We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More rules than a correctional facility”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Economy Inn Reedsport
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Reedsport
Carson City, Nevada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“More rules than a correctional facility”
Reviewed August 7, 2013

We booked this motel based on a reveiw site which gave it 4 stars. "Hotels.com". Wow really? Room very small but clean. This place should be a $50.00 a night motel. On The 101 so noisy anyways. No a/c so have to keep windows open. People arriving all hours of the night stomping upstairs til 1 in the morning. Rules up the wazoo. Don't park here, don't park there. We're here for "Dunesfest" I don't want my quads out back un protected. Don't soil the towels or you'll be charged. Don't cook, clean or eat any seafood of any kind. Do you know your near the ocean, rivers and lakes? The kicker was the little envelope left each day soliciting tips for the cleaning staff. Tackey or what? I usually would always leave a few bucks behind for them. But, when solicited I left nothing. I can't believe a business owner would allow this type of practice. We will never stay there again. Nice new Best Western across the street nearly the same price.

Room Tip: Don't stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jon TT T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
economyinnreedsport, General Manager at Economy Inn Reedsport, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Yes You were here on Our Busiest weekend of the Year, And Yet All the Rules were Broken and yet No one was Charged a dime extra,And No You Cant park on the Back lawn as it coud Catch the grass on fire and Burn the place down.We Have 40 rooms and No we Don'r have Parking for Everyone's toy haulers, And yet in the Last 6 year NO ONE has reported Any Loss. of Any kind. YES we Have Alot of Rules and We don't Like having Drunks or Noisy people Bothering all the guest. Or the Smell of Crab dumped here.(And Crab Was cooked Here that weekend) There are Place's for that at the Water Front.And As for Tips to the staff. It is the Custom at Most motels to allow tips for the staff, They only Make Min wage and Only work Part time a year, And They work Very Hard Cleaning Up after the Mess of Others.. While Everyone else is Playing and Having Fun The Staff is Working Hard.Every Year People as Your self Complain. But if we didn't have rules Things would be Much worse.and we are 1/2 the price of BW so enjoy your stay there.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    17
    17
    5
    14
See reviews for
15
22
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Machynlleth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
250 reviews
110 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 190 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2013

Will not be returning here, customer service on check in left a lot to be desired, whilst checking in a personal conversation was continued with some random people (not guests) who were sat in the office. The counter was covered in rules - many of which were common sense - I do not need to be told not to cook fish in a hotel room!

The room left a lot to be desired. It seemed damp, and there was an unpleasant aroma to the room. Even though it was torrential raining we had the door and bathroom window open for some time after we arrived to freshen the room up! The room was cleaned to a low standard. Although fresh towels had been provided, the towel of a previous guest was still hanging on the back of the bathroom door! The bed had seen better days.

Depressing view from the room - closed swimming pool and disused Shell garage out the front, Les Schwab tire depot out the back. Sitting in the room with its drab decor left us feeling miserable - so we went for a walk around the nearby Safeway store to cheer us up!

Breakfast was served in the unpleasant lobby - we were only willing to eat the cereal bars which were pre packed. The breakfast was a pretty lousy substandard affair of cheap foodstuffs and then they had the audacity to put a pot out asking for tips! The only tip I would give is one to fellow tripadvisor users - STAY SOMEWHERE ELSE!

The place was only slightly less expensive than the nearby Best Western, and although I generally try to avoid the Best Western chain, if I was in Reedsport again and had to chose between there or here I would definitely go to the Best Western.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rtl2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
economyinnreedsport, General Manager at Economy Inn Reedsport, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Sorry Ron You did Not Like our little motel and That It was Not Up to Your World Traveling Standards, However If you Had So many Problems Why did you Not Say anything to the Staff at the Time of your Stay? We Have Been training New Staff and it Has Been a Bit Confusing And We are sorry You did Not Get the 5 star Treatment you feel you are use too, This is An Older motel and We do the best we can.Most every one else Has Not had the Problems you had here....I would Say that the Next time you have a Problem Bring it to someone's Attention ,If You had Seen All the Signs You would have Seen one That ASK TO PLEASE REPORT ANY PROBLEMS SO WE CAN FIX THEM !!And If we Don't Post signs People Will do the Things we Don't want Done,LIKE Cook Sea food in the Rooms.Have a Great life ..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Reedsport hotels

Nottingham
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2013

I want to comment more here about the internet booking agent we used, genares.com. We are cycling the Pacific Coast Highway and so we have to book ahead as we cannot just go on to the next town if places are full. For this stop we used a site, genares.com. As it was quoting $118 we expected a nice motel. When we got there the rate the hotel charged was $75. It seems that GENARES has a nice little racket going here. So avoid is my advice. As to the Economy Inn, the staff were just helpful. It is ok for a night stop and if you avoid Genares it is not expensive.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank simonsaysNottingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glendale, Arizona
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 26, 2013

I knew I was in trouble when the sign on the front desk says "NO COOKING OR CLEANING OF ANY SEAFOOD IN THE ROOMS OR FRONT PARKING LOT." But, I was tired from a full day of driving and the host behind the counter was very nice, so I got the room. The first problem is they use the old style room door keys that look like they have a cellphone sim card in them. The second problem was there were no blackout curtains, so the light from the parking lot lights shined into the room. The third problem was there was no traditional heating and cooling unit. There was an unlabeled an unmarked knob on the wall that appeared to control an old-style oil-based floor board heating system with no A/C to be found. The fourth problem was the bed felt like it was purchased at a Army surplus store 50 years ago. Maybe dirty fisherman like it here because of its distance to the water (based on the sign in the lobby, anyway). But for us, the bed was very uncomfortable and the room was way too bright with the curtains closed. It was not a good night's sleep.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carey H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
economyinnreedsport, General Manager at Economy Inn Reedsport, responded to this review, June 2, 2013
Hi Carey, Well sorry you had an unhappy stay, We are sorry our motel Did not meet Your standards, We are an older motel, And we are On the Coast, Maybe you would have been better off at BW at Double the price,or one of the other motels that allow seafood cooking in their rooms if you enjoy that smell. We understand you are use to Air Conditioning Living in Hot Az. But here at the coast the Temps Avg,60-72 degs. We asked if you wanted a Delux room and you Husben(who Checked in) said No, a baisc room would be fine.Our delux rooms have the Newest TVs and Beds in room coffee,and extra pillows. and May have made a Diffrence.But we do the best we can ..again Nice car..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada, United States
1 review
Reviewed March 30, 2013

Very dated room, although the carpet was new and the bed resembled Motel 6, not bad. Lighting very poor, and old. Fair amount of noise from hwy 101. Room has microwave and small refrigerator, better than Motel 6. Nice staff.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
economyinnreedsport, General Manager at Economy Inn Reedsport, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Hi thank you for taking the time to review us, We do keep up on the reveiws and Make the change's as possable to try to make guest stay a better one. We see you did stay in one of the Few smoking rooms we have, for 3 days,and Wish you had told us at the time about the lighting not being bright enough for you, We would have been happy to put in Brighter light bulbs, but again thank you for taking the time to write a reveiw.. The General Manger of the Economy inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sitka, Alaska
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2012

We had a good stay the Economy Inn. It was rainy and dark. We were tired and didn't want to keep driving. First impression: I didn't want to stay. However, this was a good reminder to be ready to drop first impressions: the rooms are clean, comfortable and quiet. The family that runs the motel is friendly and cheerful. On our next road trip (the other direction up the coast we want to stay again).

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EJF_trips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 23, 2012 via mobile

I have stayed in every single hotel in reedsport and the Economy Inn ranks the highest in my book, the rooms are clean, quiet, and warm. location is a must especially for out of towners, Economy Inn is located next door to the two largest grocery stores in town, a gas station- mini mart, two resturants, and park. Their prices are very nice too. I recommend Economy Inn to anyone looking to stay in Reedsport

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nannerbananer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Reedsport
0.1 mi away
Best Western Salbasgeon Inn & Suites of Reedsport
18.7 mi away
Old Town Inn
Old Town Inn
#1 of 13 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,921 reviews
21.1 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Coos Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.9 mi away
Edgewater Inn
Edgewater Inn
#3 of 7 in Coos Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
0.5 mi away
Fir Grove Motel
Fir Grove Motel
#2 of 4 in Reedsport
3.5 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
17.3 mi away
Ocean Breeze Motel
Ocean Breeze Motel
#5 of 13 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Economy Inn Reedsport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Economy Inn Reedsport

Property: Economy Inn Reedsport
Address: 1593 Highway 101 S, Reedsport, OR 97467-1644
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Reedsport
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Reedsport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Economy Inn Reedsport 2*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay Here and Play at the Economy Inn Reedsport! Located in Reedsport, Oregon, the "Heart of the Oregon Dunes". Economy Inn offers a unique blend of comfort and service. Featuring 39 Deluxe Units, the Economy Inn is an ideal location to experience the Oregon Coast in the heart of Reedsport. We are centrally located across from the Confluence Fountain and across from Coho RV Park. Our guest oriented hotel offers an impressive array of enhanced amenities, world-class service and thoughtful features. Our local area has excellent beach access and spectacular ocean views from Winchester Bay. This area is located in the middle of the 40 mile stretch of some of the highest dunes in the United States. There are designated areas for riding ATV's in the dunes and hiking. Ask about are special group rates and discounts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Hotel.de so you can book your Economy Inn Reedsport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Economy Hotel Reedsport
Economy Inn Reedsport Oregon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing