We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service is lacking”
Review of Black Bear Diner

Black Bear Diner
Ranked #32 of 135 Restaurants in Redmond
Cuisines: American, Diner
Restaurant details
Level Contributor
102 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Service is lacking”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We have been to the Black Bear in Redmond and other cities many times and have always been pleased with the food.

However, recently (the last couple of months at least) the service has been fair to poor at best. It seems there are always too few servers available so those that are are running their behinds off to keep up. As a result of the constant rushing around it is impossible to get any attention service/attention once your food hits the table. Have been frustrated when the water glass and coffee cup gets empty and no one seems to be available to fix that or to refill the Ketchup bottle, bring cream for the coffee, etc.

This has been the case the past several visits, so we will not likely go back for a while or until we have word that the situation ha improved.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Howdy71105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    33
    29
    11
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good food that's reasonably priced”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

This place is great, it reminds me of my mom's cooking. They have everything from meatloaf to pie. They even satisfied the picky eater in my family, which is not easy to do! We will definitely be back the next time we pass through Redmond.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 4portillos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bend, Oregon
Level Contributor
190 reviews
131 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Service lacks....”
Reviewed October 23, 2012

Food is always good....but the service stinks at this location. If you have a group that is bigger than 6 you'd better be prepared for a long wait and inconsistant food.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Simon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Oregon
Level Contributor
77 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Don't Steak Your Life on It”
Reviewed October 12, 2012

Sent these "grilled steaks" back so many times they needed passports.

We had a large group. Service was hospitable and everyone liked their meals except those ordering steak. The kitchen simply couldn't get 'em right. Both steak-eaters had the same frustrating experience.

We returned for breakfast 2 days later and it was much better dining experience; 4-stars, anyway.

Just don't order steak!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Maleko1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redmond, Oregon
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Had to return order three times”
Reviewed October 9, 2012

I went there with my daughter and we both oredered steaks. They were raw. So we sent them back and they were still undercooked. We ordered medium and you guessed it, When they came back a third time they were overcooked. Best steak for me is at Coyotes so far. Although I have Tumalos on my list to try.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jeffrey W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Black Bear Diner also viewed

Redmond, Central Oregon
 
Redmond, Central Oregon
Redmond, Central Oregon
 

Been to Black Bear Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing