We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Right on the beach! Very friendly staff and nice town.”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Rockaway Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Rockaway Beach Resort
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Rockaway Beach
Plano, Texas
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Right on the beach! Very friendly staff and nice town.”
Reviewed August 4, 2013

We were looking for places to stay in Seaside or Canon Beach but couldn't find any...thank god!! Rockaway Beach is a gem! It's a beautiful beach and there aren't thousands of people...at times we were the only ones on the beach and it was high season (late July). Easy access to Tillamook (about 20 minutes) and Seaside (40 minutes) if you want to visit those places...but you'll be happy you stayed here!

The resort is right on the beach...look out the balcony to a complete, unobstructed view of the surf. The room was clean, spacious, and nicely appointed with some artwork and sturdy furniture. The kitchen had a fridge, stove, microwave, coffee maker, silverware, dishes, pots, pans, utensils, etc... Our unit had two bathrooms but many only have one.

This is not exactly a hotel so they don't clean your rooms every day. If you need more towels or linens, the laundry room is open on the first floor so you can grab them whenever you need. Also they have a decent tenant laundry room which we did make use of.

The staff were extremely friendly and helpful...even gave some good recommendations. Beware that the city shuts down pretty early...you'll want to have dinner before 7:00 (and in some cases 6:00) if you're not cooking in your room.

All in all this place was just about perfect for our family of 4...would have been nicer for the kids to not share a hide-a-bed but they slept well so that's a nit-pick. I would stay here again in a second!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with two bathrooms if you have a family.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dkammer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    19
    2
    1
    3
See reviews for
15
15
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bremerton, Washington
Level Contributor
38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

This resort was perfect for our week on the Oregon Coast. The staff was very friendly and helpful. We were in the South Building which doesn't have balconies, but it was an extremely roomy 1 bedroom that could sleep 6, 2 nice bathrooms. Living room, kitchen and bedroom had big windows looking right out the ocean. You could hear the waves even with the windows closed. The kitchen had everything we needed. It is an older resort, but well kept, very clean. I would recommend it, if you were looking for a quiet low key vacation spot.

Room Tip: We had 3 adults and 2 young children staying here. The set up of the bedroom was perfect with puttin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank veebeeque
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2012

We really liked this place. It was clean and roomy and the view is wonderful. The resort itself does not have a lot of activities, but the area offers a lot. All units have balconies overlooking the Pacific Ocean. Staff was friendly. We would stay here again.

Room Tip: They all overlook the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank novarw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clackamas, Oregon, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 29, 2012

We found the staff to very friendly and helpful. Gave out a lot of info on the surrounding area and events going on during the week. Older resort but Unit was updated, clean and very well equipped kitchen. We were in the north building and so enjoy our ocean view from our balcony. Looking forward to our next visit.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank LaDonnaS964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
portland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2012

The view and beach were wonderful. But because it is a condo, the people there treat you like an uninvited guest. The are bossy and condescending. The numerous elderly people stop short at waving their fist and yelling at you to get off their lawn. I would prefer to spend my money on a place that is friendly and welcoming. No kids in the pool after 9 and they are yelling at your kid at 8:55pm, don't jump feet first in the tiny pool, don't make noise before 9am, don't have a dog in your car, don't walk in your bare feet, don't have 2 cars, no free wifi. Sheesh.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank cjhunton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troutdale, Oregon
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2012

We stayed there for a week during New Years and had a great time! They even had a party for us all in their rec room--fun! We never used the pool, though it looked nice. The view from our balcony was super--the ocean was RIGHT there! the kitchen was a little small for cooking a meal, but adequate. Loved the Murphy bed in the living room--great idea! The only thing that we were disapointed in was the list of the antique store s around--very outdated and most of them were closed --for years! We wasted a whole day going all around the area trying to find them--the best ones were in Wheeler, and the one in Rockaway right on the highway. Otherwise, the area was great for sightseeing. We'd return there again sometime--for sure!

Room Tip: The rooms on the north building have the fireplaces and the balconies. The corner units have the mos...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank James W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redmond, Oregon
Level Contributor
222 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2011

Great place when it is sunny. Wonderful place to stay inside and watch the ocean when it is not. The rooms are very clean and efficient in the use of space. We've stayed their with our whole family, this time it was just me and my wife. We thoroughly enjoyed playing games while watching the ocean when it was raining. When it wasn't, we would take 1 - 1 1/2 hour walks on the (uncrowded) beach.
Employees are very helpful and friendly. We learned about two new restaurants (both were very good) from the front desk staff.

Room Tip: All are oceanfront. Most have two bathrooms, a few only have one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ghodecker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rockaway Beach
4.4 mi away
Garibaldi House Inn & Suites
17.8 mi away
The Ocean Lodge
The Ocean Lodge
#2 of 14 in Cannon Beach
1,512 reviews
17.5 mi away
Tolovana Inn
Tolovana Inn
#9 of 14 in Cannon Beach
1,852 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Surfside Resort
Surfside Resort
#1 of 8 in Rockaway Beach
763 reviews
0.5 mi away
Silver Sands Oceanfront Motel
Silver Sands Oceanfront Motel
#3 of 8 in Rockaway Beach
274 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tradewinds Motel
Tradewinds Motel
#4 of 8 in Rockaway Beach
110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rockaway Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rockaway Beach Resort

Property: Rockaway Beach Resort
Address: 615 N Pacific St, Rockaway Beach, OR 97136-9924
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Rockaway Beach
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Rockaway Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Rockaway Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Also Known As:
Rockaway Beach Hotel Rockaway Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing