We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic sushi in Redmond OR” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Oishi

Oishi
Ranked #2 of 134 Restaurants in Redmond
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Special occasions, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Redmond
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Fantastic sushi in Redmond OR”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2014

We've visited Oishi several times over the last few months and each time we discover a new favorite. The sushi is fresh, well prepared and imaginative. The Tower is amazing (get 2), the 007 Roll is incredible and if you like your sashimi fresh, you're in the right place. The service is very friendly if sometimes a bit spotty. The restaurant is family friendly and comfortable. If you go on Fri or Sat night, make a reservation. This is a star restaurant and worth the drive to Redmond.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Laura B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    76
    43
    3
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Redmond, Oregon
Level Contributor
63 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Keeps Getting Better”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2014

My wife and I visited this restaurant last summer and it was fun for me but less so for her. Well what a difference six months can make. Now the variety was enough to satisfy my sushi apatite as well as my wife's desire for non fish fare. You really deserve a treat in Redmond and this will satisfy that need.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Patrick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redmond, Oregon
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Worth being a regular visit.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2013

The bento box is excellent. The sushi is very good. The service is personal and genuine. Oishi's is worth making it a regular visit if you are a local.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Lawrence C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
47 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Excellent Anywhere ”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2013 via mobile

Some local friends took us here tonight and I must say I was VERY pleasantly surprised. Not just for Redmond, OR but for pretty much anywhere this is a quality place to go.

The interior is quite stylish, somewhat minimalist, but still comfortable. I would guess it is very hip for Redmond, no disrespect to Redmond intended. But this place IS very nice.

As for the food? Damn good! We had a variety of rolls and sushi before our respective meals and all were well presented and tasted quite fresh. Seriously. Each of the for of us were we'll pleased with our respective choices. Well done.

Can't think of a single knock so I will close with the simple fact that if you happen to find yourself in Redmond, OR and want a quality experience reasonably priced, this is the place for you!

Helpful?
Thank Bajajim1313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bend, Oregon
Level Contributor
182 reviews
127 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“A must try!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2013

My wife and I had the chance to dine at Oishi this evening and I'm very happy to report that this is, by far, not only one of the best places I've eaten at in Central Oregon, but probably in the entire country. Yes, its that amazing.....
And here's why -
I'm totally shocked how FRESH the seafood is. Its simply beyond compare. You'd expect fresh fish in Seattle or San Francisco but in Redmond? I don't know how they do it, but its ultra-fresh, I was born in Alaska, raised in Seattle so I know fresh seafood....
The service is polite and friendly, not stuffy nor pretentious by any means.
The interior of the restaurant is clean and modern with a nice contemporary feel to it. It makes a great place to take your date or your family.
The presentation of everything was exquisite. We order several rolls and they were a work of art on a plate crafted my the master sushi chefs that you can watch hard at work.
Price? Extremely reasonable. I have ordered similar food at other restaurants that were half the quality at double the prices.
A few negative reviews exist pertaining to Oishi....these are either jealous restaurateurs in the area or someone who thinks fine seafood are deep fried fish sticks, either way other restaurants should be put on notice that the bar has totally been raised in downtown Redmond.
All in all, I am very happy that a wonderful Japanese option that serves modern, fresh, contemporary dishes has opened up in Central Oregon. If you enjoy savoring the flavors of Japan, Oishi should be at the top of your dining list. Its simply a must try!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Simon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oishi also viewed

Redmond, Central Oregon
Redmond, Central Oregon
 
Redmond, Central Oregon
 

Been to Oishi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing