We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“beautiful”

Smith Rock State Park
Book In Advance
More Info
$685.00*
and up
3-Day Tour from Portland to Crater Lake
Ranked #1 of 25 things to do in Redmond
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“beautiful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013

Great hiking, beautiful views! Could have easily spent a few more days exploring with two nine year old girls! The bald eagles were feeding their young in a nest we could view with binoculars and got some great shots with a telephoto lens!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kateeke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

729 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    636
    85
    7
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bemidji, Minnesota
Level Contributor
96 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Great place to visit.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2013

Unique walks and rock formations. Enjoyed seeing the crazy, talented and obviously powerful rock climbers. The weather was superb.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank molopomaniac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle Area
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“I can't wait to hike it, it's GORGEOUS.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

We were staying in Sunriver, Oregon and on our way to Madras and Portland, we saw this on a map and then saw a sign and decided to stop. We paid a $5 park fee and parked and walked around taking in the views and pictures. I wanted to hike it so bad, as I saw people hiking down to the river area. It is like a mini-Grand Canyon, all the cliffs are built by volcanic ash. It is phenomenal. If we had 5 hours to spare, I would've hiked it and had lunch and gotten up close. You cannot get super close unless you hike it, so be prepared with hiking gear, water and the works. I will be back, it's too gorgeous to miss! It's for hikers, unless you just park and snap a picture. My teen thought it was boring and "just a rock", oye! But nature lovers and hikers will love it!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Northwestgirl37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“OMG! Beautiful”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

Plan to spend some time and energy when you visit. Many trails, Many visitors, many rock climbers to watch, great picnic area. Very well maintained park.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank gtrobert69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philomath, Oregon
Level Contributor
64 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Amazing Geology and View”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

Recommend early morning starting time for hike to beat the heat, climb the trail up around Monkey Fist for the more aerobic exercise. Absolutely stunning experience for a few hours hike. Lower trails are very accessible and spectacular near river, if you do not want to work up a sweat. Recommend staying in near by Redmond if you are not up to camping.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Buzz2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Smith Rock State Park also viewed

 

Been to Smith Rock State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing