We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice food/beer option for Redmond”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Smith Rock Brewing

Smith Rock Brewing
Ranked #5 of 135 Restaurants in Redmond
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub, Brew Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Kids, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Oregon
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Nice food/beer option for Redmond”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2014

This pub/restaurant is just off the main drag in a neat older building, with outdoor seating if desired. The waitress was cheerful and attentive, and our orders came promptly. The Portobello sandwich and the gorgonzola burger were very tasty, and came with huge helpings of wonderful onion rings. Beers on tap were varied, but quite limited. We sat in the back of the restaurant which seemed to have heavy traffic in and out of a storage area – next time we’ll sit in the bar. It was a good experience and we’ll be returning soon!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 98harleydood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    48
    5
    6
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bend, Oregon
Level Contributor
178 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Beer choice is limited (by Bend area standards) but food is pretty fine”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2014

Bend will spoil you for beer. There is a ridiculous amount brewed there and the choices will boggle the mind before you are DUII'd. Redmond, which is just up the highway a piece (and the location of the regional airport) has always been a bit of a backwater for culture and food. That is slowly changing with the Hispanic influence of the past couple of years and the creeping brew culture of Central Oregon. Smith Rock Brewing's little pub is on a quiet corner just off the old main highway through town. A couple of great patios for al fresco and, for you Forest Service dweebs, a really cool knockoff sign. The food is a step up from typical pub grub with fresh made burgers and the usual, but better than standard, sands, macs and little plates. As an offered side go for the rings if your MD has cleared you for that diet, and the bottles of fry sauce just make for an epic gut bomb. Our recent visit had a pretty brief list of guest taps and only one SR brew but the service is cheerful and prompt so the lack of a deep beer list isn't a reason to skip this spot.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JA R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crooked River Ranch, Oregon
Level Contributor
51 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2014

Two words: ONION RINGS! They are the best you will ever have. We have been to this wonderful little brew pub 3 or 4 times and never been disappointed. Service is excellent, food always fresh made and delicious. Great selection of brews including their own excellent offerings. They have specials that are very well done each time we've been there. I dare you to find another brew pub in Redmond with better food than Smith Rock Brewing. Owners and servers are very friendly and make you always want to come back. In case you haven't seen this place on your way through Redmond it sits on NW 7th street across from Denfield Paints. Prices are quite reasonable unlike a certain nationally known brew pub in Bend.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Doug R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
103 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Great food, beer, and service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2013

We stopped and had dinner at the bar. The beer selection and the beers themselves were good. The homemade onion rings simply are the best I've had. Their fried zucchini was delicious, also, but I like them plain and there was a spice to it, but still very good. The hamburgers were delicious. One of the owners was tending bar and was our waiter. He and his wife were very friendly and attentive, even though it was busy. I highly recommend this place!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LittleFeet1018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Damascus, Oregon
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best Food and Brews in Town- including Gluten Free”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2013

We have eaten here several times in the last year and the food, beer and service has always been excellent. They make their own buns for the delicious burgers and have a gluten free bread and pasta that is excellent. We have dined outside on the patio in the summer and inside when the weather is too cold. Our dog Maggie was impressed that they brought her a water dish in the shade outside in the patio without even asking. Make sure you order the onion rings...light batter, not greasy and wonderful. I would eat here once a week if we lived in town. Feels like you are visiting a friends house, not just a restaurant.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LarryNLinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Smith Rock Brewing also viewed

Redmond, Central Oregon
Redmond, Central Oregon
 

Been to Smith Rock Brewing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing