We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Pack light! Everything you need is at this house!”
other travelers have booked this property
Rec room with foosball and games
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Rec room with foosball and games
Welcome to the Scallywag Beachhouse! Front yard in bloom.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
19 reviews
Rec room with foosball and games
Welcome to the Scallywag Beachhouse!
Front yard in bloom.
Dining room table expands to seat 4.
Living room
Kitchen: Well-equipped, bright and clean
Seating for two more at the breakfast bar.
Up the stairs.
Bedroom 2: Full over full bunk (150 lb limit on the top bunk), movie streaming, toys and atari retro
Backyard: Fire pit, picnic table, and a chest of beach toys.
Backyard: Walkway to fire pit
Darts!
Bedroom 2: Toys
Bedroom 2: Flatscreen, movie streaming, toys and an Atari retro system
Bedroom 3: Queen bed with flatscreen t.v. and movie streaming
Bedroom 2
Top of stairs
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Rockaway Beach, Oregon

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 19 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Proasst
Portland, OR
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“If the timing and price is right for you, I would say go for it.”
Reviewed August 18, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

While we didn't have the best stay due to some construction/repair issues, I don't think that would be the norm for this property. The owner was accommodating and I believe she ran into issues with her repair crew. She was kind enough to compensate us for one night of our stay. That being said, we were told the crew was coming back again, before we would check-out, which was frustrating because the repair was very loud. The whole issue sort of put a damper on our entire trip.

Also, the owner was kind enough to email me instructions to get in when my Tripadvisor app didn't work on my phone en-route, which I appreciated.

The house is comfortable - could use a little organizing and a little better deep cleaning, and better TV instructions, but it was acceptable. It was nice to have spices, some zip locks, etc. in the kitchen that we could use. The back yard was fun to use. I didn't realize it was a wood fire pit, and that was a nice surprise. From the wording, I thought it was gas so we didn't get to use it the first night because we didn't have wood (thinking it was gas). So, if you rent it, know that it is wood! We couldn't get the BBQ to work and thought it might have run out of propane. All little things and could be easily fixed or overlooked.

The game room was a plus for sure with a child along.

If the timing and price is right for you, I would say go for it. I don't think you will be disappointed. Again, I think our issues were not the norm. It's a short drive to the beach or a several block walk, located on a quiet street.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The backyard and the game room
Liked least: The kitchen needs some bowls/food storage, etc. The closet door in the bunk room came off rails easily, the unexpected construction issue
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marjinord...
Boise, Idaho
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Pack light! Everything you need is at this house!”
Reviewed July 27, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

A friend and I rented this house to take our kids to the beach. All total there were 6 of us. We had plenty of room to spread out and not get in each other's way. We loved that the kids could play on the foosball table or upstairs on the video games while we sat with a glass of wine by the firepit in the backyard. Hummingbirds came to visit the many flowers in the yard (honeysuckle, jasmine, rosemary, and many others) while we were out there. We also picked blackberries across the street from the Scallywag. There were a bunch of board games for the kids to play the morning that we had rain, too. Both queen beds were comfortable...no aching backs! The house was spotless. We threw meals in the crockpot (also provided) before we hit the beach so dinner was ready when we returned. I will definitely recommend this house to anyone with babies...wish I'd found someplace so equipped when my kids were little! There were child safety gates, plugs in the outlets, a highchair, a play and pack, and the list goes on. The owner is very helpful but unobtrusive. I appreciated how quickly she replied when I had questions. Definitely renting here again.

Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morgan T
Powell, Wyoming
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Literally, minutes to the beach!”
Reviewed April 12, 2016 for a stay in April 2016

What a great vacation home! 3 BR, 2 BA, clean and perfectly appointed.
Cozy furniture, comfortable beds, clean linens.
What a fun place for our family to stay for spring break. We had coffee and bonfires on the patio and walked or rode our bikes to the beach everyday!
We baked and watched a couple of movies too. Totally relaxing, couldn't have been better.
Highly recommend for couples or families.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Walking to the beach
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DC1843
Portland,OR
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great place, convenient for us”
Reviewed March 21, 2015 for a stay in March 2015

This was a lovely place to stay. We were busy most of the time at a retreat nearby, so didn't get to play foosball and all the games in the closet. Would like to have had more time here to just relax. It's a nice house, and even the bunk bed was comfortable to sleep on.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness
Liked best: Convenience and price!
Liked least: I wish the stairs had banisters on both sides, all the way up.
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dusty W
1 review
“We'll be doing this again.”
Reviewed July 29, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

Very nice house. Quaint. Well stocked. Obviously well cared for. Easy to stay. Look forward to doing it again.Thank you for everything.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 8, 2014
Thanks for the kind words. We're so glad you had a great time!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CCraftonR...
Boise, Idaho
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great place to stay with Friends.”
Reviewed October 17, 2013 for a stay in October 2013
1
person found this review helpful

The house was very comfortable and well stocked with all kinds of books, or games to play in case of foul weather. Luckily we had sunshine most of the time and spent a lot of time on the beach at rockaway and other towns up and down the coast. Having dish network and wifi available was great because we didn't have to miss our football teams game. Having a washer and dryer at our disposal was an added bonus. The kitchen was stocked with some staples and spices and everything we needed for cooking in. I would definitely stay here again. The owners have given a lot of attention to details to make anyones stay a pleasant one.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: All the amenities available to us.
Liked least: The TV/Dish network set up was a little confusing.
Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WA
Reviewed September 21, 2013 for a stay in August 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing