
280 reviews
0.6 mi away
Tradewinds Motel
Tradewinds Motel
#4 of 8 in Rockaway Beach
110 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sea Haven Motel
Sea Haven Motel
#2 of 8 in Rockaway Beach
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Surfside Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surfside Resort

Property: Surfside Resort
Address: 101 NW 11th Ave, Rockaway Beach, OR 97136-9525 (Formerly Surfside Motel)
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Rockaway Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Rockaway Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Surfside Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have a beautiful oceanfront view, heated pool, gas fireplace, and balcony as well as a a variety of accommodations to meet your needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Surfside Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Surfside Hotel Rockaway Beach
Surfside Motel Rockaway Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing